We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveller rating
23
22
37
24
78
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
22
37
24
78
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 184 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

Hi if you have booked the tia maria hotel then i would advise you to change it at what ever cost
When we got thete we were to check in then i asked for a security box they charged 3 lev a day and the box is oppesite reception and they give you a key and they have master key then we went to rooms were first room had broken tiolet so we were given another room thenthe lights would not work so we were moved again then the door wouldnt lock so 4th room was ok but bathroom had a bad smell which got worse each day next the food was all ways cold and the drinks were served in to a tiny plastic cup then the beds only get changed once a week and same for the towels the pool was dirty so was told couldnt use four 4 days till it was cleaned they poured chemicles in it it took 5 days to clear and when we got to use it it was freezen cold the all inclusive package wellwe got thete 2am went to bed so missed first day of it then last day at check out at 12 noon they cut your band off and you cant yoys all inclusive again and if you want to you have to pay we went out for meals so it felt like self catering would of beeen better we complained to manager who was arragont and rude he said its the policy of every hotel is same in bulgaria this was a lier after we checked it out we complained with rep and made it effical complaint so did paper work there with rep i would like to say it is worse than a youth hostel we were told its a 18 to 30 hotel and also it was said its on beach it isnt i hope this helps anyone going there i would say pay if you can and get moved before you go we have been told that thomsons is pulling out of this hotel

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank robinsonsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

Disgusting Pillows full of marks from sleeping,Sheets and duvet grey,mattress sunken, Shower fell off wall twice, shower curtain at least 10 inches of mould stayed 2 days left the third bar closes 10pm

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lilyjordan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

We paid pretty minimal for the hotel all inclusive so weren't expecting much but still can't help but feel disappointed. That said, we made the most of our stay and it wasn't so bad we had to change hotels, but we definitely wouldn't stay here again.

Location: this you can't fault. Within 10mins walk you can be at the beach, catch a bus/boat to Nessabar, be in Flower Street.

Room: basic but we weren't expecting much nor do we need it. That said, in a 5 night stay, the sheets weren't changed once despite promises made and I dare say the towels wouldn't have been either if wasn't for some serious persistence on our part. The beds were uncomfy, the aircon was useless, and the bathroom was barely clean with a shower curtain in severe need of replacing.

Food: again, we weren't expecting much for the price but I've stayed at similarly price all inclusive venues with better better standards. Breakfast and lunch generally offered enough options you could get by but with the exception of the 'show cooking' dishes, dinner was something we tried to avoid. The icecream bar was a great little bonus for all inclusive guests though.

Drinks: we stayed all inclusive and found them to be the same as most places - bloody strong and on tap as you wished so no complaints there.

Staff: there was quite a language barrier despite what the hotel advertise but this would have been a non issue were the staff inclined to make an effort. Sadly the majority of workers showed no interest in even being friendly, never mind putting in any real effort with guests.

Overall we didn't enjoy it, wouldn't come back, and wouldn't recommend it for anybody wanting a comfortable and relaxed getaway. But if you're out and about constantly, eating somewhere, and ok with a basic venue, you'll get just that here for a pretty bargain price.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Alexis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

We booked this as a cheap as chips, all inclusive, break in the sun so weren't expecting much, but not even our lowest standards were met!

Room: decent enough size, but beds really uncomfy, pillows were way past their best, bedding was a poorly fitted sheet, curtains hanging off, mouldy shower curtain. Worst thing was no working aircon, well it came on but it wasn't cold (literally blew the same air around the room), in 30c heat this was awful!

Service: room service was non existent! No room clear down, and only got clean towels when we went down to berate the reception staff.

Food: we weren't expecting much for the price we paid and the food is reflected in this. Standard, mass produced fodder, think hot dog sausages, scrambled egg, salads, some greasy chicken variety for dinner etc. That said they did have a guy outside cooking fresh pancakes in the morning and stir fry in the afternoon. All in all can't complain with the food really.

Bar/pool: an ok little pool area, only complaint was the fact they had two different types of music clashing constantly, if you're like me it's like nails down a chalkboard at times! The free drinks are standard local spirits and beers, but they are VERY generous with their measures so definitely one of the good points.

Location: is about 10/15 mins walk from Flower Street (the main party/bar street), that's not something we were too interested in, but if loud bars/clubs are what you're looking for you'll love it! There's a few nice wee bars just across the main road. The beach is about 5 mins walk away and is decent; perfect sand, loads of room, sea calm, and again cheap booze even in the beach bars (3lev or £1.40 beers).

If you're looking for something a bit quieter and nicer to do, take a trip over to Nessebar. You can get a bus for 2lev, but we took a water taxi from the marina near Flower Street, this was 10lev each for one way but well worth it. Over there, there's gorgeous restaurants and bars, a really nice market/town shops for a mooch and any holiday gifts you may want.

Things to watch: stay away from the women asking if you want to try fruit/juice. If you do you'll be charged. Be wary of the ice cream vendors, they charge by the gram and you pay extra for cones etc. We got done by this when asking for two pots of ice cream, ended up getting the worlds biggest portions, weighing the size of an elephant and paying 32lev (yes that's around £16!). Was on our first night and didn't even think till we sat down how much we'd just been bummed, saw us coming a mile off!

Summary: advice is to stay away unless the deal is nigh on perfect, even then I'd only advise staying here if you're looking for somewhere to put your head down on a party holiday. I wouldn't bother with the all inclusive again, unless it's cheap, as the booze in town is only 3lev (about £1.40) a pint and most have happy hour, 2-4-1 cocktails on 24/7 (don't ask why it's called happy hour). Decent food can be had for around 65lev (about £32), this was for garlic bread, two of the best steak dinners I've had, chips and 2 beers!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Taskmaster2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

Unfortunately booked this hotel before reading all the negative reviews on trip advisor.......obviously won't do that again! But thought I would give it a chance. It is a low budget hotel but that shouldn't be a reason for the staff to be rude. The shower was broken and took two days to get it fixed. No cups although they supply you with a kettle, when I asked if I could get some cups they told me the restaurant was shut. Very unhelpful and nobody really cared. Sunny beach is very busy and ok if you like
Funfairs and souvenir shops. There are loads of youngsters zipping around on little bike things and you have to dodge out of the way. We lasted three days and moved to a lovely hotel in Nesebar, more like the Bulgaria we were hoping for.

Room Tip: Look for another one!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank MinnisMaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews