We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful day outing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Ocean View Hotel
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Wadduwa
Reviewed 17 May 2017

It was our first visit with office friends. welcome from the hotel was good. Food was delicious & the rooms we got was really good. the play area was a spacious greenery with a separate pool. We had a wonderful time. Would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 378 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

During last year september we visits this place. Looks like the investments on commencing the hotel gotta be big. Through the constrictions this can be seen. But it was not maintained at all. Telephone at the rooms were not working. Food is terrible, worse. Rooms are not maintained. Lot of stray dogs within the hotel promises including the restaurant. Compaling about it doesn't work as they dont care about it. Only thing people enjoyed was the swimming pool. I didn't remember cable tv is working. Most of the guests are look like eastern Europeans. Staff doesn't looks like professionals.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
5  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2017

Villa Ocean View used to be one of the best hotels in the area during the early 2000's. When I last visited in January I was completely and utterly disappointed at the maintenance and upkeep of this hotel. Located perfectly in the heart of Wadduwa, this hotel was once known for its amazing cuisine and top notch rooms and service standards.

Unfortunately these standards have dropped to such a level that I simply cannot recommend this place to any one I care about. Our room was dilapidated and on the verge of falling apart. bathrooms were rusty. The towels provided had been cut in half and were faded blue.

The pool area was very dirty, the Jacuzzis' were not working. The buffet area was filled with stray dogs and cats. I am positive that this is some sort of health code violation. In addition the buffet service was horrendous. The food was bland and as an earlier reviewer did state, tasted like hospital food...even worse.

We had made a reservation for 2 days but simply could not stay here past our first night. It is saddening to see what has happened to this once beautiful and well kept hotel. I sincerely hope that management and ownership genuinely see the feedback and take the correct measures to restore a hotel that had a good history and unlimited potential. Please don't let this hotel crumble!

Room Tip: The rooms are falling apart unfortunately I cant recommend you stay here unless they renovate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank bhanuabayasinghe87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

It was our first exotic destination and first feeling was "this is paradise!". We got a welcome drink and everybody took care about us. Food was delicious and room was clean too. Pool wasn't so clean and we didn't swim there (not even once) but the ocean was great. We made trips with hotel travel agency and with guy from the beach. He named Simba and he had a good prices. Sri Lanka is beautiful and there is much to see so we would like to come again in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Veronika H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

It was a lovely hotel some times back . last week i made a room reservation with hotel front desk . they handled ( Anura ) my reservation very professionally. we booked garden view room . it is a very basic room . but that room is ok with what we paid .
Buffet dinner / breakfast very very basic . very few items . not worth at all.
hotel staff very helpful. there are lot of things to do. hotel looks tired . need a big renovation . Specially pool area . restaurant . lobby .
can see lot of street dongs in public areas.

Room Tip: Sea view upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Ruchira6595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wadduwa
2.9 km away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#3 of 10 in Wadduwa
1,437 reviews
5.5 km away
Tangerine Beach Hotel
Tangerine Beach Hotel
#6 of 11 in Kalutara
1,214 reviews
2.6 km away
Taprobana Wadduwa by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Citrus Waskaduwa
Citrus Waskaduwa
#1 of 1 in Waskaduwa
1,034 reviews
3.2 km away
Turyaa Kalutara
Turyaa Kalutara
#5 of 11 in Kalutara
837 reviews
0.5 km away
Reef Villa & Spa
Reef Villa & Spa
#1 of 10 in Wadduwa
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Ocean View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ocean View Hotel

Address: Molligodawatte, Wadduwa, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Wadduwa
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Wadduwa
Price Range: €57 - €82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Ocean View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Ocean View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ocean View
Villa Ocean View Hotel Sri Lanka/Wadduwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing