We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Clive Garden(Wadduwa)
US$150
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$184
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$414
US$350
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
US$53
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barasti Beach Resort(Wadduwa)(Great Value!)
US$39
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anjayu Villa - The House Of Ayurveda(Wadduwa)(Great Value!)
US$55
US$31
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (406)
Filter reviews
406 results
Traveller rating
101
116
79
43
67
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
101
116
79
43
67
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 406 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

During last year september we visits this place. Looks like the investments on commencing the hotel gotta be big. Through the constrictions this can be seen. But it was not maintained at all. Telephone at the rooms were not working. Food is terrible, worse. Rooms are not maintained. Lot of stray dogs within the hotel promises including the restaurant. Compaling about it doesn't work as they dont care about it. Only thing people enjoyed was the swimming pool. I didn't remember cable tv is working. Most of the guests are look like eastern Europeans. Staff doesn't looks like professionals.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
5  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2017

Villa Ocean View used to be one of the best hotels in the area during the early 2000's. When I last visited in January I was completely and utterly disappointed at the maintenance and upkeep of this hotel. Located perfectly in the heart of Wadduwa, this hotel was once known for its amazing cuisine and top notch rooms and service standards.

Unfortunately these standards have dropped to such a level that I simply cannot recommend this place to any one I care about. Our room was dilapidated and on the verge of falling apart. bathrooms were rusty. The towels provided had been cut in half and were faded blue.

The pool area was very dirty, the Jacuzzis' were not working. The buffet area was filled with stray dogs and cats. I am positive that this is some sort of health code violation. In addition the buffet service was horrendous. The food was bland and as an earlier reviewer did state, tasted like hospital food...even worse.

We had made a reservation for 2 days but simply could not stay here past our first night. It is saddening to see what has happened to this once beautiful and well kept hotel. I sincerely hope that management and ownership genuinely see the feedback and take the correct measures to restore a hotel that had a good history and unlimited potential. Please don't let this hotel crumble!

Room Tip: The rooms are falling apart unfortunately I cant recommend you stay here unless they renovate.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank bhanuabayasinghe87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

It was our first exotic destination and first feeling was "this is paradise!". We got a welcome drink and everybody took care about us. Food was delicious and room was clean too. Pool wasn't so clean and we didn't swim there (not even once) but the ocean was great. We made trips with hotel travel agency and with guy from the beach. He named Simba and he had a good prices. Sri Lanka is beautiful and there is much to see so we would like to come again in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Veronika H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

It was a lovely hotel some times back . last week i made a room reservation with hotel front desk . they handled ( Anura ) my reservation very professionally. we booked garden view room . it is a very basic room . but that room is ok with what we paid .
Buffet dinner / breakfast very very basic . very few items . not worth at all.
hotel staff very helpful. there are lot of things to do. hotel looks tired . need a big renovation . Specially pool area . restaurant . lobby .
can see lot of street dongs in public areas.

Room Tip: Sea view upper floor
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Ruchira6595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017

I went for a full board and there was no soap in the bathroom. Even we asked them but they did not provide. The food was not good. There was no variety. There were chicken curry and fried rice with tempered onion.

Room Tip: Not good for the value
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Shehan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews