We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be going back again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranweli Holiday Village
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Waikkal
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We went to Ranweli on a 9 day split holiday and we absolutely loved it. The first room wasn't too good for us even though it was a deluxe so for the 2nd stay we asked to be in our original room - 125 which was lovely. The food is excellent and the chef's are extremely accommodating. This really is a hassle free holiday. The only drawback to the standard rooms are there are no tea facilities and you have to pay $5 per day for them. We asked for a kettle as conveniently I had bought teabags in Kandy and the hotel were happy to do this without charge. I also needed to leave some flowers at the church. The reception staff arranged for a boy to pick them, put them in a container in water and when the time came I carried them across. The service here is unobtrusive but always there. We didn't have a good time with Anthony and Neel but I did mention to the hotel that as we've come on a package, we don't expect them to be touting for business. They are both unregistered as tour guides and I cannot believe their equipment is checked (I say that as on our way out we saw the boat broken down and the skipper desperately trying to get it started again). The best part of this holiday was the food, we looked forward to it every day and the chef's make a point of coming round to see you and there's always a senior kitchen staff (either Executive or Sous chef's) member around. The salads were fresh and the lettuce leaves crunchy, no one got food poisoning and we went into the kitchen to have a look around and it was spotless. Any chef in the UK would be proud to have a kitchen this clean. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone, the staff are friendly from the gardeners, beach clearing ladies, room boys and everyone else. The other advantage is that we had already paid for this before we came out so we didn't spend any money either. Can't wait to book for 2014.

Room Tip: Rooms 175 and 176 are semi detached bungalows so a family with children would suit this as there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Thesecrethotelliers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (781)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

448 - 452 of 781 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2012

Have just returned from a 12 night stay in Sri Lanka based mainly at the Ranweli over the New Year. We could not fault the hotel. The delux rooms were very comfortable consisting of bungalows by the beach. The food was excellent and the choice was very good including a choice of different Sri Lankan curries at each meal which were excellent. The New Year gala meal was very impressive. All the staff were polite and courteous. I would not hesitate in returning. The only thing I felt was missing was access to wifi which was available in other hotels we stayed at but in a way it was good to get away from technology for a short period.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hibbs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Ranweli is a unique place. We stayed for 1 week in Dec. 2011. A few facts. Its only 20 mins from airport, but there is no aircraft noise. It is about 2 miles + north of Negombo, down lanes away from the mad S.L. driving. Some visitors have given poor reviews, its not a 5 star hotel it deserves 6. If you want long faceless corridors and lifts and huge T.V. screens this is not the place for you, which seems what some have expected and unfairly left bad reviews.

When you are dropped off, and are poled across the water you are leaving the hassle of the world behind. As you step off the ferry to be met by a porter, cold towels and fruit juice the peace of this resort is obvious. Bungalows are adequate we had a standard one, No 121, about as close to the warm sea as you can get, a short walk across beach or covered walkway to bar, pool and restaurant. We went A1 which we both recommend for an extra £114 each. Yes you don’t need lunch, but we did, and loved it, afternoon tea began immediately lunch finishes, we never made it, but best of all with all inclusive you forget about money completely, while having as many cocktails, beer ( Lion, excellent), gin, whisky, fruit juice, etc. Wine is the same price as in in UK and is not included.

The food was some of the best we had in the 5 hotels we stayed in over 2 weeks and has already been described by others. There are at least 10 curries at each meal plus an array of starters, and themed dishes which change each day. It is worth giving the odd 100SLR when you have been well looked after in the restaurant or by the pool, you will be made very welcome on your next visit. We understand that all tips are shared across all the staff. Some live a long way away and stay for a 10 day shift in the staff accommodation; we understand the wages are less than £40 per week.
Anthony, you can’t miss him. We found him very polite but a little too intrusive., We didn’t eat at his restaurant (by the ferry) or go on any of his trips. We heard both bad and good reports but no 1st hand experience. We enjoyed canoeing ( free with all inc) watching kingfishers, bee eaters, water monitors all a few paddles from the hotel. Also the hotel birdwatching boat trip is worth the easrly rise. I was woken when an English couple who had their sunbed “stolen” from outside their apartment, went walking through the bungalows loudly complaining. A call or a visit to the pool, a new bed, towel and mattress would have been rushed to their bungalow, but, they only to wanted to complain. Apart from this the week, was perfect peace, and by the end we didn’t bother locking the bungalow as it was easier to walk in the moonlight across the beach to dinner, and chat to others on the way sitting outside their accommodation.

Anthony has a small shop by the ferry selling odd bits and pieces; there are two silversmiths and a general small shop for postcards, toothpaste and ubiquitous wooden elephants in the hotel complex. We would return to Ranweli with no reservations about the standard of the hotel, its staff, cleanliness and food. It’s just brilliant, oh, and a private beach, often all to your self and the waves.

Room Tip: 121 was a standard room, close to everything. De luxe have TV and kettle. Who goes to S.L. to watch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank mrpiggy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights. Lovely little boat ride to get to the resort. Situated right next to a beach which we could see from our bungalow. We liked our room which had a fab bathroom with a glass ceiling above the shower so you could see the sky & trees. No fridge or mini bar in the room however. There is a nice pool bar where we sat at night & saw many shooting stars. The food is ok but we thought the choice was poor and very western. Sadly no spicey curries. However the chef did cook us something especially so they are accommodating.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rjw332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Ranweli holiday village is the perfect location. I love the ferry ride over to the hotel, it is very magical at night. The staff at hotel are very friendly and helpful and all do there best to make your stay enjoyable. If you are keen on wildlife there are lots of local animals and birds. There are cute and incredibly friendly little palm squirrels tthat will eat out of your hand, you will see mongoose running around at night.There are amazing butterflies and large fruit bats, but best of all is the bird life. There are exotic looking bee eaters near the ferry and along the river that you will see every day and many more lovely tropical species. We did various trips out site seeing including a birdwatching expedition and a visit to Wilpatu National park.In all I recorded 71 differnt species. Brilliant if you are keen on birds!
I enjoyed the food at the hotel. The beach seafood barbacue was excellent and I would highly reccommend the private dinner on the raft, all decorated in flowers with your own chef ,waiter and boat man. So romantic well worth the money!Not to be missed!

Room Tip: Go for a luxury room, standard are the older rooms with no hairdryer or kettle. The luxury rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gypsycat13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikkal
1.2 km away
Club Hotel Dolphin
Club Hotel Dolphin
#1 of 3 in Waikkal
2,350 reviews
3.5 km away
Jetwing Sea
Jetwing Sea
#6 of 44 in Negombo
1,558 reviews
5.4 km away
Heritance Negombo
Heritance Negombo
#2 of 44 in Negombo
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 44 in Negombo
547 reviews
12.9 km away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#4 of 44 in Negombo
1,094 reviews
4.2 km away
Hotel Goldi Sands
Hotel Goldi Sands
#10 of 44 in Negombo
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ranweli Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranweli Holiday Village

Address: Ranweli Hotel Road, Waikkal 61110, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Waikkal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Waikkal
Price Range: €64 - €181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ranweli Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranweli Holiday Village is an eco-friendly resort located on a 22-acre peninsula where mangrove forests and winding rivers converge to meet the sea. Located only 18 kms from Colombo's International Airport, Ranweli is the perfect base to explore the fascinating history, culture and nature of Sri Lanka. The hotel is on Waikkal Beach & provides bungalows & rooms with a private bathroom. The resort has an outdoor pool and its own restaurant & bar. Each bungalow / room is air-conditioned, has a safe, sitting area and telephone. The attached bathroom includes a hot/cold shower. Guests can enjoy a beach volleyball, billiards or table tennis at Ranweli. Water activities such as paddle boating, canoeing and kayaking are available. Ranweli is able to organize boat rides and bird watching tours. You can experience multi-cuisine dishes at the buffets of the resort's restaurant & a variety of liquor is served at the pool bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ranweli Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ranweli Holiday Village Waikkal
Ranweli Holiday Village Hotel Waikkal
Ranweli Holiday Village Sri Lanka/Waikkal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing