We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good deli (For Wilmington)”

Jax 5th Ave Deli & Ale House
Ranked #66 of 748 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$13
Cuisines: American
Description: Local deli pub featuring Boar's Head brand meats and cheeses, craft beers, and all ABC permits. We make our pizzas on unique hand made pita bread shipped exclusively to us. 24 Beers on tap, 22 TV's, and plenty of seating inside and out.
Restaurant details
Description: Local deli pub featuring Boar's Head brand meats and cheeses, craft beers, and all ABC permits. We make our pizzas on unique hand made pita bread shipped exclusively to us. 24 Beers on tap, 22 TV's, and plenty of seating inside and out.
Reviewed 27 January 2018

Another go-to place for us, great sandwiches, good beer and good service, pickle slices are superb!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jjsalemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haley E, Director of Sales at Jax 5th Ave Deli & Ale House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2018

Thank you! We love those pickles too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2017

Been here several times to enjoy COLD beer and split entrees... easy to "go light" with a salad and the chicken taco pizza is wonderful. Probably not a place for small kids...but excellent and quick for a break. Wait staff VERY nice.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NCgoGreenvilleNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haley E, Director of Sales at Jax 5th Ave Deli & Ale House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2018

Thank you for your review! We have a large menu suitable for everyone! Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017

Came in here for a beer with a small group after we had been out for dinner. Wait staff were great and even recommended us beers to try.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Dunnersfireman64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haley E, Director of Sales at Jax 5th Ave Deli & Ale House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Thanks for your review! Our staff is very knowledgable about beer and loves to recommend something just for you! We have a large, always rotating, beer selection. Come on back and try more!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017

Came here for a quiet drink with friends. Loved the happy hour specials. Cool atmosphere and really nice staff.

Thank Holz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

Wanted to grab a bite and watch a game,ended up here and found one of my (our) very favorite new spots, Cool diner looking spot, and as we approach the entrance see an awesome patio with outdoor seating. Open up the front doors walk into quite a surprise very cool seating a pool table a great jukebox and a very welcoming bar. First time here so we decided to sit at the bar with plenty of TV channels on it was easy to get our game on. The bartender Katie was extremely welcoming and friendly and told us about all the Fantastic beers that were on draft. The weather was finally cool enough to try a fantastic flight of beers and the husband immediately went toward the Pumking. Katie was extremely attentive and made it a point to know our names and offer suggestions on an appetizer we had the marinara with goat cheese and crostini which we both loved, they brought over a jar of pickles that were fantastic and a very cool surprise to see that they passed these out. We enjoyed our drinks and she was always there and ready to get us a refill and looking around no one was waiting for a drink or a check and everybody was smiling. After seeing another customer order a delicious-looking pizza appetizer we had to get one of them and chose the chicken taco topping and we both loved it. We were getting pretty full but came here on a mission to try the pastrami sandwich we decided to share and it was one of the best sandwiches I've ever had in my life. There will be no sharing next time haha. This place was frequented by families, friends, dates, groups, guys watching football, individuals picking up To Go's and it would be a place that I would completely feel comfortable just meeting the girls at and having a few drinks. Cannot say enough great things about it and definitely will be going back hopefully soon. Great find and is on my list of favorites now.

Thank loroOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haley E, Director of Sales at Jax 5th Ave Deli & Ale House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Thank you for your review! We strive to make every guest feel welcomed and comfortable at Jax, and we are glad that you have joined us! See you soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jax 5th Ave Deli & Ale House also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Jax 5th Ave Deli & Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing