We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Warm and inviting cabin, all the character you...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Road connecting paved road to driveway (less than 1/4 mi)
Bottom of driveway looking up
Large flat parking area between cabin and fire pit area
Top of driveway looking down
Loft Bathroom
Loft bathroom - standup shower only (no tub)
Downstairs bathroom (tub/shower combo)
Downstairs bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
West Jefferson, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Paula L
1 review
“Warm and inviting cabin, all the character you want in a mountain retreat.”
Reviewed 17 October 2018 for a stay in October 2018

Great privacy. Beautiful drive and we saw quite a few deer on the way. Not far from a very quaint downtown area with interesting shops and good restaurants. Had a wonderful time exploring the surrounding attractions like Grandfather Mountain and High Gravity Adventures. Perfect place for a long weekend getaway.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
O2740GSde...
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Just what we wanted!”
Reviewed 28 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

My,husband and I have property near this cabin and had been searching for just the right spot for a mountain get away in West Jefferson. The cabin is delightful, clean and cozy, we loved everything about it. If you want peace and quiet, this is the spot!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffsigle...
Lexington, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
Reviewed 9 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Our 2nd trip to the cabin. First trip was great so we decided to make a return visit to celebrate our anniversary. Upon arriving for our return visit we were informed via email that was sent during our travel time that the hot tub was damaged by a severe storm the week before. The owners were informed of the damage on 11/2 but waited to inform me on 11/6 which was the day of our arrival. This most disappointing aspect was that I personally spoke to Donetta on 11/5 and was not informed of the issue which of course eliminated cancellation and a possibility of booking another cabin. I feel like rental income was more important than informing the guest prior to arrival of issues. I know storms and storm damage cannot be controlled by anyone, but doing the right thing is in everyone’s control. We will not be returning for a 3rd trip!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2017
Jeff,
We’re sorry you feel that way and understand if you do not wish to return. We just wanted to let others who may read this review know the course of events and what was offered to you. We did not inform you on Sunday (one day before check-in) because we thought there was a possibility that the hot tub part would be in and could be repaired Monday or Tuesday - possibly before your check-in. At the very least, we were hoping for an update sometime Monday so we could give you a better timeline as to when the repair would be completed. Why worry our guests about a problem if it may not be a problem when they arrive? We figured your first question would be “when will it be fixed”, which we didn’t know on 11/5 and hoped to find out before your check-in. We could have waited, let you discover the power was off, and pretend we knew nothing about it – that would have been dishonest.

We were up front about the entire course of events, which were as follows. We found out about the hot tub issue around 8pm Thursday night (11/2) and had a repairman at the cabin on Friday (11/3) to diagnose and fix the issue. He discovered a piece of the circuit board had been "blown off the board" - most likely by the storms earlier in the week. The part was ordered first thing Friday morning - there were none in stock because multiple other hot tubs in the area had the same issue - per the hot tub store employee. When we didn't have a status update as of noon on Monday (11/6), we emailed you shortly after to inform you of the issue and let you know we'd keep you informed as we received information on the part and service call to install it - still hopeful the hot tub would be repaired before your check-out on Friday (11/10). On Wednesday (11/8), we received an update that the part would not arrive and be installed until Friday (11/10), which we let you know via email.

Your thought that rental income was the driving factor for not telling you 1 day earlier than we did is not accurate. Per the signed rental agreement cancellation policy (which hasn’t changed since your first stay), any reservation cancelled within 30 days of check-in does not receive a refund, so that definitely was not our motivation. You would not have received a refund even if we told you the day it broke down (11/2 - 4 days before check-in)) and you canceled then – unless all the dates could be re-booked. We are not a hotel so last minute cancellations are handled differently – you’ll find this is the case with most, if not all vacation rentals in the area. In fact, the rental agreement states that no refunds or rebates (credits) are offered when mechanical items, including the hot tub, break down. However, we did offer you a credit because we know how disappointing this situation was and hate it when anything breaks down at the cabin - which doesn't happen often, but does happen. That is why, when we emailed you on 11/8 with the status update, we apologized that you were not going to have the hot tub for any of your stay and offered you a credit toward your next stay of $10 per night for every night you were without the hot tub - just because we felt that was the right thing to do. We also value our past guests and always give a past guest discount to return guests. You received $10 off of this stay because you had stayed once before, and next time would have received a past guest discount of $15 off (for staying twice before). By providing feedback at check-out, we also give a $5 feedback credit. So you would have gotten $55-$60 off a future stay - $40 for the inconvenience and $20 just for telling us about your trip and coming back. You had use of everything else the cabin has to offer for your entire stay. We are very honest people and try to run our business and treat our guests the way we would want to be treated. We apologize again for the break down but would not change the way we handled the situation. We hope you have many more happy anniversaries together and wish you the best of luck finding another cabin on your future visits to the area.

For other guests who are considering staying at our cabin, please read the other reviews on this site and search other sites as well. You'll find over 300 reviews out there - all positive. We hope you'll give us a chance to prove to you what a great time you can have at Wil-deer-ness Cabin.
Michael & Donetta
Wil-deer-ness Cabin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Satellite Beach, Florida
Reviewed 12 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing