We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorites!”

Pisgah Inn Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 127 Restaurants in Waynesville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$29
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: .
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

Very good food and unbeatable view on a clear day. The food is chef prepared and the price is good.

There are no reservations so get there early and get your name on the list. It will fill up. If you don’t want to wait, get there early. Look at the website and see when they serve.

This place is also seasonal because it’s on the Blue Ridge Parkway and it closes down in the winter.

This is a must do meal if you love the BRP!

1  Thank Jay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian D, Food and Beverage Director at Pisgah Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We appreciate you recommending us to others! We love the BRP also and enjoy the vast access to recreation the Blue Ridge Parkway offers. We hope you will come back and visit in the Spring.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (914)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 94 of 914 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2018

An amazing view from a table right at the window overlooking the forest enhanced the experience which consisted of friendly service with god food.

Thank CDJ-AU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian D, Food and Beverage Director at Pisgah Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Fantastic! Thank you for the feedback. We hope you will come visit us next season. We reopen on April 1 2018.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017

We stayed at the inn, so of course we had to have dinner here. Although there are amazing views from the restaurant and we sat at the window tables both time - the weather was not cooperating with us, so we never saw a view (thank you clouds and rain). Nevertheless, we didn't let that ruin our time. Dinner was a wonderful experience. Our server was friendly and we enjoyed talking with her.

I had the mountain fried half chicken and loved it! It's truly amazing - very moist yet crispy. My husband had the whole mountain trout and we opted to have it deboned at the table. Watching it being deboned was very interesting to us, and we've never saw this done before (we don't fish obviously). We were surprised by the taste of the trout - it was good, but tasted like pond water somewhat. Our server said it was caught that day - so I guess that is what a fresh fish that is caught from the river tastes like. Had no clue, but glad we tried it.

Breakfast was included with the inn rate. Breakfast was wonderful as well. They were sooooo busy (it was the last day they were open for the season), but yet the staff was great and handling the chaos with a smile.

We had a such a great experience, we booked a night for next October and can't wait to experience this restaurant again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank AkronTravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian D, Food and Beverage Director at Pisgah Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience in our hotel and restaurant! Our team is already excited to open for the season on April 1. Thank you for your review, We look forward to seeing you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017

We thought we had arrived here before the dinner crowd, but evidently others had the same idea. We were seated one row away from the picture windows, which have a phenomenal view of the Blue Ridge Mountains. A window table would have required a 90 minute wait, and it wasn't that important. Still, we were forced to bide our time in their small (albeit nice) gift shop for 20 minutes. Our local friends graciously allowed us to sit facing the view. Had the restaurant put any thought into renovations, a tiered seating arrangement would allow all to enjoy the view.

We were greeted by a woman with a pitcher of water. She was filling the glasses way too full, and by time she got around to me, she overflowed my glass so much so, that the water soaked a large area of the table in front of me. “Oops, sorry.” Since she didn’t offer to rectify the situation, we used our cloth napkins to cover the wet are. The water continued to seep through, and we had to locate someone to provide us with more. It took about 5-6 napkins for it not to seep through. Not a great way to start.

Two of us ordered steak, one being a filet mignon. The steaks came out way overcooked for medium rare, and we requested them to be sent back. Our friends were almost finished with their meals when our orders came back. They were closer to medium rare, but not quite there. We chose to accept the fact that steak is not their thing, and kept it. Filet mignon is the most expensive cut of meat you can order, and it is criminal to cook it anyway other than perfect. More than likely, my first one ended up in the trash, (although they could have put it into a warming bin and waited for someone else to order this cut well-done…wouldn’t put it pass them if the cook was trying to save his/her job).

To add insult to injury, the cut of filet mignon was ¼ grizzle. A good piece of filet mignon should be edible from end to end without a morsel left on your plate. We called over the “Dining Room Supervisor” and told her our issues from the spilt water to the ruined meat, to the poor cut of filet mignon. She apologized, but said that since it was September, they were short staffed… huh? what does that have to do with not being able to pour water or cook an expensive piece of meat correctly.

A complimentary dessert or 10% off our checks WOULD have been a goodwill gesture, but that was not to be. Our friends felt bad, since they had raved about the place, and set us up with high expectations. It was a long trip home with no satisfying memories.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 2Old2DieYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian D, Food and Beverage Director at Pisgah Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback from your recent experience with us. Your review certainly does not reflect the high level of quality and service we strive for at the Pisgah Inn. We apologize for the experience you received and hope you will come back, giving us a chance to exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017

After a lovely drive up the parkway, it is worth it to stop at the Pisgah Inn restaurant for local fresh trout and fabulous views of the Blue Ridge mountains. The service is great and they will even allow you to buy a glass of wine to enjoy outdoors on the patio while you are waiting for your table. Ask for a window table for the best views. The food was very good--all 4 of us had the fresh trout and it was delicious. The waitress deboned 3 of the 4 at our table and did a wonderful job removing all of them. A second waiter offered to debone my fish and he blew it, leaving far too many tiny, sharp bones in to make my meal enjoyable. The wine was good but the Crème brulee was poorly done with hardly any sugary crust on top of a milky cream underneath. But the views, service by the waitress and tasty trout made up for the poor dessert.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DanoCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian D, Food and Beverage Director at Pisgah Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Thank you for your feedback! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed dining with us. We appreciate that you noted some area for improvement on several aspects of your experience. Our guest's feedback helps us improve. We are listening. We hope you will visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pisgah Inn Restaurant also viewed

Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Pisgah Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing