We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
view of the valley from the large end of the deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
view of the valley from the large end of the deck
Large covered deck with room to entertain Real wood burning fireplace with beautiful hand laid stone hearth
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
view of the valley from the large end of the deck
Large covered deck with room to entertain
Real wood burning fireplace with beautiful hand laid stone hearth
Partial view of the living area from the loft.
You are above the fog layer that settles on the Valley in the morning
Extraordinary shadows are ever changing the look of the valley all day long
Attention all dogs. Tell your 2 legged companions that you love to romp in the snow too!!
All along the Valley that you look at from the deck is the beautiful and relaxing Jonathan Creek
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Waynesville, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mary P
1 review
“Wonderful retreat”
Reviewed 10 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This is a very special place, filled with sacred American Indian artifacts, and other items that make this a home, and not simply another vacation rental. I spent 12 wonderful days on a personal retreat, and felt very nourished by this space.
Thank you Jeff, for sharing your home with me. Mary (Rainier, WA.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2017
Thank You Mary for your warm comments. I took great care to adorn the cabin with furnishings and artifacts from ONLY local vendors and artists. It makes the place look and feel like it should for where your at. Also I believe in investing in those merchants and artisans that will be my neighbors.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john c
1 review
“What a view”
Reviewed 13 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Great place, would love to come back in the Spring. Some reviews complained about the drive up, but I thought that added to the excitement!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RTollmann
New Bern, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice mountain getaway.”
Reviewed 24 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I'll begin with "the road" up the mountain to the cabin. It's about a half mile dirt/gravel, single lane road with a few switchbacks. Our first time up was a little tense because it was steeper then expected and we didn't know exactly what was ahead, or how far we had to go. Thereafter, no problem! Our 4 cylinder, front-wheel drive CRV handled it all week. We descended each morning and did all our sightseeing, shopping, errands... etc., while off the mountain to minimize trips. We had great weather (no rain), so I can't comment on less then perfect conditions.

The cabin was exactly as described, except for no Internet...which to tell the truth, I did not miss. The rooms are large and nicely furnished. Seating and bed was comfortable. Neither the wife nor I had any difficulty sleeping in the King. The kitchen had all the basics needed to whip up a meal.

Once settled in we retreated to the porch, with beverage in hand, to enjoy the spectacular views. The wife and I both agreed that we were glad we had chosen this beautiful place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Liked least: Access road
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurau721
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“a disaster”
Reviewed 16 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Got stuck on gravel/mud/ access road to cabin. Needed tow assist . It was a nightmare. Should be advertised as 4 wheel drive only! I was told there was also paved road access when making reservation. The paved road that is only yards from the cabin is gated and locked. We spent most of the time at the cabin making phone calls to see how we would get back down from the cabin. We were unable to go on day trips as planned ,hike ,go to dinner,etc. There was rain in the forecast and we left a day early with tow assist .The owner told us to see if the neighbors could help with the gate and we were told that renters are not to use that road and renters repeatedly had come knocking on their door for help and that owner should have told us this. Just putting this out there to help others to avoid same problems Our time off was ruined....Also there was no internet access .Thankfully we had gotten some groceries before we headed up to cabin and didnt just go check it out first and then go get food .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: pet friendly
Liked least: access to property
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2016
It's hard for me to understand how some people just can't be satisfied. There have been hundreds of people that have been to this Cabin and had a great time. Nobody before or after these gals had any trouble with the road. I had several people offer to help them and they refused. Now all they can do is bad mouth the place. Trust what you read by all the other visitors.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBK812
Monroe, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Terrible Experience and it Get's Worse”
Reviewed 28 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
17
people found this review helpful

Our original plan was to have a pleasant mountain getaway with a little snowboarding. Our trip was over a holiday weekend, but I did not have the day off so I had to use my personal time. Little did we know how miserable our excursion would be. We left our house around 11:30am, knowing we were going to briefly stop for lunch, with a 3 hour drive ahead of us. We arrived around 2:30-2:45pm. We had driven our 2WD Ford Escape up to the cabin. This proved to be a good idea because my Honda Civic probably would have taken some serious damage from bottoming out. When we got to the “street” the house is on, we found a poorly maintained gravel road. It had been relatively warm in NC the previous weeks. There was no snow on the ground and minimal ice. A large majority of the road was a reasonable incline and in decent condition. The second to last switchback is very steep. Some of the gravel had been washed away halfway up the slope. We could continually make it up to this point, but we could not make it any farther. Our tires simply spun in the mud. I honestly think even a 4WD might have had a little trouble making it through. You need a 4WD vehicle to make it to the cabin in the snow, and even then it might be dangerous. We backed down the road to a safe place and called the owner, who did not answer. With no other options, we walked up to the house and found it unlocked, which was a little unsettling. It was around 3:30pm at this point. The house is very nice and would have been a great place to stay. (That is the only positive thing I will say in this review.) We quickly discovered there was no water pressure. I followed all the instructions provided by the owner to restore pressure. This included going to the neighbor’s house to turn on the well pump and going into the crawl space to verify that the valve was open. After doing all this there was still no water pressure. Around this time we also learned that the internet was not working, because of an issue with the account. Apparently the owner has the internet turned off between guests and it was never turned back on before we arrived. After all this, the owner finally called us back around 4:15-4:30pm. He told us it might take a while for the holding tank to fill and that he would call the internet service provider when he got home. He also told us about an alternate way to get to the house. This way (through a neighborhood) was paved most of the way, before connecting to the last gravel switchback. It allowed us to get our vehicle up to the house so that we could unload our stuff without carrying it up the mountain. After unloading, all we could do was sit there and wait on a resolution to one or both of the problems. The owner waited until he got home at 5:30pm to call the ISP. Customer service closes at 5pm. It was a Saturday. Customer service is not open on Sunday and, being a holiday weekend, they were probably closed on Monday as well. This meant no internet for the whole trip, which is not the end of the world. The plan had been for my wife to complete her significant amount of work (all of which requires an internet connection to access her company’s servers), while I was snowboarding on Sunday. It was irritating, but not a deal breaker. There was still no water pressure at this time, despite the pump being on for over an hour. My wife, having lived on a well system in rural Pennsylvania, knew that it was taking far too long, especially with the large amount of rain we had experienced in the previous month. We were giving it the benefit of the doubt though. The owner apologized about the internet, but insisted that the water would be working soon. We continued to wait. Without water we were not able to make dinner (something we had brought from home). We were both quite hungry; our previous meal having been around 11:30am when we left our house. As the time continued to go by, we became less and less inclined to stay. Not having internet would have been reasonable, there are plenty of movies and some board games at the cabin, but the possibility of not having water all weekend to make food, bathe, and use the bathroom, was not an option. By 6:30pm, we called the owner and told him that we were packing up and would continue to check the water before we left. After about 20 minutes of loading up the car, there was still no water pressure. We left the house around 7pm that night and contacted the owner to tell him we were on our way home. With our stop for dinner, we did not get home until close to 11pm. Our entire Saturday wasted and my only opportunity to snowboard this season, for the first time in several years, out the window. At this point it is worth mentioning that we had our two dogs with us the whole time. We did not feel like trying to find a hotel/motel at 7pm that would accommodate dogs, plus spend more money for a hotel room. Staying in a hotel also would have meant being cooped up with our two dogs all weekend and that all of the food we brought from home would have been useless (meals and food that require a full kitchen to make). The owner assured us that we would get our money back as soon as possible. This is where things get even better. Monday passes and it is a holiday, so we think nothing of it. My wife tries to get in touch with the owner through text and phone all of Tuesday and Wednesday, to no avail. Finally, late Thursday night we get a text message from the same number claiming it was the owner’s son and that the owner was in the hospital. He said it was nothing serious, but provided no other details. The timing and circumstances are undeniably suspicious. We politely replied that we are not very inclined to believe this. If it was truly nothing serious, the owner could have replied by text or given us a quick call explaining the situation. The person on the other end took offense to this, failing to look at the situation from our perspective. It has been almost two weeks since we left the house and we have heard nothing from the owner since the suspicious text messages a week ago. We currently have not received any portion of our money back, including the deposit.

Summary:
For those you who like to get to the point quicker: We could not physically get to the house in our vehicle the way our GPS took us due to the road conditions. We arrived to an unlocked house, which had no working internet or water. After waiting for hours, there was no resolution to either problem. We turned around and drove home. We wasted our entire day, drove around 350 miles for no reason, and lost a chance to snowboard. On top of all this, it has been close to two weeks and we have not received the refund we were verbally promised “as soon as possible”, nor have we had any contact from the owner to describe when, or if, we will get our money back. Our only correspondence from “him” was his “son” contacting us from the same number saying that he was in the hospital, but it was “nothing serious”. Granted we were victims of unfortunate circumstances, it is absolutely unacceptable to keep our money when we were at the house for 4 hours instead of three days. It is not difficult to send a text message or simply call and explain the situation, or have someone do it for you. Buyers beware on this rental property: Things you expect to have may or may not be working and you may or may not get your money back if go awry.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing