We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wow!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Southern Shores, Outer Banks, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

HollyA34
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed 6 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Not sure where to start on this terrific house and ammenities. They were better than excellent, but the most impressive part of our stay was the responsiveness of Dan, the property manager. I have been emailing him since we booked in January and I never waited more than a day for a response (to one of my many detailed questions) and most times it was a matter of hours. When we got to the house we were so pleasantly surprised with the layout that worked perfectly for our family of 3 families with plenty of room for all to have their space. The kitchen was very well stocked with any type of cooking item needed to prepare any meal. There was plenty of silverware and dishes to accommodate our whole family without having to run the dishwasher or wash dishes constantly.
Beach passes were provided which proved to be VERY helpful with small children and lots of gear. It made our beach days much easier.
The pool area was perfect. They turned on the heater for us which made it even better. The pool is the perfect size to cool off or to swim with small ones just learning.
Our issue was the hot tub. On the first night we determined that the heater wasnt' working. We emailed Dan on Sunday. He investigated and determined that the "fix" was not quick (and probably expensive) and by Tuesday noon we had a new hot tub. Amazing service and I'm not sure if this is normal, but the responsiveness to us was above and beyond. Dan came by as they installed it to be sure everything was ok.
Do yourself a favor and consider this house and this property manager for your OBX stay. The fact that he always asnwered my many many questions (from where's a playground, how do i rent towels, what beds are in what rooms,etc) is so impressive to us, and greatly appreciated as we were coming to Southern Shores sight unseen.
This is a perfect house for a large group with all the ammenities you need. Washer and dryer worked great, outdoor hot and cold shower was used every day and on and on. Oh yes, the mattresses on the beds were terrific. Everyone slept well, none of the normal tossing and turning on uncomfortable mattresses away from home.
Thank you, Dan, for the terrific stay!

Date of stay: July 2017
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Explore68...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Vacationed in OBX for over 25 years best house yet !”
Reviewed 25 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Clean,cozy perfect for all family &friends ! Private & accommodated all our needs. Would highly recommend.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A
1 review
“Nice rental, excellent value”
Reviewed 6 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This home is very well furnished and an excellent value. The property is nicer than the pictures, which isn't always the case. We had four young children between ages 4 and 11 and four adults. Everyone loved the house. The property manager was also very responsive and easy to work with.

The beach is about a five minute walk, so I rented a beach cart to haul our stuff back and forth. The property manager recommended a rental company that delivered everything (including sheets) so it was waiting when we arrived, and we didn't have to carry anything back to the rental store.

The only tradeoff with this house is that you have to cross Duck Road, which has a lot of traffic. There is a crosswalk about 100 feet or so from the driveway and folks are generally good about stopping for pedestrians, but you definitely want to hold hands with young kids to get across Duck Rd.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyson M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great week!”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful week! The house was everything we wanted and more! The pictures of the house are completely accurate. Each bedroom was spacious and clean. Kitchen was well stocked with everything you need for cooking. The pool and hot tub was our favorite part, it was a great way to end the day. The house is located a short walking distance to the beach and there are plenty of restaurants, grocery stores and attractions nearby. Aside from the house being close to perfect, I highly recommend staying here because the owner is extremely responsive. He answered all questions in a timely manner and was very accomodating!

Date of stay: August 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilsonFam...
1 review
“Southern Pleasure is a Great Place for Families to Come Together!”
Reviewed 27 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My family had a reunion in August of 2016. The house had all we needed! Beds were comfortable. Location was great! Plenty of places to hang out together or get some moments away from the crowd!

Date of stay: August 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
US$USD
Ireland
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.