We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highest priced Econo we ever stayed at” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shallotte
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highest priced Econo we ever stayed at”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

Very limited choices in the area rooms where clean but they had some flooding from a storm this summer and the carpet cleaning chemical odors are still very strong. If you are sensitive to chemicals or have small children we would not recommend u stay hear for the next several months . Otherwise the rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff is very courteous

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Speakup22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    24
    10
    6
    3
See reviews for
20
18
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

My family and I decided to save some cash and skip the usual "beachfront" hotel prices.
We found the Econolodge online and it looked like a good place to try, ao we booked a few days with them. First of all, the guy that took our reservations that morning was excellent. He answered everyone of our questions with a smile in his voice. He said he had only worked there a couple months, and I sure hope they keep him! He sold us on this hotel!
Next, the day we arrived, we were warmly greeted and told of all the hotels ammenities and schedules. They gave us a map of the local beaches and a great little map on every restaurant in the immediate area. The maps were extremely helpful. We had arrived on Saturday night and left on Friday.
The room was pleasant, smelled great, and very comfortable beds. The hotel itself is located perfectly for day trips to Myrtle Beach or Wilmington areas, which we did during our stay.
Each time we returned at night, again, the front desk people made us feel like we were at home! I called the desk for extra pillows, and the front desk delivered them to my door in less than a minute! It was evident, the service here was top notch. These guys really care about thier guests! Definetely check out this little known Oasis! You'll Love It!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Scrappy2353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthews, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

This had mixed reviews from years past. It has new management and I was so pleased with the staff all the way to the hallways and rooms. They went out of there way to be kind and make our visit nice. We dont smoke but all that was left was smoking so they went in and sprayed and put a machine to draw smoke out of room. We have family in the area and if I ever have to have a place to stay I will pick this hotel. For price It way out did a 4 star that i've stayed in.

Room Tip: The rooms were very clean and the bedding was new and so pretty and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sherrimontgomery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

This hotel is convenient to several Brunswick County beaches, and is a good choice for anyone looking to save some money by staying a little further from the beaches yet in a location that is easily accessible to them -- and not too far from the South Carolina border, either if you want to take a drive to Myrtle Beach.

The front desk attendant at the hotel was very friendly. Our standard queen smoking room had no fridge or microwave -- the suites do, I believe. The room wasn't very large but it was adequate for two. Bed was just okay, pillows not that comfortable. Has a nice little 5ft deep pool.

Holden Beach, Ocean Isle, and Sunset Beach are all within a 20minute drive from the hotel. There was a convenient print-out at the front desk with directions to the beaches as well as a map and list of nearby restaurants. Downtown Shallotte is only a few minutes away, with a handful of restaurants to pick from including the typical fast food stuff (McD's, Hardee's, Taco Bell, etc) as well as some great non-chain restaurants like the Cattle Barn and Jerome's Steak and Seafood.

All in all this was a satisfactory stay and a good value.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ms-gnomie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

Picking a motel, sight unseen, and days in advance can be a challenge. We managed to pick a good one. This motel was clean and comfortable with a friendly knowledgeable staff. All we wanted was a comfortable good nights rest, and we got one. The only negative was the small size of the room. With two queen beds the room was very tight.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dnmaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shallotte
8.9 km away
Ocean Isle Inn
Ocean Isle Inn
#1 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
1.6 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 3 in Shallotte
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
8.9 km away
Islander Inn
Islander Inn
#3 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Days Inn Shallotte
Days Inn Shallotte
#1 of 3 in Shallotte
3.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
26.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Southport - Oak Island Area
23.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express N. Myrtle Beach-Little River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites

Property: Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Address: 4646 Eastcoast Ln, Shallotte, NC 28470-1892
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Shallotte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shallotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TravelUp and Ebookers so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shallotte Microtel
Microtel Shallotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing