We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
25
3
0
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
25
3
0
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews french toast turret room scrumptious breakfast lovely home wonderful stay front porch place to stay dale salida guests
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2015

We loved our stay, which was indulgent since we live only 1 hour away... but wanted to overnight in the charming town of Saluda, and had heard great things about Dale and Donna and this B&B. We were not disappointed.
The property is clean, very well-appointed, and filled with history and period pieces... but not to the point of being overwhelmed. Donna and Dale are polite, warm, generous, accommodating and interesting people... you might call them friends, after just one night!
They also pay attention to the details, and look to anticipate your needs, which is just what we all secretly want when we're getting away from it all, eh?
We particularly enjoyed the ability to walk "to town" (maybe 3 blocks?) for food and entertainment, strolling beautiful Saluda... and then walk back to the seclusion of the house. We won't soon forget our summer evening on the porch enjoying a few glasses of wine as the day ended, quiet jazz playing inside and the fireflies outside.
Finally, breakfast was delicious, classic but with Dale's unique twist. Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidbillstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2015 via mobile

Wonderful stay in a beautiful historic home well maintained with good breakfast and very charming and friendly owner Dale. Town is a real charm with nostalgia and a few good restaurants and shops. Plan in returning and doing white water kayaking

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Caber12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The place to stay in and around the charming town of Saluda, NC. From the moment we stepped inside it felt like we were at home-- almost like visiting a favorite relative where you are completely at ease. The innkeepers, Dale and Donna are terrific-- we took to them instantly and enjoyed hearing them talk about the B&B and the house's place in the town's history. Fantastic breakfast and Dale made dietary accommodations that were delicious. All in all, one of the best B&B experiences we have had in the US and abroad. Kudos! We will certainly be back!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I was fortunate enough to stay at The Oaks while attending art classes at nearby Random Arts. Dale and Donna couldn't have been more cordial. Donna, who did all the decorating, gave me a tour of the lovely rooms. Each one was more beautiful than the first! Dale prepared an absolutely scrumptious breakfast which we enjoyed along with great coffee and conversation. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

What a beautiful bed and breakfast. My husband and I had a peaceful stay. Dale greeted us when arriving, he is a wonderful host. We had a summer squash frittata, apple smoked bacon, biscuits and homemade jam for breakfast. The coffee was special. The Oaks is extremely clean and well kept. I highly recommend it to all.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews