We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Rustic, quiet and wonderful”
other travellers have booked this property
Cellar Cottage from road.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cellar Cottage from road.
Cellar Cottage. Brick Cottage exterior
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Cellar Cottage from road.
Cellar Cottage.
Brick Cottage exterior
Interior of Brick Cottage, open plan cottage, which has a view from bed to open fire or TV.
Interior of Brick Cottage.
Knob on cupboard in Cellar bedroom.
Old wool mangle on Brick Cottage verandah.
View of garden in front of cottages.
View of gum trees and vineyards, from Cottage's shady verandah.
Brick Cottage's bathroom.
Old Puch motor bike in shed, near cottages.
Old wagon in shed across from Cottages.
Young Cabernet Sauvignon grapes in Spring.
View of fireplace in Brick Cottage.
Cellar Cottage interior
Quaint items on display
Cellar Cottage bathroom
Verandah of Brick Cottage.
Cellar Cottage, cellar bedroom steps.
Our geese
View of hills and vines from Cottage verandah
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Tanunda, Barossa Valley, South Australia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SarahDann...
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Rustic, quiet and wonderful”
Reviewed 8 December 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for a night while visiting Barossa. Everything was just as described, and we had no problems getting in. The cottage is very clean. The decorations are rustic, and historic. We were pleasantly surprised to find coffee, milk juice and breakfast items. We were also pleasantly surprised how comfortable the bed was. And the shower pressure. The cottage really feels like you're staying at a friends house. It's a great place to come back to after visiting wineries. The garden is quite pretty as well. This is a very special region, and you felt part of it staying in a little historic cottage!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dpt22017
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Lovely Quiet”
Reviewed 30 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Had a lovely stay, two nights, had the bikes with us and could choose the direction along the bikeway depending on the wind. Worked out perfectly. The bed was very comfortable plenty of good pillows. Lovely surrounding grape vines and almost no noise. Some minor suggestions, a light over the kitchen area, (we used the bike Lights), a dual microwave / conventional oven, and a few more hooks to hange towels in both the kitchen area and bathroom. So thanks Carol for a really well presented and comfortable stay. Dallas

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne...
Montejaque, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Incredibly charming pet friendly cottage”
Reviewed 14 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We had a lovely relaxing fireside stay at Bethany cottage.....in Brick Cottage.... openplan studio with fire place to come home to after our days out exploring the vineyards and sampling beautiful local foods. You need a car to get around and get to the places that interest you. highly recommend Penfolds and St Hallett vineyards. We are not big wine drinkers and they made our experience as important as anyone else. Also recommend the Stockwell hotel for the best evening meal in a great little pub.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely, kind review Marianne!
Hopefully you will return one day.
Best wishes,
Carol
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gizmish
Richmond BC, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful stay in the vineyards”
Reviewed 6 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We had a wonderfully relaxing stay in this historic cottage with every modern convenience...apart from internet, which can be an advantage for a couple of days....In fact, we had the best 2 nights sleep of the whole 3 week trip in Bethany Cottage. Maybe there's a connection here! The provisions left by Carol and Erich were beyond generous, and you will find everything you could possibly need in the cottage. When you walk into the cottage, it's like stepping back in time, so you have some sense of what life must have been like for the early settlers, from all the artifacts in the garden and the cottage itself. But every modern convenience is supplied(apart from wifi) and the rain shower is to die for! It's a great location for exploring the Barossa wineries, and it was lovely to sit outside every evening tasting some of the wines we had found during the day watching the sun go down over the wineries. Heaven!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2017
Thank you Nora for such a lovely review!
You are welcome back any time you are back in Australia!
Kind regards,
Carol and Erich
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joobieboo
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic and it's dog friendly!!!”
Reviewed 19 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Carol was an absolute pleasure to deal with. I booked a one nights stay very last minute on a long weekend and Carol was so lovely and accommodating! Her response time was extremely quick and she was so understanding about my dog.

The cottage itself is cute and cosy. Comfortable bed and a clean bathroom. If I was heading to the Barossa Valley again, I would stay at Bethany Cottages.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2017
What a lovely review, Julie!
Thanks so much,
Kind regards
Carol
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing