We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very cute.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rockford Winery

Rockford Winery
Ranked #2 of 32 things to do in Tanunda
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very cute.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We were at Henley Estate and asked Dru who else in the Valley does Sparkling reds (apart from Barossa Estate with their E&E Black Pepper - YUM!!! and their NV Sparkling red) and was told about Rockfords.
The tasting room was very small and had low ceilings, but was very full of memorabilia - along with a lot of cobwebs. We arrived at the same time as nearly 15 others (bad move).
We eventually got to try some wine and only wanted to try 2 of their wines - Frontignac and their sparking red - and purchased both (and got a tip from the young man about other wineries that do sparkling reds).
Their sparkling red isn't on the menu, but is available for tasting. It is only available for 3 months of the year, so get your hands on a couple of bottles while you can.
Such a good find.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank AUtoUSAtoAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    65
    16
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Stunning wines”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

If you're travelling through the Barossa you must visit Rockfords. Small cellar door featuring stunning wines...pick up a bottle of Basket Press if you get the chance.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikey-st1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Small Cellard Door, But well worth the visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

The cellar door is quite small and it often very busy, but its worth it for the wines. The basket press Shiraz and the Semillon are great wines!

Helpful?
1 Thank BrentonJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

Great wines, great service and atmosphere. This winery has to be on your list of places to visit in the Barossa

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyAyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A must for the wine connoisseur”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

Having waited 10 years to return to this cellar door, I was not disappointed. Being a real fan of Rockford wines, I loved the Alicante Bouchet and Frontignac. Obviously the basket press Shiraz was not on offer during our Jan visit but it didn't matter given the number of other quality wines on offer. You are offered free reign over what you would like to taste instead of the traditional long full tasting session customary of the Barossa wineries, which is great if you have limited time to visit other wineries. We visited on a Friday afternoon and staff were very cheerful and helpful even with touristic information. However when we visited again on a Saturday, staff were not rude but seemed disheveled after I assume, a very long day of entertaining hoards of visitors and perhaps fielding repeated questions about the availability of the basket press Shiraz.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank vacancestoujour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rockford Winery also viewed

Tanunda, Barossa Valley
Greenock, Barossa Valley
 
Tanunda, Barossa Valley
Tanunda, Barossa Valley
 

Been to Rockford Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing