We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Working in the Barossa great experiance”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tanunda
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Barossa Backpackers
Reviewed 1 June 2013

I stayed here for 3 months Jan- April working in a potato factory which the hostel organised for me and it was an amazing experience! I never planned on staying in the Barossa for that long and I made some of the best friends on my whole trip in Australia (including Edward personal joke). Hostel is cleaned Daily thanks Debbie! Owner Dereck can be a bit over strict sometimes but reception staff Sam and Lyle are super cool and got along great with them. Bad thing is that I had to wait 1 week till work started because of weather or something and internet could be free and breakfeast in the morning for free would be good like other hostels.

Overall good fun great time and would recommend this to anyone looking for a good working hostel,

Catch you guys next vintage
Tom J

Room Tip: Stayed in room 5 for 3 months never changed rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom_J101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2013

I booked the family room for a week starting on a Tuesday in April. The room was coated in red bull dust. That night the itinerant backpackers partied on till 2-30am. No night manager and all the secured doors were left open. Calls to the security firm didn't help. Apparently curfew is broken most nights during vintage and then other users are up at 6am to start all over again. I obtained a refund and left and stayed in town. There is no respect for fellow travellers so don't stay there if a permanent party is offensive to you.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank SydneyLoretta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

This was my first stay at a backpackers but we were very impressed and would definitely do it again. The backpackers is right on the property of a great winery (chateau tanunda) and right near town which was a great location. The manager and owner were really helpful and even offered to organise one of the other backpackers to take us around to the winerys in one of the barossa backpacker vans which turned out to be a lot cheeper than going on any other tours.
We stayed for 2 nights over the weekend with friends and chose the private rooms option. Overall it was a great stay with clean bedrooms, clean bathrooms and lively common areas. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We stayed in the hostel for two nights over the weekend. We booked a private double room which came with a double bed and a single bunk on top. The room also came equipt with a small heater, a bag holder, coat hook and and a storage unit which didnt lock.

Our first nights stay at the hostel was pleasant. The facilities were clean and had been looked after nicely throughout the day.

The second night we had to go out to attend a wedding, when we came back it was 12.30am and the occupants of the hostel were drinking, smoking, swearing and playing loud music despite signs every where to stop these things at 11.30pm...We tried to call the number supplied to try and sort it out as we had a 12 hour drive ahead of us the next day and wanted some rest but the number didnt connect...Once we finally got to sleep we woke up in the morning and the mess and the smell in the common areas was revolting. I went to use the bathroom and there was no toilet paper, I went for a shower and it was littered with cigarettes and alcohol bottles. My partner also mentioned the mens toilet was similar and even had vomit clogging the sink!

We left the hostel before office hours opened and didnt get a chance to speak with them. We enjoyed our stay but it would be nice if the back packers maybe considered others around them and the cleanliness they are living in...

Room Tip: Safe the hassle - book a private double room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek H, Manager at Barossa Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2012

Hi Angie,

Thank you for your review of our hostel. We are very sorry about the unpleasant actions of our guest partying on Saturday night and disrupting your sleep. We hope you had a safe 12 drive back home.

We unfortunately had to ask 3 people to leave the hostel as a result of the party and mess they created on Saturday night. Barossa Backpackers prides itself as a clean, safe, fun environment for all guest and on this rare occasion we had unpleasant backpackers who's selfish action left guests unhappy and trashed our hostel.

As a result of the hostel being trashed on Saturday night we have increase our security presence at the hostel,

Once again we are sorry to here that you had a unpleasant stay.

Kind Regards

Barossa Backpackers Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Great Place!

We stayed in Barossa Backpackers for 2 nights in a double room with shared bathroom. The showers and toilets were very clean as was the bedroom. This was of course basic, but cozy enough. The common rooms were lively and enjoyable. The hostel was right in the middle of vineyards and just a short stroll to Cellardoors and shops

The Hostel has free car parking, beautiful gardens and a nice BBQ area

I would certainly recommend this hostel to people looking for good cheap accomodation in Barossa

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephanieChalmers171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tanunda hotels
1.9 km away
Barossa Weintal Hotel
Barossa Weintal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tanunda
522 reviews
1.2 km away
Discovery Parks - Barossa Valley
1.5 km away
Barossa Motor Lodge
Barossa Motor Lodge
#2 of 2 in Tanunda
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Jacobs Creek Retreat
Jacobs Creek Retreat
#9 of 14 in Tanunda
184 reviews
3.4 km away
Barossa House
Barossa House
#3 of 14 in Tanunda
152 reviews
0.8 km away
Tanunda Cottages
Tanunda Cottages
#4 of 10 in Tanunda
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barossa Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barossa Backpackers

Address: 9 Basedow Rd, Tanunda, South Australia 5352, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Barossa Valley > Tanunda
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Tanunda
Hotel Class:3 star — Barossa Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Barossa Backpackers Tanunda, Barossa Valley, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing