We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing winery”
Review of Langmeil Winery

Langmeil Winery
Book In Advance
More Info
US$653.14*
and up
Private Full-Day Barossa Valley Wine Tasting and Gourmet Lunch from Adelaide
More Info
US$99.12*
and up
Barossa Valley Wineries Tour with Tastings from Adelaide
More Info
US$114.49*
and up
Barossa Valley Food and Wine Tour
Ranked #3 of 37 things to do in Tanunda
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Langmeil Winery offers guests a relaxing friendly place to visit. The gardens are beautiful and child friendly. Ample tables and chairs to enjoy some yummy wines with a picnic box of local produce (or take it with you) from the lovely staff at Cellar Door. Wine tastings are free, or you can book in for a special premium wine tasting and tour for $50 a person (bookings essential) showcasing the Freedom Cellar and tour of the old gnarly Shiraz vines believed to be the oldest in the world. The old Blacksmiths workshop and stables speak the history of ye ole Langmeil Village - one of the first settlements in the Barossa. There is something for everyone at Langmeil Winery. Closed Christmas Day, Boxing Day, New Years Day and Good Friday.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

I've visited Langmeil on a few occasions as I always find everyone so friendly.

On my visit today we were discussing one of the vintages that is running low so they organised a special tasting of the new vintage a bit early.

The ladies in the cellar door are so knowledgeable on both their wines and other things in the region.

It's well worth dropping in here for a tasting and spend some time checking out the well manicured grounds.

Thank teequu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline W, Public Relations Manager at Langmeil Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for coming back, we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Old buildings and items surround the winery. Very picturesque with a lot of interesting history. Quaint cellar door with decent wines. Friendly staff. Worth a visit

Thank leanneandtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline W, Public Relations Manager at Langmeil Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

take your palette on a journey tasting Langmeil's finest range of wines.
I stuck to the reds. Get talking with the hosts and they just might bring out something extra to tempt you thats "something special" that you wouldn't otherwise get to try. It got me to invest a little more than I normally would on my wine selection, but there's now a few sitting in the cellar for another day or special occasion. Well worth the visit.

1  Thank Philip F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline W, Public Relations Manager at Langmeil Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Ha ha, lucky you! Thank you for your lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

What a gem of a winery. Lyn and the team couldnt help you enough. Treated us like we were the only 4 people there even though they had other groups in. The wines are sensational and our bank balance shows it .......thanks for a great morning.

2  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline W, Guest Relations Manager at Langmeil Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

We love hearing how much our lovely Cellar Door and staff was enjoyed by visitors! Great to hear you took some wines away with you too! Hope you come again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

We were three couples visiting on a beautiful Saturday morning.

My partner and were lucky as our friends were married at Langmeil which may have afforded us a little more attention than had we gone alone.

Caroline looked after us and was brilliant in her history and story telling in addition to taking us through a bunch of wines in the basement of the old cobblers shop.

I didn’t know a lot about Langmeil Wines but feel full bottle now (no pun intended).

Would definitely go back again.

PS: My favourites were the Orphan Bank and Jackaman. Sure the Freedom was brilliant too but the others represented much better value for my palate.

1  Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline W, Guest Relations Manager at Langmeil Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! And rest assured Caroline and all the staff at Langmeil give everyone special attention. Great to hear you enjoyed the Orphan Bank Shiraz - popular with many, and the Jackaman's Cabernet - so many stories with those wines! We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Langmeil Winery also viewed

Tanunda, Barossa Valley
Tanunda, Barossa Valley
 
Greenock, Barossa Valley
Tanunda, Barossa Valley
 

Been to Langmeil Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing