We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must visit”
Review of Langmeil Winery

Langmeil Winery
Book In Advance
More Info
US$649.63*
and up
Private Full-Day Barossa Valley Wine Tasting and Gourmet Lunch from Adelaide
More Info
US$98.59*
and up
Barossa Valley Wineries Tour with Tastings from Adelaide
More Info
US$113.88*
and up
Barossa Valley Food and Wine Tour
Ranked #3 of 37 things to do in Tanunda
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Langmeil Winery offers guests a relaxing friendly place to visit. The gardens are beautiful and child friendly. Ample tables and chairs to enjoy some yummy wines with a picnic box of local produce (or take it with you) from the lovely staff at Cellar Door. Wine tastings are free, or you can book in for a special premium wine tasting and tour for $50 a person (bookings essential) showcasing the Freedom Cellar and tour of the old gnarly Shiraz vines believed to be the oldest in the world. The old Blacksmiths workshop and stables speak the history of ye ole Langmeil Village - one of the first settlements in the Barossa. There is something for everyone at Langmeil Winery. Closed Christmas Day, Boxing Day, New Years Day and Good Friday.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Reviewed 12 July 2017

We have visited lots of wineries in the Barossa. But this one trumps the lots for so many reasons. The wines themselves are fantastic to begin with and the cellar door is cute and cosy. The staff are always so friendly, welcoming and knowledgeable. They also have wines to suit different budgets. Even their lower end wines are delicious.

Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline W, Guest Relations Manager at Langmeil Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Thank you for voting us as one of your top wineries to visit! We love what we have and love to share it too! Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2017

This is always on our must visit list when we visit the Barossa. The cellar door is beautiful and really cosy - particularly in winter. The staff are really frriendly and will guide you through the wines and of course, the wines are great.

Thank 4chillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline W, Guest Relations Manager at Langmeil Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Thank you for your beautiful review! We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

Great winery offering excellent old vine Shiraz, as well as other wines, that does not disappoint.

We tried several wines and went home with The Orphan from vines 115 years old as The Freedom (125 years old vines) was sold out.

You can find out all about the history of the Vine (why The Freedom and why The Orphan? You'll have to visit to find out!) as well as the land as you sip on some fine wine.

The old vine produces an earthy full body Shiraz that tells its story as the flavor releases in your mouth slowly and steady.

Beautiful vineyard. We got to see both the Orphan and the Freedom in their post-harvest glory and even tasted the sweet fruit (picked some leftovers off). Also lots of old equipments and artifacts on display.

Well worth the visit! One of my favorite places in the Barossa.

Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline W, Guest Relations Manager at Langmeil Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Thank you for your lovely review! We are pleased to be one of your favourite places in the Barossa! Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017 via mobile

Loved my time at this winery. Really lovely surroundings (oldest shiraz vineyard in the world). Beautiful wines and cute cellar door. Must visit!

Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline W, Guest Relations Manager at Langmeil Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Thank you for your lovely review, and we are so pleased you had time to enjoy the Langmeil Village and old vineyard. The weather was great for it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017

Staff very friendly and helpful, particularly when we visited there was a crowd. Good selection of wines. Also historic blacksmith and cooperage.

Thank Brenton E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline W, Guest Relations Manager at Langmeil Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

It was a busy time this long weekend so pleased you took time to stop by.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Langmeil Winery also viewed

Tanunda, Barossa Valley
Tanunda, Barossa Valley
 
Greenock, Barossa Valley
Tanunda, Barossa Valley
 

Been to Langmeil Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing