We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Food”
Review of Kampung Kitchen

Kampung Kitchen
Ranked #7 of 37 Restaurants in Tanunda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$12
Description: Serving delicious, authentic Malaysian cuisine. Open for lunch and dinner, also serving coffee.
Restaurant details
Description: Serving delicious, authentic Malaysian cuisine. Open for lunch and dinner, also serving coffee.
Reviewed 29 October 2018

The very friendly owner/cook served up some absolutely delicious food. He explained how he prepared and cooked the food and was very passionate about it. Definitely worth a visit and very reasonably priced.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Vanessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2018 via mobile

Excellent Malaysian food in the heart of Tanunda. My family and I needed a break from expensive food in the Barossa and found this hidden gem with amazingly infused flavours. We had great service from all staff and truly excellent value. The lamb curry was our favourite dish with the meat so tender and bursting with flavour. Highly recommend this place when in the Barossa Valley. The restaurant is only small so get in early or even have take away. It is well worth experiecing.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank RDacanay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018 via mobile

Do not often see a Malaysian restaurant that advertises gluten free, which I need, so was surprised to find this place in the Main Street of Tanunda in the Barossa Valley. So had to try it.

It is a cafe style venue: relatively small with only a few tables, it must follow a take out trade.

The owner/cook is slovenly guy and it was great to chat to him. Discussed the gluten free requirement and he was right across that, so feeling comfortable about the lunch to follow.

Ordered a noodle style dish not readily available to me and soon enough it was served: something did not quite look right so we got the owner to check the packet and, as it turned out, there was gluten in the ingredients.

Then went for a safer choice of a laksa.

Food was OK but lacked a bit of punch to give it that authentic Malaysian experience. I am sure this place can do that but perhaps it does not suit local tastes so well.

A shame - had expected greater authenticity reminding us of the great food we had when lining in Kuala Lumpur.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank bobjanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018 via mobile

I had the sambal extra spicy. My far better half had the laksa, also spicy...

Both delicious. Owner was fantastic. Highly recommended.

The owner brought out a tester to check that my wife did, in fact, like it spicy. Lovely touch.

Cannot wait to go back.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank Mark_of_Many_Hands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

Lovely coconut curry. They were swamped but did their best and our food did not suffer. Good price, Good food. Deserves to be in a bigger restaurant with a liquor license.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank M6629DKdavidv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kampung Kitchen also viewed

Tanunda, Barossa Valley
Tanunda, Barossa Valley
 
Tanunda, Barossa Valley
 
Tanunda, Barossa Valley
Angaston, Barossa Valley
 

Been to Kampung Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing