We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbour Side Resort
Reviewed 16 February 2011

We stayed at the 'Resort' for 4 days over Christmas. It was the worst value for money accommodation I have ever stayed in. There is no check-in process. They just left a key and we were expected to work the rest out for ourselves. Distinct lack of staff around, just in case you have a question to ask. The rooms are VERY tired and VERY basic. There are plenty of better options available. Don't bother with this one.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suze6023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 162 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2011

I would recommend Harbourside to anyone. The rooms were clean and tidy, the position was great and the team friendly. Will definately stay there again!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karlytemora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2010

I read the reviews for this resort prior to going to the GC (and after booking 3 apartments) and was worried about what we might find however we were pleasantly surprised. I wonder what people expect for the money they pay sometimes. This is a 3 star facility not a 5 star one and the price per night reflects that. The rooms our family had were clean, well equipped and in a good location just out of the bustle of Surfers. The resort is not shiney and new but the kids had a great time in the well kept pool area, there was good access to a big shopping centre and public transport. We all had a great week and as a family on a budget would stay there again if we were up that way. If you want 5 star accommodation for peanuts this is not the resort for you but if your happy with good basic facilities and access to all the GC attractions etc it is fine.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dapple01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2010

I regularly travel up and down the entire east coast for work and have stayed all over the Gold Coast. I can honestly say I will stay at this place everytime I'm in the neighbourhood! Accommodation on the Goldie is VERY expensive - you're choice is either stay in a brand new fancy hotel for $400 per night or stay in one of the thousands of old buildings for not much below that. That is until I discovered this place - cheap as chips!!! I obviously wasn't expecting the Versace, and I definately knew I wouldn't be on the beach or in a new building for the price, but I can tell you I've stayed in a million places and for it's age this one's pretty damn good and for the price it's incredible!!
Rooms are bigger than average (I've stayed in a studio and 1-bedder), place is clean, pool's good and its got a nice laid back feel!
I don't know what some people are expecting when the alternative is often over 5 times the price!! Admittedly there are a few nice, cheap places south of Currumbin near the airport, but its a bit out of the way if you want to go to Surfers or Broady.
Southport sometimes gets a bad rap, but really people, if you're bloody loaded stay in the swankiest place you can offord so you won't be dissapointed - but take it from someone who's been all over the GC, if you have a beer budget you'll get a carton here for the price of a six pack!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IFLtropes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

I recently stayed at the resort/ the room needed a good scrub there was mould all over the blinds in kitchen/bathroom ones horrible. curtains were in dire need of clean/ cobwebs,carpets were unclean as the bedspeads were not fresh. i would not recommend this place for anyone to stay. ALSO THE MATTRESSES NEED TO BE REPLACED NO SPRINGS WHAT SO EVER. VERY BAD.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
2  Thank maggietatura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southport
1.8 km away
Meriton Suites Southport
1.5 km away
Limassol Motel
Limassol Motel
#5 of 6 in Labrador
27 reviews
1.3 km away
Earls Court Motor Inn
Earls Court Motor Inn
#2 of 4 in Southport
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Arrival Accommodation Centre
1.1 km away
Jadran Motel & El Jay Holiday Lodge
0.7 km away
Crystal Bay on the Broadwater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Side Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Side Resort

Address: 132 Marine Parade, Southport, Gold Coast, Queensland 4215, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Southport
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Southport
Price Range: €53 - €175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour Side Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour Side Resort basks in the sun in one of the premier locations on the Gold Coast. Situated directly opposite the harbour-like Gold Coast Broadwater, Harbour Side Resort consists of 50 fully furnished, decorator designed, self-catering holiday apartments and motel-style studio rooms. There is a large resort-style swimming pool, a large separate spa, a shaded entertainment pavilion with two BBQ’s and a half-court tennis court to enjoy without venturing out of the resort.Staying at Harbourside Resort means that you are right in the heart of the Gold Coast's tourist mecca. Close to the Gold Coast Hospital, Griffith and Bond University. Public transport just minutes away. Just 20 minutes drive from Movieworld, Dreamworld, Wet'n'Wild and Whitewater World, just 5 minutes drive from Seaworld and 7 minutes drive from Central Surfers Paradise. Harbour Side Resort is the perfect base from which to explore the beautiful Gold Coast and the surroundings.Harbour Side Resort has studio, one bedroom and two bedroom apartments, which can accommodate from 1 person to a big family of 6 at a convenient location for you to enjoy your next holiday. Check with our reception when you plan your holiday at the Gold Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Harbour Side Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Side Hotel Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing