We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Disgusting disgusting disgusting” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbour Side Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harbour Side Resort
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disgusting disgusting disgusting”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

Aircon did not work. Bathroom was filthy. Beds disgusting and there was a coffee cup on the ground in the loungeroom WITH coffee in it. Clearly the place had not been cleaned. I'm didn't expect some amazing room but I did expect it to be clean.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    38
    24
    30
    60
See reviews for
51
40
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

We booked this hotel via internet site relying on what we saw. We were disgusted at the lack of cleanliness and how it looked just like a converted laundry with the pipes still everywhere.
On approaching management we found them defensive. We asked them to look at our unit but they declined.; and we could not look at any other unit at this complex to compare. As it was the Christmas/New Year break we could not find anywhere else.
We would not recommend this place (at least the studio unit) to anyone else.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southport hotels

Cronulla, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

Recently we took our family to Harbourside we were very happy with the service we received and our two bedroom unit was very clean and tidy. We enjoyed a BBQ by the pool while the kids were swimming and enjoyed the spa together. I really liked walking along the waterfront across the road and the kids loved the parklands. We walked to the shops and club for dinner and the bus stop was at the door so it was very conveniently located. I think that it was great value for the price!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Echuca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

My partner and i stayed here for a week and it was great. We got i as part of a package deal and it was very cheap. It i had gone on all the other reviews i would have cancelled. The room was clean, the air-con worked and the staff were friendly. It is also closer to the theme parks than Sufers. Considering all we did was sleep in the room it was fantastic. The only downside is that you get 1 roll of toilet paper and if you run out you need to pay $1 for another roll, minor but kind of annoying.

To all the reviewers here who bagged the crap out of it, you get what you pay for. So learn to deal with it. I would be happy to stay here again. Thanks

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bundy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2011

stayed at harbourside over jan school holidays we are a family (like Most) on a budget. Had read the reviews and were a bit concerned, however upon arriving i need not have worried. the two bedroom apartment comfortable clean and tidy, pool bbq and tennis court were great.
we were originally going to stay in surfers paradise and visiting there during the day, i am very happy we chose to stay accross from the broadwater instead. surfers is a dump! we paid a fraction of the cost staying at harbourside and we got more than what we paid for. i cant understand some of these reviews (maybe peoples expectations are to high) as sitting around the pool, all the other holiday makers felt the same as we did. we paid for 31/2 star and got a nice affordable holiday

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katdee44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southport
1.9 km away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Aqua Street, Southport
1.9 km away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Como Crescent, Southport
4.0 km away
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
#16 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Earls Court Motor Inn
Earls Court Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Southport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.0 km away
Aqualine Apartments
Aqualine Apartments
#2 of 10 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
1.5 km away
Arrival Accommodation Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Side Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Side Resort

Property: Harbour Side Resort
Address: 132 Marine Parade, Southport, Gold Coast, Queensland 4215, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Southport
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour Side Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour Side Resort basks in the sun in one of the premier locations on the Gold Coast. Situated directly opposite the harbour-like Gold Coast Broadwater, Harbour Side Resort consists of 50 fully furnished, decorator designed, self-catering holiday apartments and motel-style studio rooms. There is a large resort-style swimming pool, a large separate spa, a shaded entertainment pavilion with two BBQ’s and a half-court tennis court to enjoy without venturing out of the resort.Staying at Harbourside Resort means that you are right in the heart of the Gold Coast's tourist mecca. Close to the Gold Coast Hospital, Griffith and Bond University. Public transport just minutes away. Just 20 minutes drive from Movieworld, Dreamworld, Wet'n'Wild and Whitewater World, just 5 minutes drive from Seaworld and 7 minutes drive from Central Surfers Paradise. Harbour Side Resort is the perfect base from which to explore the beautiful Gold Coast and the surroundings.Harbour Side Resort has studio, one bedroom and two bedroom apartments, which can accommodate from 1 person to a big family of 6 at a convenient location for you to enjoy your next holiday. Check with our reception when you plan your holiday at the Gold Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Harbour Side Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Side Hotel Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing