We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great in the beer garden”

Nerang RSL Memorial Club
Ranked #6 of 71 Restaurants in Nerang
Price range: US$6 - US$23
Description: The Nerang RSL & Memorial Club opened on the 9th April 1983. Situated at the gateway to the Hinterland, the Nerang RSL successfully caters to the large & demographically diverse population of Nerang & the surrounding districts. Committed to "Giving Back To The Community", the Club supports and participates in a broad range of assistance to schools, sporting clubs, charity groups & medical research. With 188 Gaming Machines, 3 Bars, Keno, TAB, a restaurant, coffee shop, function facilities & Bottle shop Serving food from open to close, if you are after a delicious sit-down meal with family and friends or a quick bite to eat or takeaway pizza, you have come to the right place. Club food with a finer dining twist is what head chef Jason Blond is rolling out at the Nerang RSL. Born and bred on the Gold Coast, Jason has over 27 years of industry experience which he is channelling into the menu at the club, with dishes designed to satisfy the most discerning diners.
Restaurant details
Description: The Nerang RSL & Memorial Club opened on the 9th April 1983. Situated at the gateway to the Hinterland, the Nerang RSL successfully caters to the large & demographically diverse population of Nerang & the surrounding districts. Committed to "Giving Back To The Community", the Club supports and participates in a broad range of assistance to schools, sporting clubs, charity groups & medical research. With 188 Gaming Machines, 3 Bars, Keno, TAB, a restaurant, coffee shop, function facilities & Bottle shop Serving food from open to close, if you are after a delicious sit-down meal with family and friends or a quick bite to eat or takeaway pizza, you have come to the right place. Club food with a finer dining twist is what head chef Jason Blond is rolling out at the Nerang RSL. Born and bred on the Gold Coast, Jason has over 27 years of industry experience which he is channelling into the menu at the club, with dishes designed to satisfy the most discerning diners.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Bit out off the highway but worth it.Plenty of parking.Been totally renovated .to high standard but food is great and totally on the affordable side.The staff certainly make you feel welcome.In comparison to some other clubs on the Gold Coast.Iwould rate it as a number 9 out of 10 on my list of venues.If you are in this area.I would certain ly go out of the way to get there

Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenRSLGuy, Manager at Nerang RSL Memorial Club, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi George, thanks for your feedback. We are renovating again too, first with a multistory carpark and then bigger and better changes to the club. Watch this space over the next 5 years

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Unbelievable food we had a great time there great staff friendly people. Didn't win on pokies lol but had a great night out

Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenRSLGuy, Manager at Nerang RSL Memorial Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Julie, It's awesome to hear you had a great time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018 via mobile

Very friendly welcome to a busy club. Dining room was quite presentable and well patronised. Wait staff were quick and friendly. The food was a little better than club ordinary but didn't live up to the expectations raised by the fancy menu. Drinks were reasonably priced and the wine list impressive for a club. The garlic bread was up there with the best I've had. What let them down was the food. It was well-cooked frozen seafood but somewhat below the expectations raised by the menu. The food was not cheap either for what it was. We will think twice before going back.

Thank Denis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenRSLGuy, Manager at Nerang RSL Memorial Club, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

Thank you for your review Denis, I have passed this onto the management committee and head chef. They are in the middle of a menu upgrade and can take feedback such as this into consideration.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

After helping a mate move house we stopped in at the Nerang RSL for lunch at the Gallipoli Restaurant/bistro. The reception staff were cheerful and polite and then up at the restaurant the staff were helpful and happy. The gentleman on the bar was efficient and friendly and the chef working on the fron part of the counter made sure the meals were coming out quickly, I overheard her offering alternatives to a vegetarian patron and thought that was really good customer service. I had the Seafood Chowder which was amazing, my friend had the Curry lamb pie and finished that off with nothing left on the plate! overall a really nice experience. we will be back and will be bringing friends!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank katandandy2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenRSLGuy, Manager at Nerang RSL Memorial Club, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

Thank you for your review Kat & Andy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

Reading the review left by "Alice the BAD", I have to agree with her comments re the attitude of some of the staff at Nerang RSL.

Visited with friends for lunch in February 2018, there is a new menu and I have to question some of the menu options now offered. Considering the meals I has seen served to members and visitors over the years, I would question how many arancini balls and pumpkin flower are sold. The clientele seem to be more suited to typical club options. It would seem that the chef, or whoever makes these decisions, thinks they are catering to a more sophisticated consumer.

I ordered a Rib Fillet $29.50 - the new menu states that it comes with a "choice of beer battered chips OR Mashed Potato and Coleslaw OR vegetables". Previously one could order a steak with chips and SALAD. Not available according the ladies on the till when you place your order. You have to order a bowl of salad in addition to the steak and chips - $4.50 extra.

The steak arrived as ordered with the chips - the salad consisted of say, 25 cents worth of salad leaves, a few shredded slices of carrot and beetroot, four thin slices of raw onion, four cubes of cucumber approx. 2cm square and the rest of the salad comprised of red and green capsicum - must have been cheap that day as it was the main item in the salad! As I am allergic to capsicum the waiter advised Saasha that I was not happy,

Saasha seemed to be surprised at the capsicum salad and refunded the cost of the salad, which one of my friends seemed to enjoy. Saasha also refunded the cost of the garlic bread, as this arrived just as we were finishing our main courses.

Any good club or restaurant serves STEAK, SALAD AND CHIPS - the new menu seems to be pushing for more cash in the till. Surely members should be able to choose what they wish to order and not be told NO when you order. Think many people would go to another club if they do not revert to including a normal salad with the steaks. The interesting part is that you can get a "normal salad" sans capsicum with other dishes.

I totally agree with the comments re what is now happening in the Gallipoli's area.

Some of the staff in this area seem to forget: CUSTOMERS PAY YOUR WAGES!!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 197montrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenRSLGuy, Manager at Nerang RSL Memorial Club, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

Thank you for your review 197montrose, I have passed this onto the management committee and head chef. They are in the middle of a menu upgrade and will take feedback such as this into consideration. We can also use information such as this to better train our staff, again thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nerang RSL Memorial Club also viewed

Nerang, Gold Coast
 
Nerang, Gold Coast
Nerang, Gold Coast
 
Nerang, Gold Coast
 

Been to Nerang RSL Memorial Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing