We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but thin walls”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Metro Hotel Ipswich International
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Ipswich
Reviewed 2 August 2011

I stayed at this hotel for one night recently. It is a decent hotel with average facilities. It seems quite new. The room had all that I needed including bar fridge, LCD, aircon and a comfy bed. I did notice the walls were quite thin so was able to hear a crying baby quite easily. The biggest pain was that in Winter, the aircon only operates on warm, so if you want just the fan to circulate air and have some noise, it won't turn on. The room was a little noisy with the hoons driving their V8's up the main street til late. Parking was undercover, not secure, and free. I didn't go to the bar or restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank midwicket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetroIpswich, Guest Relations Manager at Metro Hotel Ipswich International, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2011

Greetings from the Metro Hotel Ipswich International
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, When returning to our hotel we would like to offer you an upgrade to the 6th Floor which has 16 deluxe rooms each offering sweeping views across the city.

Our Hotel group is renowned for quality and friendly personalised service ensuring your stay with us will be enjoyable, relaxing and stress-free.

Please do not hesitate to contact me, if I can be of any further assistance


Kindest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

286 - 290 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2011

Nice and friendly staff. Check in not very fast but smooth. Nice, neat and spacious rooms. Free car park under the hotel with two lifts from car park to the upper floors; free fast internet access. Very nice breakfast buffet; 40Km far from Brisbane CBD; Great value for money; Bathrooms very clean but the only problem is the shower curtains which are not really clean. Will stay there again…

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FrequentTraveller666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2011

Checkin – Our reservations were in order. Process was quite smooth.

Rooms – Quite spacious. Bed was comfortable. Bathroom had a decent set of accessories. Soap, shampoo, lotion etc was all in refillable containers on the wall and in the shower. A green option when compared to providing individual containers which results in a lot of waste. The bathroom door when opened will drag the towel on the bathroom floor. Not enough clearance provided to allow for the towel on the floor. HUGELY short of ‘international’ standards in this area.
AC in the room left a lot to be desired. I have managed to get a Masters degree in Mechanical Engineering, but could not figure out how to work the AC remote. Complete overkill with ‘technology’. Called the Front Desk in the evening around 8:30 pm. The person was completely useless. Suggested that someone can come help with it in the morning! Sure, after you have ruined what could have been a good nights sleep. Seriously! Under which rocks do they find this kind of Front Desk people? In case, you are thinking this is an isolated case, I had 2 colleagues with me, who had the identical problems with their AC and could not sleep well at night (that too after having been on a long haul flight).

Internet – Was given a cable for the internet as they said that WiFi works only in the Lobby. Was also given a Username and Password for internet which was good for 3 days. While this appears pretty straight forward, getting on the internet from the room was anything but straight forward. Had to be an IT whiz to figure out what was needed to successfully connect to the internet from the room. Far from ‘international’ standards. Calling and asking the person at the Front Desk was useless. Their response was – ‘it should work!’ WiFi worked reasonably well from the Lobby.

Staff – In general, the hotel seems to operate with as little staff as possible. Especially at night, it seemed like there was no one in the hotel besides the 1 person at the Front Desk. Moreover, the Front Desk person was mostly completely useless, and to make matters worse, was making it quite obvious that they could care less what you thought.

Breakfast – For the most part, the less said the better. The first day I was there, they did have some fresh baked Croissants and Danish pastries which were quite nice. Assortment of fruits and cheese, toast, cereal etc. They wanted $16,50 (AUD) for Continental breakfast which I thought was quite steep. Most ‘international’ hotels I have been to have different kinds of Yoghurt available for breakfast. Not this one ofcourse. When I asked if they had any, the staff person simply said No and could have cared less about it.

Overall – Ipswich is a small town. There are not too many hotels. Don’t get your hopes up if you stay at the Metro.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kumarcheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetroIpswich, Guest Relations Manager at Metro Hotel Ipswich International, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2011

Thank you for your feedback
In regards to front desk I do apologise for the lack of services from our staff, this is not a normal occurrence with our staff. We have addressed this matter with all our reception staff and the staff member on duty that evening.
Air conditioners & Internet Connection in rooms
We have taken on board your comments
1. All reception staff have been given extra training on the resenting of air conditioners.
2. Easy to use instructions on internet connections for rooms ( this problem will soon be rectified when we have WiFi throughout the hotel)
3. Staffing; the only time where we have 1 staff covering the front desk is between 11.00 pm & 6.00 am
4. Breakfast, this matter has been handled by our new restaurant manager, all staff have received additional training.
5. Continental breakfast includes;
Selection of teas & coffees, 3 different juices, several different cereals, both fresh and dried fruits, 3 choices of breads with different spreads and jams, Platters of cold meat, cheese and fruits, Croissants and Danishes and should have included yoghurt.( My apologies that no yoghurt was offered to you during your stay).


Unfortunately this matter was not brought to management’s attention during your stay so we could have rectified the situation immediately.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Management of Metro Hotel Ipswich International

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2011

4.5 star - I dont think so. Room was small, no grab rail in spa/shower, tv the size of a postage stamp, no pool, no balcony, outdated dvd selection and minimum unsecured parking mostly taken up by staff. Receptionist was unwelcoming, rude and abrupt. Upside is its close to city centre.

Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BrisbaneOscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetroIpswich, Manager at Metro Hotel Ipswich International, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2011

Thank you for your feedback.
Metro Hotel Ipswich International is an AAA accredited 41/2 star hotel.
Our rooms are of an above average size and offer plenty of space.
In regards to the receptionist; whilst this is below our normal standards, the comments have been taken on board.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards,

Management
Metro Hotel Ipswich International.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2011

Cons:
- Rooms are small.
- Lots of noise from the street below.
- There is no elevator access to the bottom car park, you have to use fire exit or back up the ramp to the lobby or other car park.
- Top Car park fills up quickly and people park where there are no car parks making it hard to navigate. Also some of the car parks are hard to get in and out of.
- Warning - there is pretty much no night life after 9pm. Just about everything in walking distance is closed and the late night menu is limited.

Pros:
- Breakfast was really yummy. Especially the pancakes.
- Rooms are modern and clean.
- Staff were helpful.
- Was centrally located.
- Close to Ipswich "sights"
- Roughly (when not in peak traffic) by car 30 mins from Brisbane, and 45 mins to Gold Coast.

This hotel is not a bad one but not the best either. Basically it is a nice hotel, and one of the only ones in the cbd, for a city right next door to Brisbane. It didn't totally suit our needs but that is not the hotels fault. Our main frustration was the car park because we had a baby it made it difficult to get in and out if we were stuck in the lower car park.

For a basic clean place to stay that is central to Ipswich this is a decent hotel that shouldn't dissapoint as long as you dont have super high expectations.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cap3tt3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ipswich
1.0 km away
Quest Ipswich Serviced Apartments
0.4 km away
Oaks Aspire Apartments
Oaks Aspire Apartments
#4 of 7 in Ipswich
201 reviews
3.4 km away
Ipswich Country Motel
Ipswich Country Motel
#1 of 1 in Raceview
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 km away
Springfield Lakes Hotel
Springfield Lakes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Springfield Lakes
107 reviews
31.0 km away
Metro Hotel Tower Mill On Wickham Terrace
1.0 km away
Best Western Ipswich
Best Western Ipswich
#6 of 7 in Ipswich
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Hotel Ipswich International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel Ipswich International

Address: 43 South St, Ipswich, Queensland 4305, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Ipswich
Price Range: €75 - €96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metro Hotel Ipswich International 3.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metro Hotel Ipswich International is located right in the heart of the Ipswich CBD. The Hotel's central location provides an excellent base for visitors to this beautiful city and is in close proximity to such local attractions as the Queensland Raceway, Willowbank Raceway and the Ipswich Turf Club. The Metro Hotel Ipswich International is also only 40km from the Brisbane CBD allowing easy travel to and from Brisbane City itself.We are a 4 1/2 star, seven storey property set overlooking one of the pristine parklands that Ipswich is proud to boast, offering 97 luxury Accommodation Rooms, consisting of One Bedroom Apartments, spa suites, Superior and Deluxe guest rooms, 7 first class Wedding & Conference Rooms and an unforgettable dining experience at Harvest Restaurant and Bar, open daily.Adjoining the main restaurant is a stylish lounge and bar, perfect for drinks after work, entertaining clients or pre-dinner drinks. Our Hotel features lift access to all floors from Reception and we also have several rooms with disabled access and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metro Hotel Ipswich International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing