We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing staff, enjoyable as ever!”
Review of Billy Budds

Billy Budds
Ranked #6 of 11 Restaurants in Croyde
Cuisines: Pizza, Spanish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television
Birmingham
1 review
“Amazing staff, enjoyable as ever!”
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Me and the family stayed in Croyde for a week over Christmas (as we try to every year and for a couple of weeks in the summer!) and once again the welcome we received and service throughout the week was second to none. Sam that works behind the bar is amazing with the kids and always goes out of his way to make sure we have a great time. The atmosphere is always so friendly and we can not wait to be back in June!
Many thanks,
Mark (and the rest of the Diddlet clan!)

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    95
    63
    23
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere - great food!”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Next door to the Thatch, and almost certainly owned by the same people - has more of a party atmosphere, and was very lively.
we ate in here too and the food was great - the nachos were in huge portions and even my mate Dave who is know for his eating capacity managed to fill up there! I had fish and it was also a good sized portion and very tasty!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Top_Starfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“We Love Billy's!”
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Friendly staff and locals! Great atmosphere, amazing selection of music on juke box, dog friendly and great warming pub food after a dip in the cold ocean :0)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clareloulabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice back garden with small Play area for kids and reasonable beer”
Reviewed 6 September 2011

On a nice sunny day sitting at the back having a bar meal and a pint on the benches on the patio area with family and friends was good. The kids also liked the play area that whilst petite kept them busy. Meal was very average, draught beer was good. I didnt rate the inside of the pub much as we didnt use it or need it except to order I wasnt bothered either and didnt play a part in our experience of the place

With a bit more effort on the meal front Buds could be better still - kids like the pizza (we dont often get complaints either) but the bar food offering could be so much more with a little focus. I would really like this place to improve here as we visit Croyde at least once every year and it could be so much more than the other places to eat in Croyde without much effort if it provided high quality food at a reasonable cost

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank julian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Pizza’s Smell good natcho’s look even better.”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

On a sunny summer evening with a cold pint in hand, football on the telly and a rumble in my belly. A plate of nachos was ordered and very promptly arrived, pilled high with chilli, cheese and tasty bits and bobs you cannot complain, a little pricey maybe at £ 11. But a good meal for two.
The pub itself is good, a little beer stained in places maybe, but a nice feel and with the linked beer garden to the thatch next door all is set for a small pub crawl, A game of pool in one then next door for the band, back for a pizza then outside for a sit in the sun. Nice set up but with Croyde being so small, all end up at one of the 2 pubs so push the boat out and try the two.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xcharlesx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Billy Budds also viewed

 

Been to Billy Budds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing