We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pools, food quality lower than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Evenia Olympic Palace
Ranked #2 of 124 Hotels in Lloret de Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2017

The pools were great for children, although the weather didn't cooperate. It would have been nice to have a lap pool for adults, but I guess you can't have everything. I found that the food quality could have been better with the processed chicken nuggets and hamburgers standing out. Seemed to be all about having unlimited food for those who want to eat all day long. The internet in the room was too slow, and the beds were too springy. Could have been better.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank davidindec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evenia_Group, Director General at Evenia Olympic Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear davidindec,

Thank you for sharing your Evenia Olympic Resort experience with Tripadvisor and with us.

We want to apologize if we didn't fully accomplish your holiday expectations. We will take notes about other topics you commented, so we will be able to improve day by day to offer a better service to all the customers.
We want to inform you that we have more than 5 pools in our resort, and two of them are specialy for adults. For next time, we recomend you to ask on the reception for more information.

Without any further ado, we hope that you may give us another opportunity so that you may return home satisfied the next time, after an unforgettable holiday in EVENIA Olympic Palace.

We take this opportunity to send you kind regards,
General Manager of EVENIA Olympic Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (904)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 904 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2017

By European standards, this is a great resort and one that I would visit again. I thought I'd write a review containing useful details about being at this resort, so here goes.

Sun Lounger policy.
We found most sunbeds to be available at around 7am each morning, but they get reserved quickly. Between 9-10am, hotel staff stick notices on unoccupied, reserved sunbeds. These inform you that there is a 90 minute policy at the resort. Some 90 minutes later, unoccupied sunbeds with these notices will have their towels/items removed. I'm guessing they're stored somewhere for people to collect later.

The sunbeds are fairly close to one another, so there isn't much space to move sunbeds around to follow the sun/shade.

Towel policy.
Towels can be borrowed from the hotel for a deposit of 10 Euros per towel. You will get a blue receipt which you must keep, you'll need it to get the deposit back when you return the towels. The towel hut is located by the kids area, near the Olympic Park Hotel. It's open from 9:30am to 1pm, then again from 3pm to 6:30pm. You can swap towels throughout the day freely, but they tend to run low on fresh towels towards the end of the day.

Checkout.
Checkout is at a very early 10am. This is the earliest checkout I've experienced in Europe. You can extend your checkout time by paying a fee, that fee is shown on a display at reception. There is a luggage room for you to store your luggage once you've checked out. You're allowed to keep your restaurant card and wrist band which allows you to continue to use the restaurants and snack bars for the day of your departure, even though you've checked out.

Resort layout.
There are 4 hotels at this resort. Park, Palace, Suites and Gardens. There are 3 main pool areas, which are side by side. The central one is the main pool where there is music and activities. This pool is flanked by a children's pool area with slides on one side and a quieter pool area on the other side. Parasols are fixed (not movable), which means you might be in the shade/sun in the morning, but not in the afternoon. There were more tree shaded areas in the main (central) pool.

Restaurants, snack bars and ice cream!
We found the food to be really good. Whilst there were a lot of repetitive items, there was also a theme each evening to keep things varied. Despite there being a number of restaurants across the resort, you can only use the restaurant of the hotel you're staying at (or a restaurant you're assigned to), you can't chop and change from day to day, which is a shame. It would have been nice to try other restaurants within this large resort.

The snack bars were very good! Try both the snack bars, since they offer very different items. I loved the waffles at the snack bar by the Park Hotel. Whilst the kebabs at the Suites Hotel snack bar were nice too!

Ice cream is available during the day. I was pleasantly surprised to see that these were good quality 'Walls' ice creams, including Magnums and cone ice creams. My favourite was the 'Sandwich'.

Sports Centre.
This was my one disappointment of my stay. Despite being an all inclusive and also having purchased the 'All Inclusive Gold Program', there is an additional charge to use the Sports Centre and the large indoor swimming pools. These are 'olympic' style pools rather than 'play' pools. I'd suggest that 'All Inclusive' should mean all inclusive and that use of these pools be included.

Arrival/Departure.
If, like me, you book this resort independently, you can get here quite easily from Barcelona Airport (T1 or T2) using the Sarfa Moventis coach service. It's around 12 Euros per person. The journey is 2 hours and your destination is LLoret Estacio (Bus Station). From there, it's a ten minute walk to the resort. You can reserve tickets online (search Sarfa Moventis) or purchase them from the driver for the outward journey and from the Bus Station ticket office for the return journey.

Overall, I thought the resort was good. They do seem to make an effort to please people, things like a magician during dinner and children's bubble bath events are 'hidden extras' which were a nice touch. The two things I would change at the resort is to offer the Sports Facilities for all inclusive guests and also allow guests to use any on site restaurant of their choice, hence the 4 stars rather than 5. Having said that, I'd still come back here!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SavLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evenia_Group, Director General at Evenia Olympic Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear SavLondon_UK,

Thank you very much for sharing your holiday experience review on Tripadvisor after your stay in Evenia Olympic Park.

We are delighted to read your excellent review about our Resort. At Evenia Hotels, our team, works with the objective to provide the best experience for our guests. For this reason, opinions such as yours give us a really great satisfaction.

We hope to see you soon again next year!

Recieve our best regards,
General Manager of EVENIA Olympic Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

This was our second visit to Evenia Olympic Palace and it was another good stay. We definitely prefer this property over the others that share the pool and other common areas, because there feels like there is a little more space to move, especially around the salt-water pool where getting a lounger at any time wasn't impossible. In terms of entertainment, food and room it was all very good and we particularly like the location as it isn't too far from the resort center but not too close that we lose the relative peace and quiet of our area. The family thoroughly enjoyed the stay and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rosani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evenia_Group, Director General at Evenia Olympic Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Rosani,

Thank you very much for sharing your holiday experience review on Tripadvisor after your stay in Evenia Olympic Park.

We are delighted to read your excellent review about our Resort. At Evenia Hotels, our team, works with the objective to provide the best experience for our guests.

We hope to see you soon again.

Recieve our best regards,

General Manager of EVENIA Olympic Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

We flew to Barcelona and pre booked a taxi transfer with Kiwi Taxis who were brilliant. Arrived at hotel about 4pm. Check in was quick. We were given wristbands with a brief introduction and were told to make our own way to the room. We had to walk round several times before we located it. No one told us there were luggage trolleys round the corner from Reception which you can use! The room was big and clean as you see in the pictures. We were at the end of a corridor so no issues with noise. Rooms were cleaned every morning with fresh towels. Balcony has a washing line so maybe take some clothes pegs as when it's windy items fall off!

Sunbeds - Yes you need to reserve early if you want the best spots. There were always beds available up until 9am and then you will be struggling. The security guard does not let you reserve until 7am.

The grounds are very big with the all hotels in this chain. We spent our time between the Olympic Palace pool and the kiddies pool with all the slides. Large inflatables are not allowed in the Olympic Palace pool but can be used in the other 2 pools. Grounds are kept very clean. The pool bars and snack bars are good and never had to wait to be served. Towels are provided for a deposit and can be changed whenever required.

Food - absolutely amazing. We ate all meals in the Ares restaurant. There are theme nights in the evening and the desserts are fantastic. Food is replenished quickly and was always hot. We ate as soon as the restaurant opened which was 8am, 1.15pm and 7.30pm. There was never any rush at these times but we saw long ques for later times. They will give you a packed breakfast or lunch if you are going out and will miss the meals. On our check out date we had to leave 8am and the hotel provided us with a packed breakfast which was really nice.

If you book direct with the hotel website you get the gold all inclusive which means you get the premium brand drinks and free safe and wi fi.

The only negative is that some of the bar staff seemed grumpy and never smiled!

There is kids park right outside the hotel which we used to go to every evening after dinner. The Tuesday market is very big and worth seeing for bits and bobs. A walk up the strip for 10 minutes leads you to the beach with lots of shops on route. There is a hair braid shop which we stopped at and my girls got their braids done.

We never went to hotel entertainment as it starts after 9pm which is too late for my kids, however there was 1 night we stayed up for and it was well worth it. There was a Rodeo for kids, bouncy castles, pony rides, free tattoos, clowns and lots of other games. Keep an eye out for posters about this.

All in all we had a fantastic holiday. Kids pool is great fun and the food is amazing. Good location but staff need to be more friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonu_johal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evenia_Group, Director General at Evenia Olympic Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear sonu_johal,

First of all, thank you to trust in EVENIA Hotels to enjoy your holidays and spend your time sharing your experience with us.

We are glad to know that we fully accomplish with your expectation of holidays and we take note about your coments of our team and services.

We hope to see you soon, and have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Our team take the opportunity to send you our best regards.

Sincerely,
General Manager of EVENIA Olympic Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

We had a lovely stay at the palace, a large family room, separate bedroom, hotel was spotlessly clean, food was great with themed evenings and fresh cooked meats every night. Booking direct upgraded our all inclusive to get all branded drinks, bottled wine at dinner, pools were busy but always able to get a sunbed and the towel service meant a clean towel to lie on everyday. A 10 minute stroll into the town means you can easily access shops and nightlife if you want. I would recommend staying here as it's one of the best hotels I've visited in Spain, thanks for making our holiday so nice

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RichJudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evenia_Group, Director General at Evenia Olympic Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear RichJudd,

Thank you very much for sharing your holiday experience review on Tripadvisor after your stay in Evenia Olympic Resort.

We are delighted to read your excellent review about our Resort. At Evenia Hotels our team works with the objective of providing the best experience for our guests. For this reason opinions such as yours give us a really great satisfaction.

We hope to see you soon again.

Recieve our best regards,
General Manager of EVENIA Olympic Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lloret de Mar hotels
0.7 km away
Hotel Delamar - ONLY ADULTS
Hotel Delamar - ONLY ADULTS
#1 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
719 reviews
0.9 km away
Gran Hotel Monterrey
Gran Hotel Monterrey
#12 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
215 reviews
0.1 km away
Evenia Olympic Park
Evenia Olympic Park
#6 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Evenia Olympic Suites Hotel
Evenia Olympic Suites Hotel
#3 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
645 reviews
0.8 km away
Aparthotel Costa Encantada
Aparthotel Costa Encantada
#8 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
1,502 reviews
0.1 km away
Evenia Olympic Garden
Evenia Olympic Garden
#4 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evenia Olympic Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evenia Olympic Palace

Address: Avenida del Rieral 55-57, 17310 Lloret de Mar, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Lloret de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lloret de Mar
#2 Family Hotel in Lloret de Mar
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lloret de Mar
Price Range: €145 - €1,295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Evenia Olympic Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Evenia Olympic Palace & Congress Centre is the perfect choice if you want to combine business and pleasure. The Hotel, opened in 2008, is the newest one of the Olympic Resort and it is ideal for families, romantic breaks, group celebrations and meetings or business. It has avant-garde design with wide and modern rooms of 35m2 approximately, with a 2 beds bedroom and hall with convertible sofa-bed, 2 satellite TV, 2 air conditioning units, safe, fridge, microwave, internet access, phone, spacious full bathroom with hairdryer, balcony, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Evenia Olympic Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evenia Olympic Palace Hotel Lloret De Mar
Evenia Olympic Palace Lloret De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing