We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genial treatment of quality produce”
Review of Osteria Il Moro

Osteria Il Moro
Ranked #46 of 411 Restaurants in Trapani
Price range: US$18 - US$37
Description: More than just a simple restaurant in Trapani, in the heart of the historic centre of Trapani, Osteria il Moro will seduce you with all the fascinating persistence of tastes, scents and colours of Sicilian cuisine. Seating 54, the restaurant offers a selection of typical Sicilian dishes, presented in a modern style and benefitting from all the originality and attention accumulated by the owners, the Bandi brothers, during their ten years of experience as restauranteurs. The Osteria Moro is characterized by elegant and comfortable rooms, and from spring time also an external open space. Osteria il Moro di Trapani has been included in the "La Repubblica" guide. In addition, we have obtained the recognition from the Italian Accademia Gastronomica Storica and the membership of the Chaine Des Rotisseurs association in addition to the membership of F.I.C. (Federazione Italiana Cuochi -Italian Federation of Chefs).
Restaurant details
Description: More than just a simple restaurant in Trapani, in the heart of the historic centre of Trapani, Osteria il Moro will seduce you with all the fascinating persistence of tastes, scents and colours of Sicilian cuisine. Seating 54, the restaurant offers a selection of typical Sicilian dishes, presented in a modern style and benefitting from all the originality and attention accumulated by the owners, the Bandi brothers, during their ten years of experience as restauranteurs. The Osteria Moro is characterized by elegant and comfortable rooms, and from spring time also an external open space. Osteria il Moro di Trapani has been included in the "La Repubblica" guide. In addition, we have obtained the recognition from the Italian Accademia Gastronomica Storica and the membership of the Chaine Des Rotisseurs association in addition to the membership of F.I.C. (Federazione Italiana Cuochi -Italian Federation of Chefs).
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

As we had decided to only eat lunch this day we opted for the “Degustazione” allowing the Kitchen to decide was definitely a good idea, starting with my favourite Sicilian snack “Panelle” we then had a savoury cannolo filled with whipped local soft goats cheese blended with local herbs and served with a raw red Mazzara prawn, fried sardine on a local cheese fondue, sautéed octopus, then pasta coi sardi for me and sarde al linguaccia for my husband, wonderful Couscous Trapanese, red tuna lion on a bed of Tropea onion purée, perfectly fried totani, then came the dessert, or desserts, a pistacchio semi freddo with a smooth Modica chocolate sauce and a cassata leggera.....all washed down with a bottle of divine “Terre di Shemir” Grillo/Zibbibo blend wine.
This young self taught Chef does honour to the traditions of Sicily with a lightness of hand and eye for detail that could put some of the big names to shame.....
All this in tasteful surroundings that allow the food to do the talking.

Thank NikkieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola B, Proprietario at Osteria Il Moro, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Hi,
Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed the meal and our cuisine.
We are happy when our guests appreciate our passion for the quality of food we select from the local excellence.
We hope to see you again soon
Regards
Osteria Il Moro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

We had lunch with 3 here today and really enjoyed it. High-end cuisine, at first the service seemedd not so happy and helpful but that changed quickly. Started with a liggt sprakling wine from Marsala and ordered antipasto ofthe house, tuna prepared in 3 ways and burrata with ansjovis. Highly tasteful. Then we had a bottle of Etna white with fish couscous. Great again. We got a selection of 3 desserts at the end. Fresh and lovely again. Love this place. High-end local cuisine at affordable prices.

Thank Nimbus71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola B, Proprietario at Osteria Il Moro, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you for your review. We are glad you appreciated and we are happy you enjoyed all.
We hope to see you again soon
Regards
Osteria Il Moro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

Loved the food, loved the wine, loved the location. Staff was extra helpful, chef had his A-game on, what more could you ask for.

Thank jpelletter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola B, Proprietario at Osteria Il Moro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Hi, thank you for your review!
we are glad you appreciated.
We hope to see you again soon
Osteria Il Moro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

This restaurant has a beautiful location in the historical heart of Trapani, cozy and romantic.
We tried pasta with sea urchins, a Sicilian delicacy, and fried shrimps as second course; the pasta was gorgeous, and the shrimps fried to perfection, so light and crispy. Wine selection was great, unfortunately we decided to go for 2 glasses of local wines instead of a full bottle, and their quality was average at best.
My main issue with this place is that portions are 30-40% smaller than in other restaurants around (let's say tripadvisor top10); this could be an intended move to provide a 2-courses experience that is easier to enjoy for customers, but in my case it didn't work. In Trapani we are used to order an appetizer and a single main course, but in this place we were still hungry after that so we ordered a 2nd course. Long story short, it ended up with a bill that was 50-60% higher than in other places for the same "quantity" of great food.
If management will appreciate this suggestion and act accordingly, I think this restaurant can become one of the top 3 in Trapani.

Thank The_Miskatonic_Adept
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola B, Proprietario at Osteria Il Moro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Hi,
thank you for your review and for gather you experience. We are glad you appreciated our location and our cuisine.
We are not like other restaurant in Trapani, we are trying to stand out. We select our quality from the excellence and we cook it in the traditional way with a piece of creativity. Of course the quality costs and we want our customer to savour the great taste not focusing on quantity (the right portions). Think about: you had the opportunity to taste an other course of our menu.
We hope to become one of the top 3 in Trapani and we hope also to see you again soon but not comparing us with other restaurants.
Regards
Osteria Il Moro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017

Recommended by our hotel and it was excellent. Seafood was very fresh & prepared well. Great service. Had the pistachio with chocolate for dessert and it was fantastic!

Thank jl83943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola B, Proprietario at Osteria Il Moro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Hi,
thank you for your review, we're glad you appreciated our cuisine.
We hope to see you again soon
Regards
Osteria Il Moro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria Il Moro also viewed

Trapani, Province of Trapani
Trapani, Province of Trapani
 
Trapani, Province of Trapani
Trapani, Province of Trapani
 

Been to Osteria Il Moro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing