We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 Nights no problems”
Review of San-Ran Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Robbinsville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
San-Ran Motel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Robbinsville
Reviewed 8 June 2012

My brother-in-law, and I stayed here Friday and Saturday night over Memorial day weekend, to ride the Dragon and surrounding area. You can tell that it's an older property; but, everything seemed to be in decent repair. Apparently, a couple own the property. Never saw him, and only saw her when we checked in. They were booked up with mostly older biker folks, which was our age group, and we met several friendly folks while there. There was only one building with about a dozen or so rooms, and it appeared as if at one time, they may have been another building across the way. The rest of the property has several mobile homes, that I can only guess are full time rental spaces. The only problem we encountered was that Robbinsville is in the middle of a "dry" county. (We were told it's the last dry county in N.C.) If you wanted to get a cocktail or a beer, you had to travel about 30 miles one way to the next county. We encounter no problems with our stay, and would return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank playboy1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2012

Its a small motel, quiet, The rooms were clean. Beds were not hard and slept really good. People were very friendly. Air conditioner worked well. Bring your hair dryer.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kbrgrey1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

San Ran is an old but very nice motel and is conveniently located to several great motorcycle destinations. I found the owner to be forthright and upfront. The rooms were very clean and smelled fresh when we arrived. I saw some of the other ratings after booking, and was nervous, but was pleasantly surprised upon arrival. I even moved the furniture to peek underneath and there was nothing. No dust, no trash, no hairs just clean. Old, probably, could use a little maintenance, sure, but overall a pleasant stay. I will book there again when we go back to ride the great roads in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glidingthrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We had 15 people in our group for a week of riding the Dragons Tail. Randall (the owner) was very welcoming from the moment we arrived. Rooms are older, so of course they are't up to the Ritz standards, but all in all we were very comfortable chilling and grilling outside having a few beers after a long day of riding! The location was great. Grocery and stores right across the street in walking distance. Road to Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg wasn't too far either. Beautiful area. Thanks for a super vacation!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kimandjeff3131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Stayed 4 nights at San-Ran while in the Smokies to ride the Tail of the Dragon and do cycle riding with friends. It is a perfect location for Deals Gap, Smoky Mts, Cherohola Skyway etc. Yes, the motel is older but had everything we needed and was very clean. I was very skeptical, and quite frankly, scared after I read the reviews posted here (had made reservations several months earlier). We were nothing but pleased. The owner, Randolph, was very friendly and helpful. There was ample parking for our SUV with enclosed trailer and our bikes. There is a gas station, convenience store, etc across the street. Frig, microwave and full size coffee pot in the rooms. Free ice. A patio outside to sit on along with picnic tables and a grill. It is not a Hilton so if thats what you are looking for its not here, in fact, its nowhere for many many miles. San-Ran was perfect for what we were looking for and would definately recommend it to our friends coming to the area to ride and would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank csshadle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Robbinsville hotels
0.5 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 6 in Robbinsville
665 reviews
17.8 km away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
732 reviews
11.7 km away
The Owl's Perch
The Owl's Perch
#6 of 12 in Robbinsville
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 km away
Buffalo Creek Bed and Breakfast
Buffalo Creek Bed and Breakfast
#5 of 12 in Robbinsville
34 reviews
Show Prices

Been to San-Ran Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San-Ran Motel

Address: US 129 By Pass, Robbinsville, NC 28771
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Robbinsville
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Robbinsville
Price Range: €36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing