We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go-to breakfast spot for locals and visitors alike!”
Review of Barry's Cafe

Barry's Cafe
Ranked #8 of 1,537 Restaurants in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Barry's Cafe serves great comfort food both breakfast and lunch. It is decorated with Firefighter memorabilia from 23 countries and all 50 states. We have provided emergency foodservice to over 100 local fire stations since 1994, at no charge. We have a separate Foundation that supports us with the food cost. It has a 501-3c if you would like to help.
Reviewed 23 April 2017

I have met a friend of mine at Barry's several times for breakfast over the past year and have not been disappointed. Service is good and quick. They are huge supporters of their local community, including fireman, policemen and service members. They offer many breakfast options as well as lunch (they're closed in the afternoon). A few outside seating options are available. I would suggest getting there when they open for breakfast (8am) as it fills up quickly. They also have takeout if you'd like to pick it up and go elsewhere to eat.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jermsshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

Ate with ten others. The waitress was awesome and very friendly. It's average cafeteria food. Everyone was happy with their choice......chicken salad sandwiches, ham and cheese sandwiches, burgers and meatloaf. Biggest hit was the spinach omelette. They do give good cookies after dinner.

Thank Kathleen598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017

Twenty five years ago, Barry and Denise Doyle opened Barry's Cafe and struggled for awhile to get it off the ground. However, during a severe ice storm that had shut down nearby interstates, a local volunteer firefighter called Barry and asked if he maybe supply some of the workers and first responders with some coffee. He happily took them coffee and sausage biscuits but discovered when he got there that there were over 100 people (firefighters, law enforcement and stranded motorists)! Barry never hesitated to help. He kept bring coffee and food, never asking to be paid? From then on, the word was out that Barry was the kind of big hearted person that would do anything in the world for you and his little cafe grew quickly. The 59 seat cafe expanded to 130 seats and is nearly always busy. Firefighters and first responders benefit from the Feed the Firefighters Foundation, set up by Barry to help provide food and beverages in an emergency. The walls and shelves are covered with memorabilia gifted from firefighters from all 50 states and 23 different countries. Oh... and the food is outrageously good too! Support these good people whenever you can.

1  Thank Doug P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry D, Owner at Barry's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Thanks so much for your glowing review, Doug!! That was a dangerous day for several people, including the First Responders and Law Enforcement, and of course the victims!!

Thanks for your patronage also Doug
Barry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

We have been going to Barry's for 25 years and always love it. Same owner that has high standards. Eggs, biscuits, hash browns and crispy bacon especially yum! They have great lunches too including healthy options. And all of the waitresses are friendly and attentive!

1  Thank stephaniesudano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry D, Owner at Barry's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Thanks for eating with us so frequently and for all 25 years we have been open! Please let us know if or when we disappoint you. We must have already or will be soon...it sounds like we are over due!!
Thanks again,
Barry
PS
If we haven't taken your picture yet, please ask Denise or one of the waitstaff so that we can enter you in our contest, and get to know your name as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017 via mobile

Barry's had a very cold beginning. In 1994 the area was hit by a huge ice storm. The owner provided hot food and coffee to the local firefighters during the emergency. From that beginning Barry's has grown into a local favorite. The walls are decorated with fire fighting equipment, helmets and patches from all over the state. If you are a firefighter you get special treatment. And the food is incredible.

1  Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry D, Owner at Barry's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Thanks so much Tim. I think I remember you and your wonderful family at the cafe. Your first impression made me think that you might be a pro firefighter also.

Thanks for stopping in Tim. Come back as soon as you can and please bring your beautiful family!

Barry



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Barry's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing