We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for date night, brunch not so much.”
Review of ORO

ORO
Reserve with OpenTable
ORO is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #49 of 1,630 Restaurants in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Wilmington
Description: ORO features generously portioned, sharable tapas-style comfort food re-interpreted for a modern palate.
Reviewed 25 September 2018 via mobile

My wife and I decided to try Oro for brunch. We thought it would be a good choice because we had really nice time there for dinner last year. This place is not a good value on the money that’s spent for brunch. All of the choices are a- la- carte. The best choice was the sausage wontons. Had we stopped there we would have rated higher. But things went down hill from there. I ordered the beer cheese burger. It was good. My wife ordered the savory creme brûlée. After one bite, my wife was weirded out by the taste and texture of this dish. Another thing that kind of weirded us out was the way the chef was looking at us intently. We were the only customers in the place(we were wondering what his problem was). Then we noticed that they were closing soon. We had made reservations at 1pm. We were unaware that they ended brunch at 2 & that they would be closed the rest of the day. He we known, we probably would have picked someplace else(Like BuKu). No offense to the chef but if he didn’t want to work past 1pm he shouldn’t have put himself on the schedule until closing. That wasn’t our fault. Anyway, my wife asked if she could swap it out for the breakfast in the islands dish. That was a no go as well. If we ever go back it would be for dinner only.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank GiacobbieR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2018

We haven't really eaten at small plates restaurants, so this was new to us. The food was very good with creative presentation. Service was excellent. Especially enjoyed the smoky ribs.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank birmanblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018

My daughter and I enjoyed a great lunch during Restaurant week. It is a small place with two levels, with tables and barstool seating. Some of the seating for two is quite close together. We had miso coated, corn-on-the-cob skewers and beets over arugula. I had a blackened chicken flatbread pizza and she had the shrimp and grits. Very small portions, but tasty. And this may have been more to do with restaurant week than their regular portions.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lydia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

I had the privilege of eating at Oro during Raleigh downtown restaurant week, and what a great choice. The vibe is very clean, modern, and “city”. There are lots of windows so you can people watch the street. The white chairs & dark wood tables gives the place a lux feel. Cory our server had a great personality and was quite knowledgeable about the menu, and the best part was the food was just as amazing as the surroundings and the service. We did the restaurant week menu, however the restaurant also serves food tapas style for sharing. This place wood be a great date night out or girls night out. Either way you won’t be disappointed.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank teliciaj2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

Went with a friend while we were in town. It’s pricey but the food and service were excellent. Since it’s tapas, 2 shared 3 dishes: the truffle Mac and cheese, the shrimp stuffed portobello, and the fish and chips tacos. LOVED the Mac and cheese! Nice truffle flavor and a gorgeous cream sauce. Very rich so plenty for 2. The shrimp stuffed portobello was one. So only a couple of bites per person. Very good but for the price would have liked a bit larger mushroom. The fish and chips tacos were good. 2 each with the “chips “ being fried little shoestring potatoes. The server was great!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank RestlessNative365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed ORO also viewed

 

Been to ORO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing