We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience from family-owned establishment”

Blind Squirrel Brewery & Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Plumtree
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Blind Squirrel Brewery & Lodge is an award winning craft brewery, 5 Bedroom Lodge, Restaurant, Winery, & Disc Golf Course. Our gift shop features branded clothing and merchandise, as well as unique gifts & pottery. Visit our facilities year round on Fri-Sun or plan a private event for any day of the week. We offer a fantastic pub style menu as well as creative appetizers and featured entrees. We specialize in weddings, corporate dinners, & other private functions throughout the year and can work with you to create the perfect menu for your event. Lodging ranges from $100-$130 a night and amenities include unrestricted access to the disc golf course and North Toe River.
Reviewed 3 September 2016

This place has so many options for the entire family to participate in. They are only open on the weekends, but if you're in the area you can easily spend the entire day here. Tubing trips last about 1 and a half hours and you end at the riverdeck where you can dry off and order food. Corn hole, disc golf, and the ring game keep everyone busy while sampling some of their delicious beers and great food. If you are looking for lodging options, this is the only place I have ever been to that has a campground and offers free shuttles to and from the Brewery. Colin and Joanna are the campground managers and they even let us borrow their own fishing pole so we could catch a trout from the stocked pond at the campground. Fishing not your thing? No problem because you can have the fresh trout po-boy from the restaurant!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Newlander828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NutsAboutBeer, Director of Sales at Blind Squirrel Brewery & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2016

Thank you for the shining review! We truly pride ourselves in being a Destination Microbrewery; we love for folks to come a spend a weekend with us camping, tubing, ziplining, and more! We look forward to having you out again. If ever in the area, be sure to check out our Burnsville, NC location for more open days throughout the week. CHEERS!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 70 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

Out of the way old lodge and brewery with campground on the Toe River in Plumtree. Google it for directions. Ate down on the river. The food was amazing and the pizza completely homemade as is everything. Beer choices endless and wait staff as nice as could be. This place may take u awhile to get to, but the scenery is magnificent all the way there. I've been going there for several years, and always bring new friends with me. Everyone is blown away by the view, the food and the service.......not to mention the glorious setting!!

Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 December 2016

The drive to Plumtree is always stunning! Our facilities could not be placed in a more beautiful location in Western North Carolina! You can never go wrong with the pizza-- or anything else on the menu! Come back anytime and spend a weekend with us!

Cheers,

Drew Henson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016

We stayed at the Blind Squirrel Brewery Campground this past Friday night as well as visited the brewery for our second time. The campground provides spacious sites and very nice/accessible restrooms. The grounds are also very pretty, we really enjoyed just walking around and viewing all it had to offer.The campgrounds hosts were very gracious and we were excited to learn that a shuttle runs from the campground to the brewery. We very much enjoyed our second meal at Blind Squirrel as well as our favorite beer there, Brown Nut Ale. All the staff at the brewery seem very friendly and approachable as well.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ambrosia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 December 2016

We take pride in our campground and always maintain the grounds to the highest degree! It is a pleasure to hear that you were able to enjoy your time here in beautiful Plumtree. Don't forget to give our Bed & Breakfast rooms a try the next time you visit!

Cheers!

Drew Henson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

If you go, and I think you really should, it doesn't take long to figure out that this place is awesome. When the weather is nice, lunch on the deck right by the river couldn't be better. We split a bunch of apps like the hummus and pretzel bites which were great and had a few rounds of their beer brewed right there. I'm kind of a beer snob and overall their beer was good, not great. The double IPA was my favorite.

Wth just enough beer in us to be dangerous, we went tubing and it was so much fun. There's a bad drought in the area and you could tell when you are in the water. We had to get unstuck a few times and agreed if there was 4-6 inches more water, it would be perfect. It takes about 90 minutes and you can bring beer with you! If you are in the area, you really will have a good time.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mkings12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 December 2016

The River Deck might just be our favorite spot in the house! With a great view of the Toe River, you just can't beat it. Come spend a relaxing weekend with us and give our zip-lines and disc golf a try!

Cheers,

Drew Henson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016

This place is a lot of fun. Stop by with your swim suit for some tubing down a river. Full Beer selection, and some really good home made ones. Food was also very good. Friendly owners and staff.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mark j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 December 2016

We always have fun here and we are glad you could too! All of our beers are made on location and it is great to hear you were able to try a few. Visit us again and try some of our other activities!

Cheers,

Drew Henson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blind Squirrel Brewery & Lodge also viewed

Burnsville, North Carolina Mountains
Linville Falls, North Carolina Mountains
 
Spruce Pine, North Carolina Mountains
Newland, North Carolina Mountains
 
Spruce Pine, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Blind Squirrel Brewery & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing