We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Our visit to the Old Fort Railroad Museum

I was expecting to learn abit about the railroad history here in Old Fort. But it was closed and... read more

Reviewed 26 October 2018
MHP8473
,
Rocky Mount, North Carolina
Railroad Museum

It was closed when we were there. There is one old caboose on site that you can walk through if you... read more

Reviewed 20 August 2015
JohnS816161
,
Sarasota, Florida
Read all 13 reviews
  
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveller rating
7
1
3
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
1
3
0
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 13 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2015

It was closed when we were there. There is one old caboose on site that you can walk through if you like.

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank JohnS816161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2015

Another interesting little museum in Old Fort complete with a retired caboose for you to explore. Experience the history of Old Fort's railroad with local lady to answer all your questions and tell you some of the most fascinating stories.

Date of experience: December 2014
1  Thank slm158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2014

The woman inside the visitor center was very kind and helpful. But we went hoping to see at least a small railroad museum. This is NOT a museum. They have a small 12x12 room with a few railroad artifacts and an old caboose out back....that's all. Do not tell your kids you're going to a railroad museum and go here. If you need some info on the town, stop in and take a look in the back room; otherwise I would not recommend this stop. I'm giving this a 1 because they've advertised it as a railroad museum. If it was billed as a visitor center I would have given a 3 or 4.

Date of experience: October 2014
Thank Bryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

If you love railroads, this is a nice place to stop. The facility was clean and easy to navigate. The staff was very attentative. Lots of local information also available. Handy parking. Small but very nicely done.

Date of experience: May 2014
2  Thank vacivilwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

This is a small but pleasant museum and I like the fact it is actually in the old depot. I only rated it average because in itself it would not justify a lot of time or gas money. If you are in the area or just a nearby day trip, this museum, arrowhead and the other museum would make a pleasant half day or less detour. Leaving downtown on 70 East there are few lovely old homes which are always landscaped or seasonally decorated, but very quickly you are out of town and into the country.

Date of experience: May 2013
Thank NorthCarolinaViolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews