We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again, satisfied again.”
Review of Crema Brew

Crema Brew
Ranked #3 of 22 Quick Bites in New Bern
Price range: US$4 - US$10
Description: The coffeehouse Crema Brew opened in February 2019, serving fair trade organic coffees, hand-pressed pies, with old-world ambiance. Baked goods include pies, muffins, coffee cakes, cinnamon rolls, breads, bars and cookies. Lunch options include sandwiches and soups. Photos by Emily A Saunders, used by permission
Restaurant details
Description: The coffeehouse Crema Brew opened in February 2019, serving fair trade organic coffees, hand-pressed pies, with old-world ambiance. Baked goods include pies, muffins, coffee cakes, cinnamon rolls, breads, bars and cookies. Lunch options include sandwiches and soups. Photos by Emily A Saunders, used by permission
Reviewed 25 September 2020

We like returning to Crema Brew, and are glad that they are weathering the storm. Today we got a Heavenly Chicken Salad, Thai Chicken and Rice Soup with bread, a mocha frappe, and a vanilla bean frappe. We appreciate the eco-friendly paper straws that maintain their form, though we took the plastic frappe cups and plastic utensils home to re-use, or recycle. The food was prepared efficiently and quickly by friendly staff, and we chose to dine-in, though there's plenty of room outside. COVID guidelines are in place here. Tasty food, we'll be back. We've had the baked good before, though not today, and they are really yummy. Park on the street, or in an adjacent parking lot. We used a gift card today for payment. They have a s welcoming atmosphere.

Date of visit: September 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Russell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoardingPass260313, Owner at Crema Brew, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2020

Thank you kindly, Mr. Russell, for leaving us a kind review. We really appreciate your taking the time to share your recommendation. Have a blessed day!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2020 via mobile

We enjoyed the outdoor cafe for a quick brunch. All coffee reports were good. They were out of ham causing egg and cheese bagelwiches to be the meal. They did have some good looking bakery items though. All in all we enjoyed our little meal in a cozy neighborhood.

Date of visit: June 2020
Thank debora_w_sm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoardingPass260313, Owner at Crema Brew, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2020

Thank you, Ms. Debora, for coming into Crema Brew. We are so sorry that we are out of ham; it is due to Sysco not being able to deliver it presently (due to the vendor being shut down due to covid). We anticipate getting our ham back as soon as we can. Thank you for understanding during this anything but normal time-period!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2020 via mobile

We have visited Crema Brew since they opened downtown. I was so exited to have an amazing coffee shop in one of my favorite towns. The coffee is incredible and they offer an extensive menu. We have had the coffees, teas (both hot and iced) as well as the baked goods. If you are a true coffee fan, you will instantly know you are in the right place.
Please consider going in and supporting local as opposed to the chains up the road. Crema Brew is better in all ways.
The staff is so sweet and know what they are doing. I hope they continue to thrive here. Thank you for all you do!

Date of visit: May 2020
Thank kappycarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoardingPass260313, Owner at Crema Brew, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2020

Thank you, Ms. Kathy, for your kind recommendation of our shop...it is so very appreciated and encouraging! We hope to continue serving each of you our best!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2020

We have visited many times and never been disappointed. The owners and workers are amazing.....always a smile and encouraging word. We have had different teas, coffees and iced drinks....all done to perfection. Everything we have tried in the bake shop is delicious!, Highly recommend.

Date of visit: April 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wendylou252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoardingPass260313, Owner at Crema Brew, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2020

Thank you so much, Ms. Wendy, for your kind words of affirmation. It is very appreciated at all times, but especially now. Blessings on you and yours!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2020

Our first time here for my wife, and me, but definitely not the last! Thanks to Crema Brew for staying open without curtailing hours during the Caronavirus debacle. Despite no indoor dining, there was regular traffic. People love this place! We waited until Friday to use my wife's gift card because she wanted to try the Soup of the Day - Clam Chowder, and it did not disappoint! We both had the Heavenly Chicken Salad sandwich on homemade bread, plus I had a mocha frappe, and shoo fly pie. My wife also had a bag of chips. The Heavenly Chicken Salad lived up to it's name. Not over-mayonized so you could actually taste it, and the fresh cut grapes in it were a sweet surprise. Cherry tomatoes on the side are a nice touch, too. The Shoo Fly Pie was better than my own, which is soupier, while Crema Brew's is superior. The mocha frappe... where to I begin? It was so good that I licked the inside of the rim after slurping out every last droplet with the eco-friendly sturdy paper straw. It came with whipped cream on the top, and a circular drizzle of chocolate sauce on that. In addition to the eco-friendly straws, there is no styrofoam, and there's a bike stand for bicyclists. The staff is genuinely friendly, and works well together. The interior and exterior are both very clean. Like most other eateries, no indoor eating at this time, BUT there is outdoor eating at the Crema Brew-provided tables and chairs. No smoking at the tables. How pleasant! Being such a nice day, we ate outside, enjoying the relaxing outdoor dining option after waiting a very short time inside to pick up our order in eco-friendly packaging. Help yourself to sturdy plastic utensils (we brought ours home for further use) and condiments near the take-out area. Conveniently located at a popular intersection, there is parking on three sides, both street, and a lot. Our food was SO good that we went back inside a second time to check out the bakery products. We ended up getting three cookies, and a lemon bar for us, and out two children who are taking school from home. I sent a picture of a lemon bar to my daughter and asked if she'd liked one. "Yes!" was the immediate answer. Who could resist that picture?? We also bought chocolate chip cookies for my son and me, and a grandma's cookie for my wife. They're huge. Each one was individually packed is it's own mini-bag, and all four were put in an paper bag. None were mushed, or mishandled. All arrived home intact. All food preperation here is done with love and care. A calm, yet vibrant atmosphere. Avail yourself of the on-site bakery for larger order takeouts. Call ahead, pick up, take home (or work if you want to be more popular!), and enjoy. No steps, so a wheelchair can make it to the door, but someone will have to open it by hand. Cash, or credit. Find them on facebook. Checkers can be played in one of the dining areas.

Date of visit: March 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Russell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoardingPass260313, Owner at Crema Brew, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2020

What an over-the-top response...wowzer!!!! Very appreciated and grateful for your taking the time to leave such a generous review!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crema Brew also viewed

New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Crema Brew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
Ireland
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.