We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Owens' Motel(Nags Head)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Sea Foam Motel(Nags Head)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Tar Heel Motel(Nags Head)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Islander Motel(Nags Head)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Heron Motel(Nags Head)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Surf Side Hotel(Nags Head)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
JP Cottages(Nags Head)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (671)
Filter reviews
671 results
Traveller rating
279
170
88
65
69
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
279
170
88
65
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront deskocean frontthe outer banksroom was cleanwaffleshot breakfastfree breakfastbiscuits and gravycleaning staffstaff was very friendlygreat oceanoff seasonbeach accessfamily vacationnorth carolinajennette's pierthird floor
Filter
Updating list...
497 - 502 of 671 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2012

Nice ocean views even from the cheaper side on the 6th floor.
Lobby and hallways are pretty drab and the place just seems beat up.
Room was clean but has seen better days.
Staff was friendly but not overly accomodating.
Typical roadside hotel breakfast with old fruit and stale muffins.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelerz20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Stayed at this facility several times and never had a bad experience. Property is maintained and any service request is promptly responded to. Just stayed recently after the Sandy storm and had a very enjoyable stay. The storm had thrown sand everywhere. We love the ocean-front view and made a request to have the outside window cleaned just a little so we could get an even better view. After making the request at the front desk, within literally minutes the Assistant General Manager, Martha, was at the dooor with windex and rags in hand. Shortly after that, the maintenance staffer, CD, noticed the cleaning project and immediately pitched in as well. They cleaned the outside windows and chairs. Though we certainly didn't expect the manager to handle this task, it shows you the level of customer service the staff at this site is willing to go to in order to make your stay a positive experience. It's the little things that can take you over the top. Thinks you will enjoy you stay at this facility.

Thank you Comfort Inn-South Oceanfront Staff

Room Tip: Firth Floor Ocean Front gives you a marvelous view
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Stayed at this location as center of planned photography trip. All went well except on the last day when heat went out in the main room of the suite. Being a Sunday, we knew maintenance would probably have to be called in and the front desk indicated they would do so. After a 2 hr wait, called the desk to determine status. New shift and apparently previous one had failed to make the call. New clerk said it could be several hours after which, knowing we would check out the next day told them to forget it. Thank goodness for a second room w/ heat as it gets mighty cold on Outer Banks beaches in November. Other then that, hotel was what we expected and needed. Hotel staff of Destini on the desk and Ashley the manager were superb and customer oriented as you would hope for.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank batterup55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matti4747, Manager at Comfort Inn South Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. I am so sorry for the lack of follow-up during your stay. We strive to go beyond your expectation and this was not the standard we have set for ourselves.

Thank you for staying with us and bringing the problem to our attention. We try to be proactive when the summer season ends and we start going into the cooler months by inspecting all ac/heater units. However, I know you can understand about mechanical issues, but the lack of attention you received when you first contacted us is not the accepted guest service qualities we desire at this property.

We hope you will give us another opportunity to show how exceptional guest service you can receive the next time you travel to the Outer Banks. Please contact me personally the next time you visit.

Sincerely,

Martha Brake, Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Stayed at this hotel in November. It is oceanfront. Rooms with an ocean view are the best. Try to avoid the lower floors if possible since the dining area is on the second floor with an outdoor deck, which is right below the balconies.
Good service, friendly staff.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken_O59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

It smells when you enter. That's it for me. Even though I paid a rate negotiated through a rate comparison website, it was still not worth the monies. Campground would have been better.

But to be fair, pros are: location (right on the beach), breakfast being 1 step up from bagels+coffee, and nice service.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
1  Thank kamil123448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matti4747, Manager at Comfort Inn South Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2012

Good Day,

We appreciate your response and I do apologize for the smell as you entered the hotel. I am not sure of the exact date you stayed at our property in October. We are in the midst of painting our rooms and soon to be doing some renovations. Thank you again for your comments and staying with us, we hope you will give us the opportunity again to exceed your expectations.

Regards,

M Brake, Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews