We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Sanctuary”
other travellers have booked this property
Current photo of back of the house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Current photo of back of the house
Older photo of back of house showing more of the house Front of house in spring
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
Current photo of back of the house
Older photo of back of house showing more of the house
Front of house in spring
Back of house
Back deck
Swing overlooking bass pond
Living room w/22 ft vaulted ceiling
400 ft of year-round rushing creek.
Dining area in open great room area w/vaulted ceiling, family room and kitchen area
Kitchen w/Hickory cabinets and island counter
Kitchen area
2nd master bedroom w/patio doors overlooking pond
1st master bedroom
2nd patio bedroom bathroom with standing shower
2nd patio bedroom bathroom
master bathroom in great room area
Loft daybed sleeps two, upgraded matresses
Family room off garage with sofa and loveseat
family room w/52' HD Tv
22 ft high vaulted ceiling in Living Room
Deer head over gas fireplace
Loft view of living room windows and ceiling
Table and Chairs under the canopy of the deck
Winter view of yard
Winter view of yard to barn area  - yes it's even beautiful in the snow
Canoe for fishing on the pond
Fall scene of adjoining acreage in the Fall
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Murphy, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Laura A
Lockhart
2 reviews
“Lovely Sanctuary”
Reviewed 19 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Mary,

Thank you so much for allowing us to stay at the chalet. It is so peaceful and refreshing. The house is very nice and the location is great: away from the noise of town but close enough for all the necessary conveniences. We really enjoyed the creek and sounds of nature.

Thank you again for sharing your lovely sanctuary.

The Cummings

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2017
Thank you for an honest and realistic review of the property and house. You were great renters and are welcome to come back any times. Mary Yvonne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M
Ocala, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not what we thought it was going to be”
Reviewed 2 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

My family was very disappointed with the cabin, so much so that we stayed one night and left the next morning. Basically throwing the money we spent on renting it that week away, doubt we'll be compensated for it, but too much went wrong with it that we just couldn't stay. First problem was the narrow gravel dirt road leading to the house. Looked like only one car could drive on it at a time or risk falling off the side. Second problem was the cabin is hard to find. WE knew the number and to look for a sign in front of the driveway. Well, a tree or large bush has grown over it, covering the name and most of the number. We passed the place once before noticing the number. Third problem was the yard didn't look like it had been mowed in a week. Grass was thick, bushes not trimmed and the deck flowers that where shown in the pictures all dead. About the pictures. I think the ones shown on the site were taken when she first got the cabin. To the right side of the cabin is a small muddy pond. On the other side of the cabin is a house with 2 large dogs that will charge at their fence barking if they see you. Another problem was the air condition did not work on the side of the house with the TV and garage. The owner said she would try to have someone in on Monday. The Wi-Fi was also an issue. From what the owner said it's on a limited plan of 10G a month and after that it's slow to the point of not working. That's what happened to us. We tried to use a laptop but pages took forever to load, if at all. Same thing happened to IPad. Another issue was that we found the rug in the hall bedroom's closet was soaked with water. It had just finished raining and the water seemed to come up from under the floor.

I'm sure this is a nice place for some but me and my family where turned off by all the problems.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2017
This review does not represent my rental at all. Yes, we had a lot of rain for three weeks. There was one corner of the bedroom closet where the water had collected from overflowed gutters on the house and had seeped in a little. This had not happened for 16 years.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabrielle...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great for families and dogs ”
Reviewed 25 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

First of all we have 2 rescue dogs and traveling without them is not an option. It can be difficult to find a place that can accommodate not only are dogs but where I could also bring my parents.
The property is gorgeous and private. We especially enjoyed the use of the back deck where we would enjoy our coffee or glass of wine. The stream in the backyard also provide great ambiance.
The backyard was big enough so we can run around and play with our dogs.
Inside was comfortable and we especially liked the two seating areas so while some were watching TV others can enjoy a quiet conversation. The large kitchen made it easy for me to prepare meals.
We found that it was easy to get to both downtown Murphy and downtown Blue Ridge Georgia. Also being close to 60 made it easy to get to most of our destinations including whitewater rafting and zip-lining outings.
I have to say this is one of the few places we're even if it rained all week I would still be able to have a relaxing time and not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway!”
Reviewed 3 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Beautiful quiet and private log chalet located on well maintained gravel road. Kitchen fully stocked for cooking and serving. Just bring food. Large refrig. with ice maker and water dispenser. Large seating area for watching TV and visiting with family and friends. Two generous master bedrooms with bathrooms. Also large loft with daybed. Numerous glass doors and windows for viewing beautiful landscape and wildlife. Great place to unwind!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2017
Now this review is a true picture of my place and everyone who has stayed there feels like these nice people did. They were great renters and are welcome back at any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 May 2017
Isnt it strange that after all 5 star reviews, you get one like this? There are plenty towels and blankets - some are stored upstairs in the loft over the blanket frame, some are in a blanket cedar chest in the master bedroom. There are xtra sheets, etc on the shelves in the master closet. If your family uses all the towels, that is what the washer and dryer are for. unfortunately, this family may have been older people who had no experience in electronic things. or how a gas fireplace works. I am always easy to contact and always answer promptly about any questions regarding the house and have a folder available with instructions on everything. The second bedroom on the ground floor has its own enclosed bathroom that is part of the bedroom with the door that opens out to the living room. There is NO privacy issue here. This was for my elderly mother that lived me for years. If someone needs to use this bathroom they just need to ask anyone else in the bedroom to leave, close the door to the living room and BINGO - PRIVACY. And most people love the few family things I have there - they say it's nice to see it is a beautiful family house and makes them feel like they are visiting instead of renting. All in all, you cant please everyone. And this is a prime example. This house has everything anyone could want, but unfortunately if you don't know how to work things it can be frustrating.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$100
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing