We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a relaxing time !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Skyline Village Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Moseley, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a relaxing time !”
Reviewed 18 August 2011

The Inn is just what we were hoping for, a quiet spot, beautiful views, downhome atmosphere , freindly caring owners of the Inn helping wherever needed. Motorcycle riding in the Mountains has always been relaxing, and so enjoyable. The Inn at Skyline Villlage was just the ticket,,, away from the norm , of the rat race world. My wife and I had a wonderful time,as did our freinds from Georgia. Mike , the owner was great, We had a huge steak one night that was excellent , wife had salmon, also excellent. We will look forward to visiting the Skyline Village Inn & Cavern Tavern again. Thanks

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank denniscrostic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    52
    11
    8
    8
See reviews for
41
81
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Water Valley, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We stayed six nights and loved it. The view was beautiful and anytime I had a question they knew who I was. The sevice was very good. I loved the hardwood floors and the balcony. It was so nice to sit there and enjoy the view late in the afternoon. I even loved the dog who helped the guy cleaning the room.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Based on the reviews and photographs of this establishment online, we knew that it would be adequate for a one-night stay following a day of hiking on Grandfather Mountain. We wanted not much more than just a place to enjoy a simple meal and rest our feet and not immediately face a two-and-a-half hour drive back home. What we found instead was an inn of such quality and charm that it will see many return visits from us.

The rooms were unique and comfortable, with a good mix of modern amenities and classic hand-hewn design. What more could one require from a room besides a/c, heat, ceiling fans, cable tv with DVD player, mini fridge, full bathroom, etc.? Not to mention the awe-inspiring views from the balconies.

The food served at the restaurant was yet another astonishing accent to our stay. We've eaten at fine dining establishments all up and down the East Coast and our honeymoon dinner was on a mountain top overlooking downtown Vancouver, BC, Canada. Our meal at Skyline was comparable to some of the best meals we've eaten anywhere. The view from the deck overlooking the Catawba Valley is quite grand as well.

The Cavern Tavern has an incredibly wide selection of beer and wine. Mike helped us to select some that we had never tried ( a double chocolate stout and some Banana Bread Beer ) and even gave us a third frosty mug and recommended that we mix the two to make our own black and tan. Lynn spent some time locating an errant bottle of Jägermeister when she could have just told us that they were out.

Mike and Lynn made us and our dog feel very welcome during the entire duration of our stay. They were quite congenial and never hesitated to stop their busy routines and answer any questions posed by us or anyone. They love what they do and it definitely shows. Most places are just adequate for getting some sleep between Point A and Point B but Skyline Village Inn and Cavern Tavern is something much much more. I am already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank parris43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

My son and I stayed here on a short Summer trip to his college in a nearby town. I believe strongly in supporting businesses that are family owned and operated. The innkeepers were very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and had been recently remodeled, as was its en-suite bathroom. The beds were comfortable. Cable and free wireless internet were welcome after a day on the road. The Inn is only feet from the Blue Ridge Parkway, a pretty rare thing. The town is easy to reach from other local destinations. The building is built against the mountainside, so travelers with mobility issues will find the third floor rooms are easily accessible from the back parking lot, with no steps to negotiate. The hotel is non-smoking and pet-friendly, and though I have mild pet-dander allergies, I didn't have any trouble there. We didn't go to the restaurant because we had already eaten, and we were in a hurry the next morning and did not go for the breakfast, so I cannot comment there. I never sleep well in any hotel, despite decades of traveling for work. If you are looking for a boring, cookie-cutter hotel experience this is not the place for you, but if you want something instead with charm, something locally-owned and operated, a place with friendly, personal service, a place with an interesting building and the charm of yesterday, then try this place. We will be back for sure.
MDS - Columbia SC

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown,Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We took a little overnight trip to Little Switzerland NC.We booked rooms at the Skyline Inn.Mike and the whole crew was excellent hosts.Anything we needed they had.Cooled or fridge in the rooms,Best selection of beer and wine around.But I'll tell you this The Philly cheese steak sandwich was the best I have ever had.All the food was excellent.Mike the owner can fill ya in on some good history of the Inn.Stay out on the balcony and look at the scenery its wonderful.I will say this the breakfast is some danish and cereal but for free you cant complain.if you want a hot breakfast you will have to go elsewhere.overall stay was excellent and you will not find this kind of hospitality at any other hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a balcony room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roadsofa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Switzerland
16.3 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 5 in Marion
129 reviews
23.3 km away
Hampton Inn Marion
Hampton Inn Marion
#1 of 5 in Marion
560 reviews
37.4 km away
Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.1 km away
The Inn At Glen Alpine
The Inn At Glen Alpine
#1 of 1 in Glen Alpine
92 reviews
24.2 km away
Carolina Country Inn
Carolina Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Burnsville
91 reviews
8.1 km away
Springmaid Mountain
Springmaid Mountain
#2 of 5 in Spruce Pine
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skyline Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skyline Village Inn

Property: Skyline Village Inn
Address: 12255 NC Hwy. 226A, Milepost 331, Between Little Switzerland and Spruce Pine, Little Switzerland, NC 28777
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Little Switzerland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Little Switzerland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Skyline Village Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Milepost 331 on the Blue Ridge Parkway, halfway between Asheville and Blowing Rock/ Boone. Just 25 miles north of Mt. Mitchell and 25 miles south of Grandfather Mountain. We are motorcycle friendly and, in fact we rent Dual Sport Motorcycles. We are also Pet friendly. We are perched high on top of the Blue Ridge adjacent to the Parkway and only 200 feet from the Parkway ramp at the NC226 exit. We have 16 affordable rooms with a balcony that runs the length of the building overlooking the Catawba Valley and surrounding mountains. We have covered motorcycle parking as well as ground floor access to all 3 floors. The building has been renovated with new plumbing, electrical and refinished red oak floors. There is some very unique wood paneling made from 22 varieties of native wood. We serve guests only in the restaurant with an excellent beer and wine selection for on and off premises. Our gift shop has some unique rocks, gems and minerals, jewelry and Diamondback NC226A souvenirs and T-shirts. We pride ourselves on customer focus and hospitality. Come see us at the Skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Skyline Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skyline Village Inn And Cavern Tavern
Skyline Village Inn & Cavern Tavern Hotel Little Switzerland
Skyline Village Hotel Cavern Tavern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing