We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but pricey”

Grandfather Mountain
Ranked #2 of 16 things to do in Linville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Grandfather Mountain’s pristine scenery and sweeping vistas rejuvenate mind and spirit. At an elevation of 5,946 feet, Grandfather is recognized as one of the world’s most diverse nature preserves. Be exhilarated by the altitude and panoramic views from the Mile High Swinging Bridge; stand eye-to-eye with bears, cougars and otters in natural habitats. Dine in the restaurant or find a scenic picnic spot, browse the nature museum, wander the trails, go behind the scenes of the animal habitats, visit with knowledgeable naturalists, and stop for a treat at the fudge shop. Fill your day with family memories at place where wonders never cease.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

The bridge and animals are great! The options for picnics are endless. To get through the gate expect long lines and high prices.

Thank Beltz12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank R, Public Relations Manager at Grandfather Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2018

Thanks for writing! I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your time on the mountain. Regarding the long lines, it would appear you visited during one of our busiest times of year -- April Dollar Days. For the month of April, we offer discounted admission to local residents, meaning the lines can grow rather long this time of year. I assure you, that is not always the case, and I do apologize for the inconvenience.

As for our prices, you may be interested to know that we're a nonprofit organization, with a mission of inspiring conservation of the natural world. As such, all of our funding is derived from admission, souvenir sales, food and beverage sales, and donations, and every single dollar goes right back into maintaining and preserving the mountain for future generations. We do, however, offer numerous discounts, such as AAA, military, senior citizen, etc., which can apply to every member of one's party.

Again, thank you for the great review, and we look forward to having you and yours back on the mountain -- maybe for another picnic. ;-)

Sincerely,
Frank Ruggiero
Director of Marketing & Communications
Grandfather Mountain Stewardship Foundation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,845)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"swinging bridge"
in 456 reviews
"mile high bridge"
in 188 reviews
"fudge shop"
in 127 reviews
"animal habitats"
in 108 reviews
"nature museum"
in 79 reviews
"across the bridge"
in 54 reviews
"highland games"
in 29 reviews
"forrest gump"
in 31 reviews
"high winds"
in 31 reviews
"per adult"
in 58 reviews
"hiking trails"
in 85 reviews
"black rock"
in 22 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 59 reviews
"afraid of heights"
in 48 reviews
"bald eagles"
in 32 reviews
"audio cd"
in 51 reviews
"black beans"
in 56 reviews
Filter

54 - 58 of 1,845 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We didn’t know anything about Grandfather Mountain but we are sure glad we found it! The swinging bridge will leave you breathless if the wind doesn’t blow you over first. We also climbed Grandfather Track to witness some outstanding views of the country and the hiking was super.

Thank suekd2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

Took us two hours to drive there only to find out that they charge $20 a person admission! Appearently the State of NC is broke and needs to make a fortune at their State Parks!!! Chimney Rock was $15 /person too! Just not worthy of those fees!!! We we're planning a trip back to NC, but never coming back to this tourist trap!!! What shame!

1  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank R, Public Relations Manager at Grandfather Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Thanks for writing, although I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your visit. You are, however, mistaken. We are not a state park, but rather a privately owned, nonprofit nature park, with a mission of inspiring conservation of the natural world. We openly advertise our rates on our website, and we're more than happy to answer any questions via phone, email or social media before our guests make the trip.

There is a Grandfather Mountain State Park, which is located adjacent to us. That park is, in fact, free to visit, but consists only of hiking trails — some of the finest in the Southeast.

The nature park, on the other hand, is home to the world-famous Mile High Swinging Bridge, which offers unparalleled views of the entire Western North Carolina High Country, environmental wildlife habitats (home to rescued black bears, river otters, cougars, bald eagles and elk), access to more than 12 miles of hiking trails, more than a hundred picnic areas, a full restaurant, sustainable fudge shop, Nature Museum, documentary auditorium, two gifts shops, daily nature programs, a Junior Ranger program for kids, special events and much more, all included with admission. In fact, many folks will visit one day, only to come back another that same week for a whole new experience.

As you can imagine, the costs associated with operating such a sizable park can be substantial. Being a nonprofit organization, all our funding comes from admission, souvenir sales, food and beverage sales, and donations, and all of that goes directly back into the mountain, ensuring that it's preserved for generations to come.

Again, I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your visit, but I do hope you and yours will come again to enjoy all the mountain has to offer.

Sincerely,
Frank Ruggiero
Director of Marketing & Communications
Grandfather Mountain Stewardship Foundation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

My second trip to grandfather mountain. I'm a flat lander at heart, but the scenes from the drive up, and upon reaching the top are beautiful. We traveled with 6 grandchildren, who were all excited to walk the mile high bridge on the mountain.

Thank Marian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank R, Public Relations Manager at Grandfather Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Thank you for the wonderful review! I'm glad to hear you and your family had such a fun time on the mountain. Maybe you're mountain folk at heart, after all. We look forward to seeing you all again!

Sincerely,
Frank Ruggiero
Director of Marketing & Communications
Grandfather Mountain Stewardship Foundation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

Nice hike over the famous mile high swinging suspension bridge. I would alot at least 3.5 hours or more to take full advantage of all the park has to offer. They charge you by the passenger as your car enters the park, and prices were a little steep. Animal habitat on site is worth checking out, too, especially if you have animal loving kids - we saw cougars, elk, otter, and bald eagles.

Thank TripleG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank R, Public Relations Manager at Grandfather Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Thank you for the great review! I'm glad to hear you all enjoyed our visit. Yes, we recommend that our guests spend a minimum of three hours in the park, but many folks easily end up spending an entire day — and returning again for a whole new experience.

Thanks again, and we look forward to seeing you and yours back on the mountain.

Sincerely,
Frank Ruggiero
Director of Marketing & Communications
Grandfather Mountain Stewardship Foundation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grandfather Mountain also viewed

Linville, North Carolina Mountains
Linville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Linville Falls, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Grandfather Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing