We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
61
24
10
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
61
24
10
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lakeside dining pimento cheese sandwich groomed grounds tired and in need beautiful lake view walking trails heated bathroom floors glass of champagne the general manager turn down service steak special main building tennis firestone mansion fireplace property
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 103 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2020 via mobile

Made reservations for dinner here during restaurant week.
Enjoyed very much.
Owner greeted us as we came in, even thought they were not open yet.
He engaged in great conversation about the area, breweries, wine etc. very enjoyable.
Even though they had a set menu with different choices all four of us ordered the Crab Cakes which were very enjoyable. They served us TWO very Large crab cakes.
We tried four different beers and a couple glasses of wine.
Very nice overall dinner.
We will return.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Pepzman1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2020 via mobile

We had a reservation for six at 7:00 PM. The service team was completely overwhelmed. It took 50 minutes for cocktails to get to our table....and the last drink arrived only after a private conversation with a manager. Our server was kind but lacked experience and ability. We asked for our check to be paid using a Greystone gift card and then split between two cards. It took another thirty minutes to get the check resolved. Our food was delicious and they were very helpful for one guest with food allergies. Our check was over $500 with tip and really, service should be much better. No one ever even apologized for the incompetence.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank DME312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willcox1898, Manager at The Greystone Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2020

Thank you for choosing to dine with us and apologize that your experience was not up to our standards and your expectations. We strive to offer the highest quality of food with personalized service to our guests and after speaking to our team that evening, we fell short. We have new procedures in place to handle gift cards which should not have been an issue in the first place. We have also implemented a retraining program so that our servers can provide the exemplary service that our guests would expect from The Greystone Restaurant. We hope that you will give us a second chance to win your trust in us to execute the outstanding service that you deserve when dining with us.

Please expect a phone call from us so that we can discuss this in more detail.

Our Apologies again,

Christian
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2019

The pictures on the Inn's website are very misleading. The picture of a King Premium shows a living room with a massive stone fireplace, complete with sofa, coffee table, chair and side tables. My King Premium was half the size with one cramped side chair squeezed in. Very disappointing. I blame management. The staff were very friendly and accommodating.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NoGreystone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoPlaces62007259661, General Manager at The Greystone Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2019

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write this review. We always appreciate our customer feedback and suggestions and we take them to heart. We are truly disappointed and apologize that we did not exceed your expectations and that you were disappointed with your room. We did try and compensate that disappointment for you by upgrading you at no additional cost to one of our Hillmont suites. The Greystone is a boutique hotel and each room in the Mansion is unique. We want all of our customers to be overwhelmed and of course wanting to come back. I truly hope that you will consider visiting us again and give us the opportunity to deliver a WOW experience. Please contact me personally if I may be of any assistance to you in anyway.

Kind Regards,
Paulette Todd
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2019

We just spent a couple of days here to celebrate Thanksgiving. It was just lovely. The restaurant was excellent. Views around the property are gorgeous and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. Excellent place.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dianedd2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoPlaces62007259661, Manager at The Greystone Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2019

Thank you for your wonderful review and for spending Thanksgiving with us! I am so pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your Greystone experience! I hope that you will be returning again very soon and please let me know if there is anything I can assist you with.

Warm regards,
Paulette Todd
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2019 via mobile

First let me acknowledge that everyone who works at the Inn are nice, courteous and helpful from the valet guys to the waitresses. The bartenders are awesome. The facilities are terrific and upgraded, and the location is beautiful. The main drawback is the quality of the food. Simply put, it was mediocre at best. Even though it was not our original plan to leave the property for dinning, we had to do it given what we encountered. We hope that the Inn will figure this out and become even more successful in the future. We had a couple of other minor issues, but nothing that will keep us from going back, other than the food.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Way2Cheap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoPlaces62007259661, Manager at The Greystone Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2019

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for writing this review. Our customer feedback is vitally important to us. I am pleased that you found our staff courteous and helpful. I will make sure that I pass on your compliments to our bartenders.

I am concerned that your dining experience at The Greystone was not positive and would like to discuss your experience so that we can pin point some areas that were disappointing and apologize appropriately. We pride ourselves on the quality of food and service that we deliver which is why it is so important to have guests like you to take time out of their day to let us know how we are doing ... both good and bad. Without this feedback, we are unable to continue to make improvements to assure our guest's experience live up to our standards and exceed their expectations.

Kind regards,
Paulette Todd
General Manager
ptodd@greystoneinn.com
828-966-4700

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews