We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Avoid This Place” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lake Lure
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Avoid This Place”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

There must be a better option than this!! We attended an early morning function here so decide to stay to save on travel time in the a.m. Big mistake. Very unappealing overpriced room and surley staff. Any charm was completely lost on me as nothing more than dusty knick knacks. Algae filled pool. Only positive was the decent restaurant.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jetlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    187
    69
    50
    34
See reviews for
212
271
14
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

I came to the Inn for dinner. Had the trout and it was fabulous. Creme brulee was also excellent. The dining room is beautifully decorated and has a working fireplace. Lots of ambience. I can't imagine anyone not loving the dinner experience here. I felt like it was a rare treat and it was reasonably priced. The staff was incredible. They even took me on a quick tour while I was waiting for dinner.

The hotel lobby area wouldn't be for everyone. It initially felt claustrophobic to me with all the historical items. However, there are incredible statues and rare music boxes that make this hotel well worth visiting.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveLife75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

Beautiful hotel full of history! I love historic places and this place definitely has a story!! I stayed in Baby's Bungalow and it was so cozy!!! Updated with tile, perfect size, convenient kitchenette, and a very comfy bed!!! They allowed pets so we felt right at home sitting in the rocking chairs on the front porch watching the dogs play and looking at the beautiful lake!
Upon arriving the front desk staff was less than friendly. I asked a few questions about the history and was referred to a book for sale in the gift shop and given no other assistance.
Veranda (restaurant in the main hotel) was great!! We were the first to arrive and they turned on the fireplace for us and welcomed us with open arms. The decor was amazing and made me think of all that must have gone on here in the 1920's. Our waitress, Shae was top notch-she must have training in fine dining!!! VERY professional!!! Food was amazing I took her recommendation and ordered the tuna----ahhhh sooo good!!!
I also visited the spa only for a manicure and pedicure but I received great service. The spa is decorated beautifully and the staff is great. Ashley provided my services-she is very young but very professional and what a great head she has on her shoulders...we should see great things from her!!! I will most certainly go back and receive other services! I look forward to it!

Room Tip: the cabins are worth the extra money!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaA1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

WOW!!! What a find! We came across this place by accident when our booked reservation at another hotel didn't have handicap accessibility and they were able to accommodate us at a moment's notice. The lobby is grand! Full of history with antiques and photographs of bygone days everywhere. The young lady at the desk was very friendly and accommodating. The surroundings are breathtaking with the lake and the mountains and trees of all colors in all directions. There is a nice cafe next door to the hotel that served great breakfasts at a great price. The waitresses at the cafe were extremely friendly and very helpful. Overall, we had a very positive experience at Lake Lure and would recommend it to all those who want to step back in time!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Muckross24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

We stayed at Johnny's Cabin as part of 'Deep South Honeymoon Road Trip' and being an avid Dirty Dancing fan, I decided to treat us. We were really lucky and were able to book with less than 24 hours notice. The cabin was pretty pricey but not excessive but was TOTALLY worth it! This cabin was absolutely beautiful and the bathroom left me speechless! I am a 'shower person' but even I couldn't pass up the opportunity for a chill-out in that bathroom! We couldn't afford to stay more than one night but that was all we needed for the 'Johnny's Cabin' experience.

Room Tip: Johnny's Cabin was amazing!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaM81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Lure
1.5 km away
Carter Lodge
Carter Lodge
#2 of 3 in Chimney Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
24.7 km away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
7.2 km away
Fox Run Resort
Fox Run Resort
#3 of 5 in Lake Lure
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
3.4 km away
The Lodge on Lake Lure
The Lodge on Lake Lure
#1 of 3 in Lake Lure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
3.3 km away
The Esmeralda Inn
The Esmeralda Inn
#1 of 3 in Chimney Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa

Property: The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
Address: 2771 Memorial Hwy, Lake Lure, NC 28746-6320
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Lake Lure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lake Lure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Blue Ridge Mtns, The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa is a haven of peace and tranquility. Our spectacular setting has long been a favorite for weddings, banquets, conferences and retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 1927 Lake Lure Hotel Lake Lure
Lake Lure Inn
1927 Hotel Lake Lure
1927 Lake Lure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing