We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, but not much to do.”
Review of Fox Run Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fox Run Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lake Lure
Reviewed 29 July 2017

We stayed here for a long weekend with another couple. I was disappointed at how expensive boat rentals from the resort were. We tried to book a pontoon from a local place on the way to town, but they didn't have any left. You should bring your own floats for the pool and lake also because it is $6 for a cheap tube at the pool and you can't go in the lazy river part without one. There was also just one restaurant, other than the cabana down by the lake. That was ice-cream and some snack type stuff only. The restaurant, Legends, was ok, but we only went twice because town was so far away. The service was crummy but the food was good.
We don't golf so we were limited on activity options at this resort. I thought it had a lot of hiking trails, but we couldn't find any at the resort. Oh, and if you have kids, the pool doesn't open until 10 for children. They had an adult swim hour a 9, but I guess you can go to the lake earlier than that if you need something to do.
Overall, we won't be back. The accommodations were comfortable, but the area just didn't have as many options as we had expected.

Room Tip: We were in #8. There were some other buildings that had better views though. I am sorry that I didn...
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katherine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
There are newer reviews for Fox Run Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

I mistakenly dismissed the bad reviews and am now in vacation hell. Walking through the front door was like a time warp back to 1982, which is apparently the last time this place was cleaned or renovated. Because the front desk is USELESS I have been on the phone all day with Interval International (equally useless) trying to get the heck out of here and attempt to salvage the remainder of this trip. I am currently wiping every surface of this filth hole down with Lysol wipes and trying to drown the scents of the last 30 years with Febreze until we can find another place and check out of this dump. The pool, beach, etc. are pathetic and far too small to be the only recreation options for all of these units. We were blanket to blanket with everyone who attended the highlight of the weekend, My Big Fat Redneck Wedding, while they got trashed and blew their cigarette smoke at everyone. Fun time.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank SLK1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

Absolutely unacceptable, especially considering I traded a Marriott property for this place. Condo is in need of a complete overhaul. Dated, dumpy, dank and dark. Bathrooms are gross. Bedding is old and icky. Carpet is filthy. Furniture is vintage Goodwill.

Honestly, we are game for a rustic atmosphere. But rustic and shabby are not the same. I'm paying good money to belong to Interval and using a premier Marriott property in West Palm Beach as a trade. Will be following up with II asap to complain about this inferior property.

It didn't help that a massive, days-long rain has washed out our outdoor activities, forcing us indoors. But this place wouldn't be up to par even on a beautiful NC mountain day.

Do more, Wyndham.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Marybeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017

We did our last Time Share trade with Interval International and chose to go to the Foxrun resort in Lake Lure, NC because we had never been to NC and wanted to see this state. We are SO glad we chose this resort as our last time share exchange (we sold our Breckenridge, CO Time Share, after having it for 20 years!, back to Marriott last year and had to use the one exchange we had left before the end of March this year). We had a HUGE 2-bedroom (one bedroom had a king-size bed and the other bedroom had 2 queens), big full kitchen, living-room, dining-room, 2 bathrooms (with jetted tub in the master bedroom area), & 3 balconies that looked out over a little ravine filled with trees. We had free wi-fi and cable TV. We enjoyed the balconies, but especially the one that was out from the master bedroom! Every morning we had hot tea and coffee on that balcony and welcomed each lovely day by looking out over the trees in the ravine. We will definitely go back there again!! I am sure that you can just rent these and don't have to do a time share exchange. The only problem with this area is that it's quite a drive, on twisty mountain roads, to anything else - like restaurants, a grocery store, etc., but it's lovely!

Room Tip: We had a very nice condo-type room on Grey Fox Dr. - room 204. It looked out over a lovely area and...
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

I have stayed in several units and each has been clean and generally well maintained. Fox Run is three levels with a BR and bath on the entry level - a few steps up to the living area and a few steps down to the master BR. Fox Den is two levels with a BR, bath and living area on main floor and a long staircase to the lower level master BR. Some units have numerous steps to enter unit while other have level entry. Master BR's tend to be cold compared to rest of unit. Furniture is modest quality however beds are comfortable and the unit is fully equipped. Views are good to excellent, with decks on upper and lower levels, facing the gold course and Bald Mountain or interior wooded views. Very good choice.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BocaRatonAndBack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Lure
7.2 km away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
8.2 km away
Carter Lodge
Carter Lodge
#2 of 4 in Chimney Rock
116 reviews
0.0 km away
Fairways of the Mountains
Fairways of the Mountains
#5 of 5 in Lake Lure
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
5.6 km away
Willowbrook Inn
Willowbrook Inn
#2 of 3 in Lake Lure
72 reviews
9.9 km away
The Esmeralda Inn
The Esmeralda Inn
#1 of 4 in Chimney Rock
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Run Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Run Resort

Address: 180 Herman Wilson Rd, Lake Lure, NC 28746-9338
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Lake Lure
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lake Lure
Price Range: €167 - €168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Fox Run Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Fox Run Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Run Hotel Lake Lure
Fox Run Lake Lure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing