We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large & Comfortable Apartment”
Review of Fox Run Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fox Run Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lake Lure
Reviewed 31 March 2017

I have stayed in several units and each has been clean and generally well maintained. Fox Run is three levels with a BR and bath on the entry level - a few steps up to the living area and a few steps down to the master BR. Fox Den is two levels with a BR, bath and living area on main floor and a long staircase to the lower level master BR. Some units have numerous steps to enter unit while other have level entry. Master BR's tend to be cold compared to rest of unit. Furniture is modest quality however beds are comfortable and the unit is fully equipped. Views are good to excellent, with decks on upper and lower levels, facing the gold course and Bald Mountain or interior wooded views. Very good choice.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BocaRatonAndBack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
There are newer reviews for Fox Run Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2017

Just not up to current standards. Not responsive to customers needs. Outdoor pool closed, indoor pool closed for repair, trouble with cable. Not well maintained. The area is nice but I'll be looking elsewhere in my next visit. I shortened my stay by two days.

Stayed: March 2017
Thank Ed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed at this property through an exchange with Wyndham. Not much to do here, the staff was great. The 2 people we encountered. No where close by worth eating so stop by a grocery first. Legends in the lake was horrific. If you are golfer this may be the place for you. Rooms were very old, our furniture on the patio was rusted and broken, there were bugs in our unit. The welcome book said this was common and we should just be ok with it. Seemed there were too many rules about how to leave the room when you leave, like strip your bed, set your Ac to a certain temp, remove trash up 30 stairs, etc...etc. probably won't be back. Once again staff was great. Resort needs some help.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank thtrmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2017

Nice rustic resort area but the townhouse property is in serious need of renovations and remodeling. Townhouse was very dated with peeling wallpaper from the 1990's, worn furnishings and uneven heating. Rooms are very large and comfortable given the obvious low maintenance. Biggest disappointment was late arrival - nothing was posted on the reservation that this would be a problem. The welcome center is several miles from the actual resort and of course was closed. We finally stumbled upon the security gate of the main resort and thankfully the most helpful person, Greg, was there and told us what we needed to do in order to check in. Be aware there no amenities to help with your luggage (again we were not advised so thankfully we can climb stairs dragging luggage to the door). On the plus side, nice views of the mountains and lots of outdoor activities in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
Thank Pati D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2017

We showed up after a snow storm so no one was answering the phones ahead of our visit to allow us to request one of the units that we had heard had good views of the lake. We were finally connected to a security person who directed us to a lock box at the empty reservation house to retrieve our key. The unit we were provided had a wooded view of part of the golf course. No sign of a lake. The unit itself was clean but seriously dated. Worn sofa in the main area, tube television in the spare room and wallpaper that looked like what I had put on my walls in 1995. There was uneven heating throughout the unit. It was VERY much colder in the first bathroom and bedroom. Most disappointing was the empty fireplace. It was not gas and required that only duraflame logs were allowed. It would have been very nice if at least they had supplied a first log to be used. But no. We did find out the next day that the closed reservation center did sell them for $5 each. With no stores being in close proximity, this little gesture would have been very welcoming to someone arriving in the cold.
We used this place as an exchange in our timeshare program so the price was ok and the location worked for us due to business we had to take care of in Asheville and Hendersonville, but otherwise, not a resort we would have actively sought out. It really needs some love. With some attention it could be nice again but now it seems to be an okay place for golfers who don't care where they lay their heads after a day of golf.

Stayed: January 2017
1  Thank damadre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Lure
7.2 km away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
8.2 km away
Carter Lodge
Carter Lodge
#2 of 4 in Chimney Rock
116 reviews
0.0 km away
Fairways of the Mountains
Fairways of the Mountains
#5 of 5 in Lake Lure
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
5.6 km away
Willowbrook Inn
Willowbrook Inn
#2 of 3 in Lake Lure
72 reviews
9.9 km away
The Esmeralda Inn
The Esmeralda Inn
#1 of 4 in Chimney Rock
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Run Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Run Resort

Address: 180 Herman Wilson Rd, Lake Lure, NC 28746-9338
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Lake Lure
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lake Lure
Price Range: €166 - €168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Fox Run Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Fox Run Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Run Hotel Lake Lure
Fox Run Lake Lure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing