We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great seafood sandwiches”
Review of John's Drive In

John's Drive In
Ranked #2 of 4 Quick Bites in Kitty Hawk
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Description: CLOSED FOR THE SEASON, Thank you for another great summer! An Outer Banks tradition, John's has been a favorite with locals and vacationers since 1977! Serving Fresh Tuna and Fried Dolphin served with homemade tartar sauce or fresh made cocktail sauce. Also available many flavor of malt, fresh fruit milkshake and other tasty ice cream treats. John's gives free ice cream to dogs, horses, rabbits, skunks and any other type of pet that you would bring to John's would earn you a "puppy cup."
Reviewed 19 September 2017

We get take out or eat outside several times a summer. Food is great and portions are large. This is an OBX beach road institution. They are only open seasonally but well worth stopping in during the summer months.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank nightowljeff1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolphinboat, Owner at John's Drive In, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Thank you for your review of John's Drive In. Our family has been serving Locals and Vacationers for many years and strive to give everyone that "old school" Outer Banks experience that we are known for. We appreciate your patronage and for helping us celebrate our 40th season. We are now closed but look forward to seeing you and your family in the Spring of 2018!

John Tice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 289 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2017

This is a place that anyone going to OBX should try. It's a real dive with awesome eats. The fried fish sandwich basket and milkshake is what this place is all about. A must.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank mattheww556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolphinboat, Owner at John's Drive In, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Thank you for your review of John's Drive In. Our family has been serving Locals and Vacationers for many years and strive to give everyone that "old school" Outer Banks experience that we are known for. We appreciate your patronage and thank you and your family for celebrating with us!

John Tice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

Our family stopped for lunch on the way out of town. We ordered a dolphin boat, cheese burger and a couple of hot dogs for the kids. The food came fast and was tasty. The dolphin boat was delicious and could have served two. The milkshakes were great too.

I'm sure we will stop in again.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank YankeeinRVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolphinboat, Owner at John's Drive In, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Thank you for your review of John's Drive In. Our family has been serving Locals and Vacationers for many years and strive to give everyone that "old school" Outer Banks experience that we are known for. We appreciate your patronage and thank you and your family for celebrating with us!

John Tice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

This is one of my favorite places, but pricy. A shake and a dolphin basket is $20. but so so good. The crab cakes are good, mostly crab. The shakes are good but expensive, add ins over a buck for each item.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank MariBear63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolphinboat, Owner at John's Drive In, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Thank you for your review of John's Drive In. Our family has been serving Locals and Vacationers for many years and strive to give everyone that "old school" Outer Banks experience that we are known for. The current price for a Dolphin Boat which comes with french fries and either homemade tartar sauce or cocktail sauce is $10.95 plus tax.
We have basic milkshakes (chocolate, vanilla, mint or root beer) available in various sizes (sm, med and large) which are $3.50, $4.25 and $5.25. Adding extra toppings or flavors to the basic shake cost .50 cents, not $1.00. The more you add, the more it costs. Many people like to order chocolate, peanut butter and banana which would be an extra $1 because you are adding 2 additional toppings to the basic shake. We appreciate your patronage and thank you and your family for celebrating with us!

John Tice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

Yes, there will be a next time! My sister had told us about this place. Someone else ordered for us and we didn't get the Boat but rather just ordered a sandwich and I guess the assumption, if you don't say otherwise, is that you want a 1/2 sandwich. My husband and I got what we thought was a boat so we were planning to share it. What we got was a 1/2 sandwich which was delicious but one of us (me!) was disappointed I only got two bites. Live and learn
The chocolate peanut butter shake more than made up for the reduction in the expected sandwich. The shake was awesome. The smart thing to do is call your order in and then go it up having someone else drive while you hop out to pick up the order.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tinacR5644AQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolphinboat, Owner at John's Drive In, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Thank you for your review of John's Drive In. Our family has been serving Locals and Vacationers for many years and strive to give everyone that "old school" Outer Banks experience that we are known for. I am sorry that you didn't realize that our Dolphin Sandwich comes on a 6" sub roll, which is indicated on the menu. The Dolphin Boat is also available which is dolphin pieces that are batter dipped and deep fried and come with french fries or you can substitute onion rings, fried okra or cole slaw. We also serve these items with homemade tartar sauce or cocktail sauce.

We appreciate your patronage and thank you and your family for celebrating with us!

John Tice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed John's Drive In also viewed

 
Kitty Hawk, Outer Banks
Kitty Hawk, Outer Banks
 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 

Been to John's Drive In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing