We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than we could ever have imagined. We will be back”
Review of Beach Haven

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kitty Hawk
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beach Haven
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kitty Hawk
Ridgeley, WV
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“More than we could ever have imagined. We will be back”
Reviewed 13 June 2011

My wife and I were heading to visit family in South Carolina and thought we would leave a few days early to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. We were looking for an inexpensive place as near to the beach as possible for 2 nights. What we found was the cleanest, quietest, nicest little motel with a staff as friendly and helpful as you will find in any 4 star resort.

The rooms were very nicely decorated, well appointed and comfortable. The grounds are immaculately groomed and there are a variety of items (beach chairs, umbrellas, sand tows, etc) available to rent.

We look forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: With a limited number of rooms, book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John-WV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    16
    1
    2
    4
See reviews for
32
70
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Ma
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

We stayed for two nights before and after a wedding in Duck. Beach Haven is a very welcoming place with old-fashioned, dated charm. Our end room was clean and quiet. The amenities haven't been updated in a long time and the decor was very "70s". The room had a mini-fridge, a microwave, AC,, ceiling fan, a rather old, but functional TV and not enough lighting to read comfortably at night. Our bed was a double, with worn, pilly sheets and two lumpy pillows. Both women who ran the hotel were charming to deal with and very helpful, as others have mentioned. It's a good family vacation spot - especially if you are traveling with young children.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

went here for a long weekend...again! we always love this place and stay here when we can get a reservation! stayed at 4 or 5 other places around the area on beach and they can't compare! this place is small...only 7 rooms! very clean...very quiet and low key! usually no kids. no pool but no worries...the beach is directly in front of hotel over dune. the staff is extremely nice and helpful! raina the manager made phone calls for us for dinner info. karen the housekeeper runs around keeping everything perfect even between the raindrops! very pleasant staff...all 2 of them! super budget friendly! best spot on the beach! it is triple A rated! deserves it! and the beach is clean....water's warm and clear! plenty of local eateries and shopping nearby! am posting pix too! will be back....again! oh! if i may say here...around the corner on highway 158 is fantastic breakfast spot..."stack 'em high"!

Room Tip: book early! not the fanciest but the cleanest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaunaGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2011

I first stayed at the Beach Haven some 11 years ago and it was wonderful way back then. So it was really great to finally come back and see that Joe's traditions are still carried on by Raina and the staff, from the beautifully manicured grounds to the spotlessly clean rooms to the customer service with a genuinely warm and friendly touch. Beach Haven is very well maintained and provided everything we needed and more for our beach vacation. We loved the amenities, the quiet location and easy access to the uncrowded beach right across the street. We are already talking about coming back soon, and for a longer stay next time. Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lori7473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lusby, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Beach Haven hotel over the weekend of 10 September thru 12 September, 2010. The service and accommodations were of exceptional quality. Raina and Karen made sure that anything we needed was provided for. I highly recommend this place to anyone planning a trip to Kitty Hawk, NC. It is clean, the grounds are immaculately maintained and the service is of unparalleled quality. This place made my stay one of the most enjoyed vacations I have ever had.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SOsecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kitty Hawk
3.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
4.9 km away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
855 reviews
0.5 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Kitty Hawk Outer Banks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,142 reviews
19.0 km away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,516 reviews
22.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Haven

Property: Beach Haven
Address: 4104 Virginia Dare Trl N, Kitty Hawk, NC 27949-4182
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kitty Hawk
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kitty Hawk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Beach Haven Hotel Kitty Hawk
Beach Haven Kitty Hawk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing