We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jolly Roger Restaurant & Pirate Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Breakfast ~ Lunch ~ Dinner ~ Drinks Italian ~ Seafood ~ Steaks PIRATE BAR OPEN ALL DAY! (Restaurant Hours may Vary During Off Season)
Reviewed 17 July 2018

Very fun place. Great fresh ocean food. Bar staff was very pleasant. Relaxed ambience. Family friendly.

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank JJoef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sgodwin_1, Manager at Jolly Roger Restaurant & Pirate Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2018

appreciate the review---carol ann--owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 74 of 1,383 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2018 via mobile

Went for a nice lunch .. felt sick after eating greasy fries.. it was the best place for years .. was told my a local it’s only good for drinking.. hope things get better.. chef must be burned out .. beer was even warm

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Pamela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sgodwin_1, Manager at Jolly Roger Restaurant & Pirate Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2018

so sorry you had a bad experience---6 new cooks in training---greasy fries not the norm---please try us again and ask for carol ann---owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018 via mobile

After reading some good things and reviewing online menu which included food my picky child would actually eat, we decided to stop in for dinner while on vacation. To start, parking lot is on side and it was confusing as to where to enter. There were two doors, one blank, the other says bar entrance. So we went to enter through blank door hoping it would lead to dining room and we're quickly advised by passing employees that we could not enter there. They were rude about it and I had to ask where we could enter then. Once you figure out the entrance is in front, there is a small gift shop. We were seated on a sticky table that still had previous diners menu and paid bill left on it. It took some time for waiter to greet us, then he had to locate a drink menu which apparently was being shared around the whole room. We ordered entrees. Steaks were overcooked but rest of food was fine. Also, even though there are separate entrances, bar was right there and there were screaming patrons who were obviously tipsy and causing a scene. Restaurant is dirty, windows, floors, tables all were visibly dirty. Food also did not sit too well with us that night. Do not recommend.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank CFaltz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sgodwin_1, Manager at Jolly Roger Restaurant & Pirate Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2018

what a calamity can't excuse except to say a lot of employees doing the wrong things---this started around the beginning of july with a whole group of new employees and foreign students---sorry you had to experience this but believe me I've been here for 33 years with mostly good reviews and I just didn't crack down fast or hard enough---please try us again and ask for carol ann---I am the owner and will make it right---thanks for the review it was well taken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

The food is average. My real complaint would be with the customer service. We were seated and served our drinks. And then, after ordering our food, but before getting it, we were asked by the woman who seated us to move from our window seat to another table (not near a window) so two “regulars” who were expected to arrive soon could have our seat since they preferred it. In my opinion, this was unprofessional and certainly made us feel like we were not as valuable to them as some other customers. They could have at least given us a discount for the inconvenience, but this wasn’t even offered.

Date of visit: July 2018
2  Thank beamer7845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sgodwin_1, Manager at Jolly Roger Restaurant & Pirate Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2018

so sorry my staff DID NOT HANDLE it better---know exactly which couple you are speaking of and they have an eye sight problem and like to read while they are eating breakfast---so the booth with the light---we would do the same for you but you are right my staff did not handle it properly and you should have been given something for your inconvenience---sorry I was not there to handle it properly---please ask for carol ann next time you come and I will make it up to you---thanks for the review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018 via mobile

Crab dip was good. Seafood lasagna was ok at best. The decor was kinda tacky. Decorated for Christmas.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank W8633KQerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sgodwin_1, Manager at Jolly Roger Restaurant & Pirate Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2018

we are a goofy restaurant I know but its how we like it---thanks for the review---carol ann owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jolly Roger Restaurant & Pirate Bar also viewed

Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kitty Hawk, Outer Banks
 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 

Been to Jolly Roger Restaurant & Pirate Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing