We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick lunch Big surprise!”
Review of The Saltbox Cafe

The Saltbox Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$40
Cuisines: American, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Serving lunch & dinner Monday through Saturday and brunch on Sunday in the heart of Colington Island! Stop on in to taste an array of eats from Chefs and Owners, Randolph Sprinkle & Amanda Wolf. You won't be disappointed We accept reservations!
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were looking for a quick lunch on a rainy day.
Trip advisor had given great ratings.

It was a foodies heaven. We started with red chili pumpkin crab soup. Absolutely fabulous. We have never had any so good and unique. We then split sweet potato fries with local honey dipping sauce. Omg! They were homemade and delish.
My husband had wild mushroom ravioli and all he could say was “amazing”.
I had a salad fresh greens,grilled local shrimp, pecans apples and a homemade dressing that was so good I wish it was a drink!
We will be back soon and telling everyone.
Chef Sweet was a pleasure to talk to. This man knows how to cook!

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank beckyw192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (494)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 494 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The Saltbox Cafe has joined our list of favorite restaurants on the OBX. I declared the mussels to be the best I’ve eaten even compared to those in Brussels and Paris. Chef owner Randolph is welcoming and really cares about his food. The room is small and cozy. The staff is excellent. Prices in the $20’s are very reasonable. The only slight deficit on our last visit was that the live music performed by a very good singer made the room too loud.

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank halcho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018

On Vacation My son Kenny wanted to pick a restaurant because He is a Vegetarian!We All Chose different things and My grandchildren enjoyed everything also! The Mushroom Ravioli was amazing! We enjoyed The atmosphere and the Meal!!!

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank debraleesavoie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

Enjoyed a very nice lunch with a friend and look forward to returning. Very cozy and pretty ambiance.

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank LORRAINE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2018 via mobile

We were able to enjoy the cook off between Ortegaz and The Salt Box. Incredible display of local fish. Ortegaz was closed due to Hurricane Michael and we were delighted to try The Salt Box. So good I started not to tell anyone. You will not be disappointed!

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank auntdeeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Saltbox Cafe also viewed

Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 

Been to The Saltbox Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing