We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get away ”

Southern Roots Incorporated
Ranked #2 of 26 Restaurants in Jamestown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 12 September 2018 via mobile

Had a pleasant time at this establishment. Everyone was so friendly and genuine. Risotto was a bit on the salty side as were the sweet potato fries. But the fries were excellent. Beautiful people. Perfect quantity of food. Get what you pay for. Not quite one and done. Still want to try fried green tomato and shrimp and grits.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank dpcrph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

This restaurant was recommended, so it sounded like a great dining option. We were not disappointed in anyway!

The menu was unique & pretty varied. The prices for the entrees were a little high, but there were many lower priced dinner options.

We both enjoyed a salad to start. We had the chopped salad & Grilled peach salad. Both were wonderful, fresh & flavorful. Some salads are available in 2 sizes and can have a protein added.

I had the vegetable plate which had great variety. Each item I tried was excellent. I had the Visalia Pie, cornbread, the slaw & eggplant fries. Every item was great. Enjoyed it all, but the eggplant fries was my favorite because it was light, not greasy and had great flavor. My husband ordered the quiche of the day. It was blue cheese & bacon. It was a generous portion and was excellent. His sides was the spinach & garlic and cucumbers & onions. Both sides were also excellent.

Our only complaint was the chairs are all metal and not comfortable. I can’t imagine how we would have felt if we were sitting there visiting with a group for any amount of time. We highly recommend you give Southern Roots a try. You won’t be disappointed!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

I'm traveling 4 times a year in Greensboro. It was the fist time last week that I went to that restaurant. I was really surprised by the quality of the menu and the freshness of the fish and vegetables. It a great restaurant for foodies like me. I will recommend to share appetizers if your not alone. The choice is great and so yummy. I will bring people on my next visit.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank christiang423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

I visited for the first time with my mother and grandmother when they visited me at school. Their food was very fresh, they even specially made my mother cocktail sauce for her fried oysters (both were tasty). I ordered a sandwich called the Hill, it was delicious. The server was incredibly friendly despite the fact we came when they were setting up for dinner. Definitely a place to take your friends and family visiting students at HPU!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank kaseylynnkln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

Our family ate dinner here to celebrate my son's birthday. Food was delicious and our waitress was attentive. The problem is it was so loud you could not understand what the person next to you was saying. Probably will not go back for that reason alone.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Tammy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Southern Roots Incorporated also viewed

 

Been to Southern Roots Incorporated? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing