We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (217)
Filter reviews
217 results
Traveller rating
107
47
21
24
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
107
47
21
24
18
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 217 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2019

Upon arriving we found that our Expedia booking was not valid because we have a dog and the Inn doesn’t allow dogs because of concerns with damage to a historical property. Seeing our distress at this news, the lady behind the desk made a phone call to help us find a solution- the Gazebo room, It is owned by and sits directly behind the Inn, in the middle of their magical garden complete with a “frog pond”. With the approval from the Inn’s owner, we had a place to stay. The room was beautifully appointed, roomy, comfortable, and absolutely delightful. Street parking was steps from the entrance to the garden and Gazebo, yet the room was very quiet. The Highlands Inn is located right in the center of shopping and restaurants on Highland’s Main Street. So convenient! We certainly will stay here again!

Date of stay: September 2019
1  Thank Travel04287973842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dania30346, Manager at Highlands Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2019

Thank you for your kind review! I am so
Happy that Diana was able to
Get you in the cottage. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2019 via mobile

Overpaid ($309/night) for a musty dark room. Breakfast was included but VERY minimal (raisin brain or Cheerios, hard boiled eggs, biscuit). Hotel concierge/staff never spoke to us except for when we checked in (night shift Gary was great and the only person who showed us hospitality). Conveniently located but absolutely not worth it to stay here. Customer service not impressive and kitchen staff not kind. When I called to book the room originally the concierge suggested a favorite room but upon arrival it was the smallest and musty-est room on the property. Felt like he was just trying to get us to book. The historic nature of the hotel was charming, but the ceiling had water stains, wallpaper peeling off, and hairs on our towels daily (except for the day we didn’t get towels and had to dry off with bath mats). I hate to give a bad review but want to let others know true expectations.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Lindsey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dania30346, Manager at Highlands Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2019

Thank you for your review. I am sorry for your disappointment. I have researched your reservation. I found you made reservations for a rock garden king and were placed in room 44, A very lovely room Which most Likely was a staff favorite. One week after the res was made, you called back stating you must have a patio room. Upon arrival,You did not like the patio room and were shown the remaining available room we had in the Inn for the Labor Day weekend. You wanted the front Porch room, which is the most expensive but a lovely room that opens to our front porch on main street. Definitely worth the price difference.

We do not have wallpaper in any guest rooms at the Inn. That was removed years ago, therefore not sure where you spotted wallpaper peeling. As far as hairs in towels, I have not seen this as our commercial washers and dryers do a fairly good job with our laundry. Our staff is normally very friendly, so These concerns have definitely sparked my attention and I will be addressing them with staff. Our breakfast items you mention are extras. Daily, we have hot cooked items for our guest to choose. Ordering off the menu is not included, however we do offer Inn guests a variety of options.

I note that you state your stay was horrible, However you decided on Sunday to extend your reservation for another night after staying three nights. This is Not indicative of a guest who is disappointed and does not recommend that others stay here.

Again, I apologize for any inconveniences you had during your stay. I am happy to speak with you on a personal level and address your concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2019

I was disappointed! The first room offered was musty and dark. We were referred to another hotel, the Highlands Lodge. Upon returning to the Inn, there was no hot water and cable service TV was limited. The Inn is a nice location and has been on the National Historic Record but needs much renovation. We were told the room offered at first was blocked for renovation, not for occupancy. The rooms on the lower level do not have elevator service. Rooms at the Lodge are less expensive but offered at the same rate as the Inn. For our trouble there was no refund when asked or free breakfast.

Room tip: Upper floors seem better. Do not accept a room on their lower level.
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hotelreview28741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dania30346, Manager at Highlands Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2019

We are certainly sorry for your disappointment. Thank you for your review. I always like to get both sides to the story published here. You reserved the most inexpensive room available on a third party booking site without breakfast that came at a discounted room rate of $30 per night over our regularly published rates. Total savings to you, $120!! That room was a patio room. To throw off on the Inn because of your disappointment surrounding the cheaper room you booked is unfair. It is True that there are no windows on this interior hallway, however the patio doors open up to the back patio garden area( just the opposite side of the building opens to the front porch which would be main street). Upon your arrival, you did not want to be on
The patio, ground level, Most likely due to stairs, but you needed twin beds. Since we have only 3 rooms in the Inn with two beds, we offered you the option of looking at our lodge property that has several rooms with two beds. That rate was the same as the DISCOUNTED rate you received off your discount rate website you used, so no, there was no additional discounts off your reservation. The remaining rooms with twins that were above your pricing tier were temporarily out of order due to the installation of a new water heater and those rooms not having hot water during the early afternoon hours. I might note that you arrived early, prior to our 4 pm checkin and we were happy to oblige and allow early check in. Upon your return from The lodge and your dissatisfaction that we would not discount the lodge rate, we had our new water heater installed and the other rooms back On line. Our desk clerk was happy to move you to one of these more expensive rooms at no Additional charge to you.

Our rooms have new carpet and new paint. We do this every winter when we close for
The season. We also remodeled the bathrooms in all the rock garden rooms two years ago with brand new tile, tubs, toilets, vanities and fixtures. These rooms also have new settees and/or easy chairs or wingbacks. We have never had a problem with our cable tv. We receive over 100 channels.

Again, we apologize for
Your frustrations but felt we needed to set the record straight.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2019

We checked into our room, which had the name plate "Nanthala" on the door. We chuckled when entering because the spelling is actually Nantahala. As prophecy would have it, around 11 pm that evening water starting dripping from the ceiling from the rain outside, and eventually became a substantial leak in our room. We contacted the front desk and they were able to get us into another room, although smaller and an inconvenience, especially since we had to pack up our stuff and it was our anniversary. The next day we contacted the owner through the staff and asked for some sort of compensation for our inconvenience, to be told that there was nothing they would do. Our opinion is that the customer service is terrible and to be honest the place needs a good cleaning - everything is dirty and smells like you are deep in a musty, moldy forest. So if you are looking for a true "Nanthala" experience with little customer service, this is your place.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mpesommer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaycor, General Manager at Highlands Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2019

Thank you for your review.
We do apologize about the ceiling drip in your room, as it was an unusual evening of torrential rains from Hurricane Barry with the driving rain and winds sending the water to places it would have never have gone, otherwise. We did give you a credit for The room rate difference and even offered to upgrade you to our nicest historic room On the front porch at no additional
Cost, to which you declined. It’s True, Nantahala is one of our National Forests. Our room ‘Nanthala’ has nothing to with that, but I’m happy to see you got a chuckle and enjoyed yourself.
We appreciate the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2019 via mobile

For a $500 room for 2 nights not very impressed. It has a good location that’s it. Be aware there is no parking just have to find a spot on the road & carry your luggage. Our TV didn’t work & they just said unplug it, maintenance is gone. We’ll be back we just won’t stay here again.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Z487JYscottr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews