We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$119
Hotels.comUS$120
eDreamsUS$119
Agoda.comUS$119
Expedia.comUS$120
Orbitz.comUS$120
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (370)
Filter reviews
370 results
Traveller rating
195
129
25
14
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
195
129
25
14
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews secret spot rocking chairs continental breakfast chestnut cottage small stream gas fireplace full kitchen log cabin within walking distance of downtown would stay again coffee pot close to town love this place small fridge home away from home downtown highlands main street
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 370 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2020 via mobile

First trip in late spring was great experience. Cute place with excellent staff, good location and reasonable price. That's why we decided to put it on our seasons changing 3-4 times a year list. But last night Jason was on check in duty. Arrived at 3:25 pm, apparently interrupted his game. He actually said for future visits check in is 4pm and I wouldn't need to be hurrying and caring about your needs if you remember that. My part of the conversation was my name and a couple minutes later request for restroom. Sad start! Customer service is my reason for dropping from a 4 to a 2 for Mitchell's Lodge in Highlands

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renee Bolt, Innkeeper at Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2020

I am so sorry that you were not happy with your check in experience. We try very hard to make our guests happy and feel like they are friends when they leave.
We do not have a public restroom ,unfortunately because we are a small Lodge. It has been a stressful time for everyone trying to navigate Covid and keep everyone safe. Now, more then ever before it is so important that we deep clean every room when a guest checks out to make sure the rooms are safe for our incoming guests and that the incoming guests respect our 4 pm check in time to allow for this.
Thank you for staying and sorry your were not happy with your check in experience and stay safe durin these unprecedented times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2020 via mobile

Everything would have been lovely here. Clean, friendly staff, beautiful grounds. Unfortunately the noise level was not what I had anticipated for my four day mountain retreat. Stayed in #18. Morning traffic can be heard from busy road in back. Group of men staying next door. Laughing loudly, cursing and banging door. I will unfortunately not stay here again due to noise level. If you’re looking for a quiet serene place... this is not the one.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank donster0209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renee Bolt, Innkeeper at Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2020

We apologize that you did not have a quiet getaway. Your room was located in the original building built in 1939 and unfortunately sound can be an issue at times. I wish that the other guests would have been more respectful of the people around them.
We do offer the Cedar Lodge which was built in 2001 and has improved sound barriers and cabins that are secluded and offer the perfect place for a peaceful and quiet retreat. We hope that you give us another chance .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2020 via mobile

We stayed for two nights for a mini “babymoon”. We were actually supposed to come in February for Valentine’s Day weekend but had to cancel due to a death in the family. The management graciously allowed us to use our prepaid nights as credit, which was super appreciated. Mitchell’s is a great spot! It’s not fancy, and there are definitely some things that could be refreshed, but it’s absolutely perfect if you’re looking for a laid back mountain getaway weekend. I also understand from an earlier review they were planning some renovation projects this year before covid hit, so completely understandable that hindered them a bit. Main Street (the downtown Highlands area) is a super quick walk, 5-10 minutes. The room was very clean and we found the mattress to be comfortable. The continental breakfast was plentiful ... hard boiled eggs, bagels/pastries, yogurt, cereal, fruit cups, coffee and juice. We had a great weekend in Highlands and at Mitchell’s Lodge and would definitely stay here again on our next trip!

Date of stay: August 2020
1  Thank kam1829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renee Bolt, Innkeeper at Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2020

Thank you for staying with us for your mini" babymoon". We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay . We hope that you will come back with your new bundle of joy so we can meet him or her.
We are ready for Covid to be over so we can begin to do projects that we were going to do in 2020 .
We hope after your visit to our lovely downtown shops and restaurants that you enjoyed our pavilion and small pond.
We hope you and yours stay safe and well and come to see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2020

We unfortunately had to leave our stay one day early...they refused to refund.
We had no room service no towels no bed made no cleaning of any kind.
I would advise you to think twice and move on to another location in Highland

Room tip: Not stay here
Date of stay: August 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Monte A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renee Bolt, Innkeeper at Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2020

I am so sorry to hear you were unhappy with your stay. We have been welcoming guest for 82 years and strive to make them happy.
You did not receive stay over room service because of Covid-19 but under normal times you would have. We inform all guests when the reservation is made on the phone, via an email reservation confirmation (we have confirmation you did in fact receive) and lastly, verbally at check in so our guests will know the new procedures in detail during their Covid-19 stay with us.
We are not happy with these new procedures either, but we do them to keep our guests and staff safe and healthy during theses unprecedented times. As you may or may not know, all or at least the vast majority of hotels around the world are currently not giving daily housekeeping during Covid-19. I know for a fact that 100% of the hotels in Highlands are not currently offering daily housekeeping services.
We did not and could not issue a refund because you booked through a third party and refunds must be addressed with that booking engine, we cannot do anything about that. If you had booked directly though our website or via phone we could have addressed that issue immediately.
We appreciate your feedback from your stay with us but as you can now see, both of your complaints are out of our hands and beyond our control during Covid-19.
We are so sad to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us but hope that you will consider giving us another try when Covid-19 is over.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2020 via mobile

We stayed in cabin 2. It was very dirty, table had not been cleaned off, dishes were put away dirty. Quilts on bed were still damp.
Especially during these covid times, there needs to be no reason why the rooms are not thoroughly cleaned.
Also forgot to mention we were supposed to get 5% discount for staying 3 nights to receptionist, young girl & she would not give us the discount. Very rude about it to
Will think twice before we stay here again

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank leahw242018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renee Bolt, Innkeeper at Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2020

We are so sorry that you were not happy with your stay.
We are shocked that your cabin was dirty. We are following all the guidelines issued by the CDC during Covid-19, so the problem you described baffles all of us. We are working extremely hard to make sure the rooms are very clean and safe during these unprecedented times.
We scored a 100% on our Macon County Health Department inspection this year and are very proud of that!
I hope that you immediately informed the front desk of your unhappiness with the cleanliness of the cabin because they would have corrected any or all problems that you had immediately.
I researched all the reservations that have stayed and everyone has received their 5% discount for staying three nights, so I am a little confused about your claim that you did not receive your discount. I am confident if you stayed with us in the past 3 to 6 months you received your discount.
I apologize that the receptionist was rude, we strive to treat our guests the way we would want to be treated.
Again we are sorry you were unhappy, we hope you will give us another try.
Please be safe during Covid-19 and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews