We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$119
Expedia.comUS$120
Hotels.comUS$120
eDreamsUS$119
TravelocityUS$120
Orbitz.comUS$120
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (370)
Filter reviews
370 results
Traveller rating
195
129
25
14
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
195
129
25
14
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews secret spot rocking chairs continental breakfast chestnut cottage small stream gas fireplace full kitchen log cabin within walking distance of downtown would stay again coffee pot close to town love this place small fridge home away from home downtown highlands main street
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 370 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2020

We unfortunately had to leave our stay one day early...they refused to refund.
We had no room service no towels no bed made no cleaning of any kind.
I would advise you to think twice and move on to another location in Highland

Room tip: Not stay here
Date of stay: August 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Monte A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renee Bolt, Innkeeper at Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2020

I am so sorry to hear you were unhappy with your stay. We have been welcoming guest for 82 years and strive to make them happy.
You did not receive stay over room service because of Covid-19 but under normal times you would have. We inform all guests when the reservation is made on the phone, via an email reservation confirmation (we have confirmation you did in fact receive) and lastly, verbally at check in so our guests will know the new procedures in detail during their Covid-19 stay with us.
We are not happy with these new procedures either, but we do them to keep our guests and staff safe and healthy during theses unprecedented times. As you may or may not know, all or at least the vast majority of hotels around the world are currently not giving daily housekeeping during Covid-19. I know for a fact that 100% of the hotels in Highlands are not currently offering daily housekeeping services.
We did not and could not issue a refund because you booked through a third party and refunds must be addressed with that booking engine, we cannot do anything about that. If you had booked directly though our website or via phone we could have addressed that issue immediately.
We appreciate your feedback from your stay with us but as you can now see, both of your complaints are out of our hands and beyond our control during Covid-19.
We are so sad to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us but hope that you will consider giving us another try when Covid-19 is over.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2020 via mobile

We stayed in cabin 2. It was very dirty, table had not been cleaned off, dishes were put away dirty. Quilts on bed were still damp.
Especially during these covid times, there needs to be no reason why the rooms are not thoroughly cleaned.
Also forgot to mention we were supposed to get 5% discount for staying 3 nights to receptionist, young girl & she would not give us the discount. Very rude about it to
Will think twice before we stay here again

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank leahw242018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renee Bolt, Innkeeper at Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2020

We are so sorry that you were not happy with your stay.
We are shocked that your cabin was dirty. We are following all the guidelines issued by the CDC during Covid-19, so the problem you described baffles all of us. We are working extremely hard to make sure the rooms are very clean and safe during these unprecedented times.
We scored a 100% on our Macon County Health Department inspection this year and are very proud of that!
I hope that you immediately informed the front desk of your unhappiness with the cleanliness of the cabin because they would have corrected any or all problems that you had immediately.
I researched all the reservations that have stayed and everyone has received their 5% discount for staying three nights, so I am a little confused about your claim that you did not receive your discount. I am confident if you stayed with us in the past 3 to 6 months you received your discount.
I apologize that the receptionist was rude, we strive to treat our guests the way we would want to be treated.
Again we are sorry you were unhappy, we hope you will give us another try.
Please be safe during Covid-19 and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2020 via mobile

Went here for three nights , nice large room . Loved the balcony and fireplace . Walked into town for all dinners not a far walk at all . Good location . We brought our own breakfast the room had a Refrigerator and sink . Room had a coffee pot should have brought my own filters and coffee . The continental breakfast was just your standard toast cereal etc . There was washer and dryer right by our room that I used quite a bit for muddy wet hiking clothes so bring laundry detergent . Only complaint was bed was a little lumpy , they need a new mattress soon . Will be back nice Clean cozy place .

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank HHour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene Bolt, Owner at Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2020

Thank you for staying with us . We are pleased to hear that you hiked our beautiful mountains.
We hope that you will come back soon and check out our website for great specials!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2020 via mobile

Decided to take a last minute trip, freestyle, to NC to get out of the Florida heat. Our first stop was Highlands and we stayed here based on ok reviews and it was only to sleep. Love Highlands but this place, at least our room was terrible. We could hear the conversation next door, young girls partying a few doors down, but worst of all (other than bad mattress and lumpy pillows) didn't feel clean. And it wasn't. Giant ants greeted us with every visit to the bathroom, peeling toilet seats, dirty sock from last occupants on the floor and just run down. It's wonderful sleeping Temps this time of year but between the noise from the road directly behind the place and our neighbors we had to turn on the noisy AC. We skipped breakfast because everything was out in the open. Lesson learned. Even with C19 and almost off season plan ahead.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank JFG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene Bolt, Owner at Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2020

We are so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I hope you asked the front desk about looking at other rooms since you were not satisfied with yours. The front desk would have brought you new pillows, if you had requested them. Our housekeepers work hard to keep the rooms clean and disinfected. We also have a two step method where a different person checks and disinfects the room again before the guest arrives.
Highlands is surrounded by national forest and we have had one of the wettest summers on record. I am sorry the ants tried to escape the rain and found their way into your room.
We have been part of Highlands since 1939 and our goal has always been to give our guest a great experience and we are sad to hear you were disappointed.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2020

We stayed a long weekend and this place is perfect for a Highlands mountain stay. The grounds are gorgeous. The outdoor fireplace room and the "secret spot" are both amazing. We had fires and s'mores two of the three nights by the fireplace and loved our time there. Everything was clean and well appointed. It is a little rustic but all part of the charm of this place. Their pricing was more than fair for Highlands and all our hikes and dining was so close to Mitchell's Lodge. The breakfast was more than sufficient especially since the Covid19 stuff is still in play.

Room tip: We loved unit 18 in the lodge as it is an end unit. Super quiet and your own two rocking chairs to use.
Date of stay: August 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parkshorebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene Bolt, Owner at Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2020

Thank you for choosing to stay with us ! We are so glad that you enjoyed the "secret spot" and s'mores by the fireplace.
We hope you will come back soon . Fall is the perfect time to enjoy the fireplace in the Pavilion. Stay safe and well until we meet again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews