We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$119
View deal
PricelineUS$119
Expedia.comUS$120
Hotels.comUS$120
Agoda.comUS$119
FindHotelUS$120
eDreamsUS$119
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (370)
Filter reviews
370 results
Traveller rating
195
129
25
14
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
195
129
25
14
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews secret spot rocking chairs continental breakfast chestnut cottage small stream gas fireplace full kitchen log cabin within walking distance of downtown rooms are clean would stay again coffee pot close to town love this place small fridge home away from home downtown highlands
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 370 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2020 via mobile

It was everything described & more. The staff is extremely friendly & helpful...and the property is very comfortable and relaxing-feels like home! My room was spiffy clean...I’m looking at the calendar to revisit when not on business.

Date of stay: June 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank V_P_SRB_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Bolt, Owner at Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2020

Thank you for staying with us . We want our guest to feel like they are home and part of the family.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2020

Clean rooms, great location, very competitive pricing, and the staff are very helpful and accomodating. The weather was rainy so we spent time on the balcony sitting in the rocking chairs and listening to the creek beside the hotel. This is was my second visit and I'll be back!

Date of stay: May 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Bolt, Owner at Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2020

We are so glad that you chose to stay with us . The creek and pond on the property does relax the mind and body. We are glad that even during the rain you were able to enjoy them.
We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2020

Love this place!!! We chose a location to celebrate our wedding anniversary where we had never stayed before. We are thrilled that wefound this place. First and foremost, the staff (especially Robin) were great! We became a member of the Mitchell Lodge and Cottages' family. The fireplace and Jacuzzi tub are the two main reasons we booked the room. The room overlooked a small stream, which made the most pleasant sound when local traffic slowed down. But if you find the "hidden spot" you will hear the sound of the water at its best. We weren't sure about staying at a place so close to town but but our fears were put to rest. The location has the feel of being nestled away in the mountains. The fresh baked cookies in the afternoon and continental breakfast in the morning satisfied our hunger during those times. Love this place and plan to return in the very near future.

Room tip: Get a room with both the fireplace and jacuzzi tub, especially if you want a romantic stay.
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesliehP1197VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Bolt, Owner at Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2020

Hi,
We are so glad that you stayed with us for your special celebration. We love for our guest to become part of our family!
Please come back soon and we will have your cookies waiting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2020

First off the place is in a great location. The surroundings are very natural and pretty. And although it is very close to the center of town, I would not recommend walking to town because there were no sidewalks from Mitchells Lodges and Cottages to the main strip. You would essentially be walking on the side of a curvy, mountainous road that does not have much shoulder width at all. But, it’s really an easy just around the corner drive and lots of parking in the middle of town where the shops are located.

A grocery store is just a block away.

The rooms were cozy, quiet and super clean. My husband and I did not think the bed and pillows were very comfortable. We had a suite with a mini kitchen, jacuzzi, couch and gas fireplace. We loved the fireplace! It keeps the place very warm. We also had a very nice and quite large private deck with rocking chairs and a picnic table. It was overlooking a “stream”. It was more like a ditch stream more than a creek.

The bathroom was clean but small and the shower just didn’t let out a lot of water which makes it hard to wash thick or long hair.

The kitchen had a small fridge, toaster, coffee pot, microwave, mini stove and oven. It was minimally stocked with a few dishes, pot and baking pan. But it was great for heating leftovers and baking cookies.

Overall, I was very pleased with the place. The biggest disappointment was that they did not put out the continental breakfast as advertised and as we were expecting for the price. Most likely it was because it’s the winter season and they didn’t have as many customers. I really don’t know. But, because of that I only rated it 3 stars instead of 4. I’m not sure I would stay here again because of the beds and because they cheated us out of breakfast and with no warning or notice.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank jennifermT9341NA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitchells Lodge, Owner at Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2020

We are so glad that you stayed with us. We are a family owned Lodge that has been in Highlands for 81 years. We strive everyday to improve and upgrade the guest experience and pride ourselves on making our rooms quaint and cozy for that authentic mountain experience. We hope you will visit soon and thank you for your suggestions. We change out our pillows every year and always are searching for the perfect ones . Our continental breakfast is  not available weekdays between 12/2/19-4/2/20 but is available thereafter from 8 am until 10 am. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2020 via mobile

On a spur of the moment trip to Highlands, NC, I chose the lodge that cost less than staying in the downtown.
Pro’s:
Room appeared to be very clean. The receptionist was very kind. The room had its own balcony (although I requested this) that overlooked a little stream. The room had a direct-vent fireplace that was on a timer. It was very nice. The bathroom had sampler soap and shampoo and was clean.
Con’s:
The coach was well passed its prime and had deep sunken areas in it. The room was quite dark and didn’t have enough bright lights when needed. Door had to be opened with a key (didn’t lock easily) from outside.
Overall:
This is a good, clean place to stay for under a hundred dollars. I don’t know if I would stay again if the price was higher. I recommend if you want a clean place to stay for a night or two in Highlands.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Mid-LifeTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitchells Lodge, Owner at Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2020

Thank you for staying with us and we hope you will come again soon. We are sorry the sofa was
not as comfortable as you would have preferred and appreciate constructive feedback so we can continue to improve.
Thank you again for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews