We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$180
View deal
PricelineUS$180
Agoda.comUS$180
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveller rating
64
34
22
15
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
64
34
22
15
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor fireplace look forward to staying here again hot tub main street the staff was extremely friendly coffee maker close to downtown place to stay continental breakfast lodge sabrina accommodations mountains
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 146 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2020

I have struggled with my decision on this hotel. Overall, the front desk staff was very nice especially Nick who welcomed us on arrival. Also, this was basically the only option for the area (Highlands and Cashiers, NC) for the weekend and this night. There was just nothing else available for one night and a king bed. This hotel had one room left. Simply due to the availability and Nick, I bumped this from one star to 2.5 stars (and rounded up to give it the rating above). The room did have AC which was able to keep it cold. The room had a TV and towels but these usually aren't items I mention when reviewing a room. The shampoo and soap were in push-button containers for "community-use" and located on the wall. The carpet had heavy stains. The room had a slight musty odor. There were NUMEROUS dead insects around the room. There was a sofa with large ottomans but the colors didn't match. It was as if it had been collected from different sofas. The coffee maker did work but they only supplied 'decaf' coffee. All-in-all, we struggled with the room BUT the bed had some comfort although the pillows were "down" (which you know I don't like).

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank douglaspahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2020

We just came back from a 2-night stay in the beautiful NC mountain community of the Highlands. This lodge is very conveniently located just 2 walkable blocks from the nice shopping on Main Street. The staff was very nice; however, our suite was disappointing. The mattress was not only lumpy but sagging in the middle and should have been replaced years ago. Almost all of the plates & glasses in the kitchenette were dirty with some dried food. Even worse (and dangerous) was the fact that the small Krups coffee maker was clearly not cleaned before our visit as it had a used coffee filter pack. As I was cleaning it out, we discovered that the coffee maker’s water tank was filthy and clearly had long-standing mold or mildew, which I brought to the management’s and staff’s attention. It was only after we checked in that we were told of the lack of services (cleaning), that the restaurant was closed, and that the front door and elevators were locked at 11 pm (i.e. no staff). Overall, these accommodations were not worth the price and we would not stay here again, nor recommend this place.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank LadyGray9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2020

Beware what's advertised and what you get with this hotel. We were there from a Friday until the following Monday (3 nights) and paid over $600 for the stay. Under the auspices of Covid19, however, there was no continental breakfast and no maid service. If you wanted clean sheets or towels you had to go to the front desk and request them. It didn't appear like any amenities or services were available.

To make things worse, the hotel is very worn, outdated and dirty. There were cobwebs and insects in our room when we checked in and the room was musty and dusty. Until they get back on track with their cleanliness and services, I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone, especially at these rates.

Date of stay: August 2020
4  Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2020

We were looking forward to a comfortable stay in Highlands. The Covid crisis has definitely put a bite in this hotel. The room we requested was a suite - meaning there was a second room with a pull out sofa and tiny dark kitchen. The sofa had silver fish in it was totally uncomfortable and we could not sleep in it. We got a second room. We swept away cobwebs and killed large spiders. Overall, it was ok. but the whole hotel needs to be cleaned, updated and better maintenance is a must. The hallways were musty smelling. I'd say it was quaint, but it was just old. The front desk folks were very nice, but could not make up for the neglect. The whole place needs to be renovated, updated and maintained. The "whirpool" was uninviting and not clean enough to go in for sure. I was disappointed.

Room tip: Choose a different hotel.
Date of stay: July 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Mountain5551234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2020

Sabrina, the local owner was extremely helpful and very sweet. She told us all the best places to hike nearby. The Log Cabin is a great restaurant nearby, just across the parking lot. Downtown is only a few blocks away, but a little far if its too cold out. Look forward to staying here again!

Date of stay: February 2020
Thank flumpkin4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews