We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely choice for any meal.”

The Lantern Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #35 of 207 Restaurants in Hendersonville
Price range: US$10 - US$35
Restaurant details
Reviewed 6 November 2016

Although breakfast for the Charleston Inn bed and breakfast is served in The Lantern, they are open to the public for dinner from 4-9 PM. We dined here on our first night and were quite pleased with the food and service.
The restaurant has a homey feel to it and although the current owners have only been here since 2015, it is clear that it has been a restaurant for many, many years. Pressed tin ceilings, dark woods, and a small bar area lend an old-fashioned feeling to the restaurant. Outside service is on an apparently newly added wooden deck, tables with umbrellas, under the oak trees.
For starters I enjoyed a cup of She Crab Soup, loaded with crab in a light, creamy soup. Hubby chose the Oysters Rockefeller and thoroughly enjoyed the freshness of the oysters topped with spinach, butter, and parmesan cheese. As an entrée, I chose the Zucchini Fritters. Two large, crispy sautéed shredded zucchini and parmesan fritters were topped with a delicious Lemon-Herb Remoulade sauce and sides of shredded Brussel sprouts and grits. A Fantastic choice. Hubby chose the ground brisket and dry aged porter house beef burger, cooked to perfection! He declared the burger moist, juicy, and delicious. For dessert, we shared a slice of classic pecan pie made with oak-aged bourbon. Delectable!
The restaurant serves a wide variety of southern-style dishes, from crab cakes to steaks, small and large plate servings, salads, soups, and desserts. A delicious choice for any occasion.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kbcrowder, Public Relations Manager at The Lantern Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2016

Thank you for your glowing review!! We are so happy everything was delicious. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2016

This was my first visit to The Lantern -my friend had been there a few times prior to this visit. We started off with some adult beverages...mine the Moscow Mule- very, very good and she had a rum based special cocktail...don't recall the name of it.

My Shrimp and Grits - the best ever....fresh, flavorful, nice size portion and the 'catch of the day' was seared Ahi Tuna served over a wonderful risotto. We shared a slice of the Coconut Cake and it too was very good.

Service was excellent - attentive and yet not intrusive. Dining on the 'porch' on a delightful Fall evening was a real treat and we were close to the music that evening - a gentleman with a soft yet distinctive voice and he was quite good on the guitar also.

Oh...almost forgot - just after being seated we were served some wonderful - just warm- banana bread! Yum.

I will definitely return to the Lantern as there are many menu items that sound terrific.
One last thing...a very nice - small sign was posted on the porch - stating that all tips that night would be donated to the Blue Ridge Humane Society! Not only are the owners and managers of The Lantern outstanding at running a great restaurant - they are also committed to supporting their community. Congrat's all around.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MGordonCharlotte_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kbcrowder, Public Relations Manager at The Lantern Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2016

Thank yo so much for your kind words. I agree the food is amazing and Thursday night are a favorite with all the tips going to the humane society. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2016

We ate dinner on the porch, a lovely fall evening. The menu offered a nice variety of choices. We were both pleased with our entrees. Well priced offerings.

Thank Joyce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kbcrowder, Public Relations Manager at The Lantern Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2016

We agree the porch is a great way to have a wonderful meal! Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

What a wonderful low key evening with delicious food, great service and excellent entertainment by the owner. It was a cool evening but we sat on the porch and it was delightful as the owner was playing the guitar and singing. There were blankets and outdoor heaters to keep us warm not to mention the warm bourbon ciders and sauzeracs. Our entrees were outstanding. The special blackened swordfish on pasta with corn succotash was amazing as was the shrimp etoufee. There was no room for dessert but the German chocolate cake and pecan pie sounded decadent! We were not staying at the Charleston Inn which is the bed and breakfast associated with the Lantern but as a result of our great evening tonight we would DEFINITELY stay there on our next trip to Hendersonville.

Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kbcrowder, Public Relations Manager at The Lantern Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2016

Thanks Mark! We are so happy you enjoyed your evening with us. The outside patio is a great way to spend the evening. We look forward to having you stay with us on your next trip to Hendersonville!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

My wife and I went there for a date night and it was perfect. We sat out on there deck which is shaded by umbrellas at the tables as well as large trees overhead making for an amazing atmosphere. We started with the Oyster Rockefeller and it was delicious! The for our main entrée I had the special which was a pork tenderloin stuffed with guidance cheese sitting atop red skin mashed potatoes and a Brussels sprouts hash, it was outstanding! My wife had their crab cakes and she said they were some of the best she's had. For desert
she had the chocolate cake with raspberries and pink Himalayan salt and it was amazing! We also had a couple of their cocktails which were all on point!

Thank Brandon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kbcrowder, Public Relations Manager at The Lantern Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2016

Thank you Brandon for your review! We love to see our customers so pleased. Please keep us in mind for your next date night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lantern Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to The Lantern Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing