We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Postero

Postero
Reserve with OpenTable
Postero is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 9 July 2018

I was a bit concerned I would be disappointed but not at all! The food was excellent, the service attentive but not overbearing and the ambiance lovely. The lobster mac & cheese appetizer was nothing like I expected -- much, much better! We've had the trout and the pork chop, both superb. It is the area's "high end" restaurant, but definitely worth it and miles better than anything else around. Pretty good wine list as well.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RLA1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 50 of 393 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2018

We decided to dine out in Hendersonville rather than downtown Asheville to avoid the summer crowds and we’re very happy we did. It takes us just 10 minutes longer to get to downtown Hendersonville where we easily found free parking just around the corner from Postero. We actually arrived early for our reservation and as the bar was full we sat in the chairs near the hostess station. During our wait we were frequently given update and even thanked for our patience even though we were early. As it turned out, we were seated just two minutes after the time of our reservation. We were seated in the upstairs area overlooking the dining room, bar and kitchen. The evening began very well with our drink order consisting of a glass of wine for my wife and a martini for myself. The martini was absolutely perfect with a thin layer of ice pieces floating on the top just how I like them (how did they know?). The cheese board we selected to share was superb - one of the best we’ve had in the region - as were our entrees. The entire evening was wonderful. While Postero has the feel, taste and service of a big city restaurant it is a family operation with the husband in the kitchen, the wife behind the bar, a daughter serving as a hostess, and a son acting as a runner. It was fascinating watching their young son, Cole, all night. It is obvious he knows his way around a restaurant checking on orders and delivering them to tables all night. We had the fortune of Cole bringing our dessert course to our table and we had the chance to interact with him. Not only is he exceptional in serving dishes but is amazingly polite and articulate as well. This is our third visit to Postero and we’re delighted to see how busy it has become. If you’re in Hendersonville or anywhere around, including Asheville, this is a restaurant you should experience.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jweAVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018 via mobile

In a world of avocado toasts, Postero’s is a standout as not only one of the most beautifully presented, but the most flavorful as well. Loved the pimiento cheese served with pork rinds. Cauliflower and leek soup was heavenly, velvety and delicious. Crazy about the house made waffle cut fries, thin and crispy, served with light and fluffy whipped goat cheese. My mom and sister had the “Mother Clucker” fried chicken sandwich... I scored a bite and was amazed. Service was fantastic. Beautiful space, comfortable seating. Very reasonably priced in my opinion. I only wish I lived closer!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank gracedelanoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2018 via mobile

We came to Hendersonville for a weekend and one night decided to hop around to a few restaurants having appetizers at them. We had the honey sriracha Brussel sprouts and polenta fries. Both were out of this world! Service was good and atmosphere was nice. Definitely worth a visit if you’re going to Hendersonville!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank cbehnke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2018

53rd Anniversary Dinner for two couples was really enjoyed by all four of us. Food was excellent and Tara provided top-notch service. The catfish was well prepared. The pork chop was to die for! The Lobster Mac-n-Cheese was really special as were the Brussel Sprouts. The only negative was that the restaurant is really loud for older people.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cidblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Postero also viewed

Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Postero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing