We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the good HGI properties”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Durham Southpoint
Ranked #10 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“One of the good HGI properties”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Typical HGI standards. One of the newer properties. At the better end of HGI breakfast. Service people are very polite, cooked to order chef is good.
Located next to a high en shopping mall. I was travelling for business and did not have time to hang out in down town - and frankly, I do not know what is in downtown. There are good restaurants nearby. There is a Ruth Chris in the property, which was a plus. Healthy food options in the mall and in surrounding strip malls are plenty. There are number of Spa's available for a relaxing massage, though could not try one because of bad timing, i will plan ahead next time.
In the evening it gets really quite, which is a plus for me.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Levent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    165
    50
    13
    13
See reviews for
155
84
37
236
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Across from great mall, upgraded us to a suite and extended our check out time. Breakfast was made to order, waitstaff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Odd number rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2travelforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

This is a relatively new hotel, located in the middle of the parking lot of a strip shopping area, across the street from a huge shopping mall. So, if shopping is your game, this hotel has an excellent location. Even if you aren't a big shopper, and you are working in the RTP area, as I was, this hotel has a great location. Because of all the shopping draw, there is also a very wide range if eating establishments close by as well. There is even a Ruth Chris adjacent to the hotel.

The rooms were clean and had the typical appointments (TV, wired and wireless Internet), with the added bonus of an in room refrigerator. I like having a frig so I can enjoy refreshments (e.g. beer) without it costing a fortune. I was glad they had a wired Internet connection, since the wireless one was not that good from my room. Although, even the wired one wasn't fast, so don't expect to do any video streaming, or real work, from the room.

A breakfast buffet was included with my room, but I'm not sure if that applied to everyone. The buffet was okay, with an okay selection of items (eggs, bacon, sausage, pancakes, some fruits and cereal). I think they made items (e.g. omelets) to order, but I didn't, and I never saw anyone else so I wasn't sure if that was an option or not. They certainly don't advertise that once you get down to the breakfast area.

There is a bar, somewhat, in the lobby, and they provide free beer, wine, and appetizers on Wednesday from 5->7PM. They also provide free freshly made cookies every night!

Overall I enjoyed my stay there, especially considering it was only about $125 a night, so about what I expected for that price hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burbank, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We reserved a one bedroom suite. First of all, we arrived at 4:00pm (check in is at 3:00) and our room wasn't ready. We had to stand around in the lobby for about 45 minutes waiting with a very unhappy baby in tow. To forgive this issue, we were offered certificates for breakfast in the mornings, but no real apologies. When we finally got to the room, it wasn't properly cleaned. The toilet actually had urine in it. When I called housekeeping to let them know this, they didn't seem to really care; I was asked if they wanted someone to come flush it for me (really?). I let it go as we had places to go anyway. The room itself was decent with a nice jetted tub. Their beds, however, are hard as a rock. They are supposed to be adjustable, but ours didn't work. When we finally got our bill at checkout, all seemed fine, our total was 334.52. They charged my card over 400.00 though and I have yet to hear back from the manager about these charges and why we were overcharged. We'll see what happens. With all of these issues, I certainly wouldn't choose to go back--which is a shame, because the location is excellent.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarissaBryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

This is a great hotel. The staff is awesome and the Chef on the burners is awesome this guy really knows how to make an omelet and he provides great customer service (people service). Not sure of his name but he always wears black and greets you with a wonderful smile and how do you do. The rooms are always clean and the beds are very comfortable. I have stayed here on short weekend get always for the past 4 years. Now I must talk about the gym, yes bring your workout clothes it is well worth it they even have yoga and floor mats, weights, water and other things that us regular folks like. To the staff and management I say a job well done. You guys are OUTSTANDING!

Room Tip: Be sure to state if you want a double room or not, I think the double is standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
2.1 km away
Hyatt Place Durham / Southpoint
11.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
7.3 km away
SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Raleigh-Durham
13.8 km away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
8.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh-Durham/Research Triangle Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Durham Southpoint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Durham Southpoint

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Durham Southpoint
Address: 7007 Fayetteville Rd, Durham, NC 27713-8725
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Durham
#6 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Durham Southpoint 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Durham Southpoint reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Durham Southpoint Hotel Durham
Hilton Durham
Durham Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing